Heads Up: limited time deal on Bluetooth speaker

Heads Up: limited time deal on Bluetooth speaker

Sorry I cannot be more detailed right now. I am just on my phone. Check your Kindle Fire if you have one for a special deal at 430 Pacific time on a Bluetooth speaker

Update: again, my apologies for being that brief…hopefully, some of you still saw that and were able to get one (I love hearing about if you did).

This was a bit of an adventure!

I was in a meeting, and saw the text come in on my phone that I had a message. When the meeting finished, I saw what it was: a limited time offer on the Kindle Fire for a Bluetooth speaker. Here is information on the program:

You have to claim those offers on your Fire, and, well, I wasn’t in a place I could connect to wi-fi and do that. I don’t buy enough of a dataplan to use my phone as a wi-fi hotspot.

It was about an hour before the sale…and I was at least forty-five minutes from home (where I could connect to wi-fi). I decided the best thing to do was to risk not making it myself, and give you a fragmentary heads-up through my cellphone.

I did that sitting in the car, before I started driving

I drove home…yes, going the speed limit. I actually set my cruise control to the speed limit when I drive (which, I know, a lot of people on the road with me probably hate. I stay in the slower lanes, and in residential areas, I’ll pull over to let somebody pass me…I’m not an aggressive driver). I really wish my phone or my car would just know what the speed limit was all the time, but I digress (and I probably digress more slowly than you do).😉

So, when I got home and connected to the wi-fi…there were 23 seconds left on the special offer!

I tapped it as soon as it changed, but it said there was a problem putting it in the cart.

I went to the Offers link on my Fire’s homescreen (it is way over to the right). I tapped on the offer there, tried it again…and I got one!

Now, as I’ve said before, I think there is a lot of luck in this. Part of it is going to have to do with your connection speed. We have Xfinity, but it isn’t just your service…Xfinity’s speed is going to vary due to a variety of factors, as I understand it.

It is too late to get one now, but I would like to kind of keep track of these deals. Just so you know, it was this speaker:

The LTO (Limited Time Offer) was $15. The list price is $129.98. Amazon has it right now for $39.99. I think they might have massively dropped the price in conjunction with the LTO, which hopefully might  make a few people less unhappy that they didn’t get it.

As I’ve written before, I look at these LTOs sort of like buying a lottery ticket: I don’t expect to get one (win), but its exciting if I do! Of course, the “ticket” doesn’t cost me anything.

These LTOs are one of the best arguments for having Special Offers…and yes, a good argument for having a  Fire (at AmazonSmile)!

Did you get one? Do you have any other comment on this? Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to “Heads Up: limited time deal on Bluetooth speaker”

  1. Janice Anderson Says:

    I was waiting for the offer to become available when it was marked “100 percent claimed” !!! How can it be all claimed before it even became available??

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Janice!

      Just to be clear, you were watching Amazon’s countdown clock, and before the clockdown count got to 1 (and then changed to the buy button), the 100% claimed appeared on the page?

      The only thing I can think of there is that the two of them might not have been refreshing at the same rate. There was no way for me to tap the buy button before it got to the right point in the countdown clock, since the clock and the button occupy the same space on the page.

      • Janice Anderson Says:

        Thanks for the reply. That’s exactly what happened. This is the first time I tried to get one of these offers, and I didn’t know about going to the “offers” location on the right of the home screen. But, thanks to you, now I know.

        Thaks for all your info and help.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Meetings are held in places without wi-fi? How quaint!😉

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!
      🙂

      To be clear, I was in a place that had wi-fi, and was connected to it on my work laptop. What I couldn’t do, if I was following the rules (which I do) is connect my Fire to it for personal use. We have wi-fi for employees to use for work purposes, and a guest wi-fi network for non-employees to use for personal purposes. I think it’s a reasonable policy that we don’t stress the guest wi-fi network by employees using it for personal purposes.

Leave a Reply

