Do you know a child who should get a free Kindle?

Do you know a child who should get a free Kindle?

How big a difference did reading when you were a child make in your life?

It was huge for me…my life would certainly not be the same, and I will say confidently, it would not be as good as it is now.

Reading not only gave me knowledge, but it gave me perspective.

I was fortunate enough to be in a situation where I had access to a lot to read.

That’s not true for every child.

Do you know a kid who would benefit from getting a free Kindle? Maybe the child is a serious reader now, but in circumstances where getting a book is hard. Maybe the child has a very active mind, but just hasn’t clicked into reading yet.

If you do, please let me know.

Nominations are now open for the free Kindle I plan to give away in April.

You can read the details here:

Give a Kid a Kindle

This is something I want to do: I think helping kids get access to books makes the world a better place.

I want your help, though. I want you to nominate kids, or to get other people to nominate them. After that, I’d like you to help me decide who gets one…I’d love to be able to give a Kindle to every nominee, but I simply can’t do that. There is no organization behind this, it’s just me and my family.🙂

If you don’t know any kids yourself, maybe you could mention this to your child’s teacher, or your librarian. There is no economic needs testing for this, but if you volunteer with a group that helps disadvantaged kids, they might also know someone.

Help me help a kid…books matter.

Nominations are open through the end of February 2014.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Do you know a child who should get a free Kindle?”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I’m not sure which type of Kindle you are planning to send, but please keep in mind that many kids whose families cannot afford to supply with a Kindle might also not have access to wi-fi. I know there are many communities where there are plentiful free wi-fi hot spots, but in my area, they are few and far between.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I won’t actually make the decision until the time is closer…because the options might be different then.

Leave a Reply

