Happy my birthday, 2014!

Happy my birthday, 2014!

February 12th is my birthday, and continuing a tradition, I’m giving you presents!

This is to thank you for making another year of my life richer. I have a lot of fun writing this blog, and I sometimes get to help people…and what could be better than that?

Part of KDP Select (the program through which users of Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing make books available for eligible Prime members to borrow through the KOLL…Kindle Owners’ Lending Library) is the ability to make books free for five days (they need not be consecutive) in a ninety-day period.

Please check that a title is free for you before buying it.

I have asked Amazon to make them free on February 12, but I can’t say exactly when it will happen. I think they may also only be free to customers in the USA.

Some might be fun to give as a little Valentine’s Day present…you can buy it today as a gift, and schedule delivery for the 14th.

So, you can click on the titles before, but please make sure it is free when you click the 1-click buy button.

The Mind Boggles: A Unique Book of Quotations (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

When this one was first published in December of 2012, it was the number one bestselling book of quotations at Amazon…including paper! That didn’t last long, but it was fun while it did. :)

Love Your First Generation Kindle Fire: The ILMK Guide to Amazon’s Entertablet (at AmazonSmile)

This one has been a bestseller. It was written before the Kindle Fire HDs and HDXs, so it doesn’t match up exactly with those. If you do have the first generation Fire, though, I think you’ll find it useful.

The Kindle Kollection: Three Early Books about the Kindle (at AmazonSmile)

This one combines the three below into one volume:

* ILMK! (I Love My Kindle): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor
* Free Books for Your Kindle
* Frequently Asked Kindle Questions

ILMK! (I Love My Kindle!): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor (Revised Edition) (at AmazonSmile)

This has some fun stuff…and other things that are out of date. If you want The Happy Little Bookworm, this one has it. :)

The Collected I Love My Kindle Blog Volume 1 (at AmazonSmile)

This is the first 101 posts in this blog. :) I did 101 posts so I wouldn’t cut off Doctor Watson’s Blog: A Kindle Abandoned (which is a four-part story). I’m coming up on the five year anniversary of the blog, and I’m considering doing a “best of” book. I’d include the posts that are less time-dependent, I think…if you have any opinions on ones that you remember, feel free to let me know.

Remember, double-check that they are  free to make sure before buying.

Happy birthday! ;)

I also wanted to add something different to the post this year. I suppose I can’t help being a little reflective on my birthday, and I was just thinking…

If I wasn’t a reader…

…more people at work would understand me, because I wouldn’t offhandedly drop a 19th-century term into a conversation

…we would have bought a smaller house (we bought an extra bedroom just to be a floor to ceiling library)

…people wouldn’t keep asking me how to spell things

…I wouldn’t mispronounce words as much (because, as I told the parent of a child who mispronounced something in the brick and mortar bookstore I managed, that’s the sign of a reader…it means you’ve read the word, but you’ve never heard it said)

…I would never have been to Oz, or Narnia, or Barsoom

…I wouldn’t have learned to speak Mangani (the language the “great apes” in Tarzan speak…I used to know all of the original words)

…I wouldn’t have become the Education  Director of a non-profit corporation (I was reading a magazine that happened to do with the focus of the group when I was in a park, and one of the members approached me)

…I would have needed one less suitcase when I traveled pre-Kindle

…I wouldn’t have had the example of Doc Savage to help make me a better person

…I wouldn’t spell something the British way and some things the American way

…I wouldn’t be nearly as good as I am at Jeopardy (and trivia)

…We wouldn’t have friends who swore they would never help us move again

…I wouldn’t be a writer

…I wouldn’t be me

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

16 Responses to “Happy my birthday, 2014!”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Happy birthday, and many, many more!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Thanks for enriching my last year with your comments…and may there be many, many more.😉

  2. Joe Bowers Says:

    Happy Birthday, B.C.! You have brightened many days for me. Rock on.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Joe!

      I appreciate the kind words! As time progresses, “rocking” may have more to do with how you get out of a chair than the music to which you listen, but I’m down with that.😉

  3. Carolyn perreau Says:

    happy birthday. love your comment about your books. I will be moving in the spring. Will have to hire movers. too many books. but then how many is too many?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Carolyn!

      “Too many books…” “Too many books…” “Too many books…”

      Nope, no matter how many times I say it, I just can’t get it to make sense to me.😉

  4. Carol Says:

    “Sunny”
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Enjoy your day

  5. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo! Happy birthday!! Thanks for the awesome freebies and thanks for writing this informative (and funny) blog!!

  6. Amy Says:

    Happy birthday, Bufo! Thanks for continuing to write such an informative blog from your smart and sensible perspective

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Amy!

      Thanks for the kind words! Hard for me to believe it’s close to five years (well, pretty close…coming up in August) for ILMK!

  7. T. Says:

    Happy Birthday! Love the blog!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, T.!

      Gee, I wonder if the chronological period in which I respond to this could be considered my “T. time”.😉

  8. marge holz Says:

    I’m at 13.3.2.1 on my fire HDX. I hope this is the most recent.
    I hope you have had a grand birthday. Celebrate every additional year. Beats the alternative!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, marge!

      Yep, that’s the new one…you are caught up.🙂

      I had a great birthday…and I celebrate every day.😉

Leave a Reply

