Romance is in the air…er, or at least at Amazon

Romance is in the air…er, or at least at Amazon

This is one of those days where I write ahead, so I can stay off the computer during family time.🙂

I thought I’d take this post and give you some links for romance content at Amazon…

Romance, in this case, is a category of fiction which focuses on romantic relationships between people.

At least, that’s what it means now. It used to mean other things (in medieval times, romances were about heroic quests and things, as I understand it).

“People” also can be somewhat loosely defined, including supernatural beings and non-human aliens, just to get started.😉

The

Romance Writers of America

includes this:

“A Central Love Story: The main plot centers around individuals falling in love and struggling to make the relationship work. A writer can include as many subplots as he/she wants as long as the love story is the main focus of the novel.

An Emotionally Satisfying and Optimistic Ending: In a romance, the lovers who risk and struggle for each other and their relationship are rewarded with emotional justice and unconditional love.”

However, I’m going to make it easy on myself, and go with whatever is categorized as romance at Amazon.😉

Just as with romance in real life, what one person considers a romance may not be what another person considers one. Publishers can define the categories, and that can sometimes be for marketing purposes and may be quite surprising. One could argue, I suppose that the first three Star Wars movies are a romance…although, while the relationships are important, they aren’t the main story (for most people).

Well, let’s start out with books:

Romance books in the USA Kindle store (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

At the time of writing (a few days before you see this), there are 167,278 titles. That’s about 7% of the total number of e-books in the Kindle store. That’s more books than there are in science fiction and fantasy (144,348), and more than in mystery, thriller, and suspense (132,327).

Let’s break romance down a bit more:

Romance

African American (3,571)
Collections & Anthologies (6,651)
Contemporary (57,143)
Fantasy (12,589)
Gay Romance (9,134)
Gothic (720)
Historical Romance (21,680)
Holidays (3,421)
Inspirational (9,434)
Lesbian Romance (2,107)
Military (2,102)
Multicultural & Interracial (2,781)
Mystery & Suspense (16,723)
New Adult & College (3,532)
Paranormal (20,430)
Romantic Comedy (7,657)
Science Fiction (3,000)
Series (16,027)
Sports (1,259)
Time Travel (2,118)
Westerns (5,160)

Romantic Themes

Amnesia (311)
Beaches (995)
Gambling (349)
International (711)
Love Triangle (2,511)
Medical (1,479)
Second Chances (1,370)
Secret Baby (1,141)
Vacation (526)
Wedding (1,583)
Workplace (917)
Romantic Heroes
Cowboys (2,505)
Doctors (625)
Firefighters (236)
Highlanders (722)
Pirates (595)
Politicians (754)
Royalty & Aristocrats (1,859)
Spies (1,110)
Vikings (280)
Wealthy (3,130)

Author

Graeme C. Simsion (1)
Janet Evanovich (27)
Dean Koontz (3)
Jojo Moyes (7)
J. S. Cooper (15)
Helen Cooper (7)
James Patterson (4)

Some books will appear in more than one of these categories: many won’t appear at all, I would guess.

There are also always inexpensive and free romance books available. The old saying may be that “there ain’t no such things as a free lunch”, but there are always free reads.😉

Next, let’s talk about

Amazon Appstore romance apps (at AmazonSmile)

I have 574 results at the time of writing (although those may not all be available for Kindle products).

158 of those are listed in the “Books & Readers” category.

I tested

Romance Reads – Free Romance eBooks for Kindle (at AmazonSmile)

a free app which is supposed to keep you informed about free and bargain romance books.

It had 3.8 out of five stars with 32 reviews, which isn’t bad.

When it first opened, it asked me to subscribe to the “Romance Reads” newsletter. Hm…I don’t see a way to get past giving them my name and e-mail address, even though I can see some things behind it.

Okay,having done that, it asked me to like them on Facebook (sorry, I don’t do that…don’t really use Facebook), to get the Kindle app if I needed it, and to invite friends.

Clicking on Today’s Romance Deals, there were primarily low cost deals…although I did find one freebie. Interestingly, they list both Amazon and B&N.

I removed it from my device, although I can see why some people would find it useful.

Next, I went to the MP3 store.

Putting in “Romance” didn’t work…it got me My Chemical Romance.😉 So, I switched my search term to

Love Songs (at AmazonSmile)

That got me 68,626 results…just in MP3 albums! For MP3 songs and extras, there were 1,046,363 results.

Many of the songs were free, and a few of the albums were.

Now, on to

Romantic Movies at Amazon Instant Video (at AmazonSmile)

This does have some somewhat non-intuitive results for me: the musical of Little Shop of Horrors, and Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, for example. Thinking about them, okay, sure, there are love  themes  in there…but again, is that the main focus?

It seems inconsistent to me with the other categories, but they don’t give you a count.

The same sort of thing seems to be true for

Romantic TV shows at Amazon Instant Video (at AmazonSmile)

What do these two shows have in common: Downton Abbey and Party Down? They are both romances…?😉

Well, I suppose that’s sort of the point of this post. However you define romance, Amazon probably has content about it.😉

I think I’ll stop there…might be a bit more…risky to start looking at physical objects.😉

Best to you and yours!

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Romance is in the air…er, or at least at Amazon”

  1. Zebras Says:

    Happy early Valentine’s Day!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too!

      Since I have readers all over the world, the blog actually runs on Greenwich time…so when the post published, it was Valentine’s Day somewhere.😉

Leave a Reply

