“There are books on my account I didn’t order!”

“There are books on my account I didn’t order!”

Yes, that’s true…there are books on your account you didn’t order…and it’s a good thing.😉

I realized I haven’t written about this in the blog, although I’ve addressed it many times in the Kindle forums. I would guess we see somebody post about this there every day or two.

They are understandably concerned: they often are worried they’ve been hacked.

What happens is that they go to

http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

and see a bunch of books there that they are sure nobody on their account ordered.

How do they know nobody ordered them?

They are in foreign languages!

Well, here is what’s happening, and what you can do about it.

You see, Amazon advertises that you can use the Kindle in several languages…including using the dictionary look-up.

For that to work, you have to be able to have a dictionary in that language, right?

That’s what those foreign language books are that you didn’t order…dictionaries and possibly user guides for when you might switch the Kindle to a different language than English.

They don’t cost you anything, and they aren’t taking up memory on your device (unless you download one).

Amazon gives them to you…for free…to make the Kindle work as they promised you it would work. You can think of them as part of the Kindle’s operating system.

Now, I can understand the desire to clean up your archives/Cloud. People go in there and delete these…and then are irritated when they show up again. The system is basically “healing” itself. Let’s say you deliberately ran out of wiper fluid in your car. When you took the car to the dealer for service, they would fill up the washer fluid for you again, whether you told them to or not (well, that’s how it should work, anyway).

It really confuses people when they appear at the top of the list again. That happens if the software gets updated, and maybe if they update the dictionaries.

What can you do about them? I suppose “enjoy them and be thankful for them” isn’t a good enough answer?😉

The best thing is simply to ignore them. As you buy other things, those new things will appear at the top of the list, and the dictionaries will be pushed down. It won’t be long (especially if you get a lot of content, including free content) before you won’t see them on that first page (barring an update).

Now, I’m sure there are people who say, “It’s my Kindle! I should be able to delete them if I want!”

Well, the thing here is that you aren’t deleting them from the Kindle. These are part of the account. At this point, you don’t get a choice to decline them, just like you can’t say you don’t want the letter “Q” to show up on the keyboard…it’s just part of the package.

One nice thing I just noticed, though: at least some of them are now labeled as “Free Dictionary”. I had recently suggested to Amazon that they label them in some obvious way, so people would know what they were and not keep deleting them in a futile effort. I’m not saying they did it because of that, but I’m happy it happened.😉

Hope that helps…

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

One Response to ““There are books on my account I didn’t order!””

  1. rogerknights Says:

    One nice thing I just noticed, though: at least some of them are now labeled as “Free Dictionary”. I had recently suggested to Amazon that they label them in some obvious way, so people would know what they were and not keep deleting them in a futile effort. I’m not saying they did it because of that, but I’m happy it happened.

    If Amazon’s NIH blinders are down for the moment, the company should take a look at the list of my Kindle-improvement suggestions I linked to in this ILMK comment six weeks ago:

    https://ilmk.wordpress.com/2013/11/23/amazon-room-for-improvement/#comment-53399

Leave a Reply

