Kindle Paperwhite 2 update available

Kindle Paperwhite 2 update available

I haven’t had time to download, install, and test it yet, but there is a new update available for the Kindle Paperwhite 2…and it looks promising!

Download KPW2 Software Update 5.4.3 (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

As usual, you should be able to just wait for the update, if you want, or you can get it and install it manually at the above link.

Amazon says it has:

  • The ability to manage your Cloud Collections. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve seen the term “disaster” applied to the way Cloud Collections first worked on the KPW2. I’ve found them very useful on our Kindle Fire HDXs. This says that you’ll be able to “star” Collections to make them favorites…uniquely on that device. I’ll have to test this out to see if it resolves people’s concerns…let me know what you think!
  • You’ll be able to see your Notes in a book from “the Reading Menu”. Does this mean you’ll be able to see them along with the text? My guess is no, that it is just an easier way to access them (rather than using “Go To”). Update: I can confirm: it’s just another way to get to the Notes. I don’t remember being able to select between Your Notes, Popular Notes, and Public Notes, but that’s now a choice. You could also use this technique to get to the Table of Contents
  • PDF improvements
  • You’ll be able to cancel the purchase of a book you do from a sample, as long as you do it before it finishes downloading

More information later, but I know people like to get these right away.🙂 If you have feedback, feel free to let me and my readers know what you think by commenting on this post.

Update: I have now downloaded and installed the new update.

It went as expected, using the link above: the whole process was under five minutes, I’d say.

The first obvious difference was a series of dark stars appearing on the homescreen, next to each of the Collections (I have the Kindle sorted by Collections).

Unfortunately, the directions at Amazon only apply to when you are seeing covers on your device, which is not my choice. It talks about the star being in the “…bottom-right corner of the collection cover”. However, it’s obvious in either view.

I long pressed (holding a finger in my case, or you could use your stylus, on a Collection for about a second).

One of the choices is to “Show Only in Collections View”.

I did that with my TBR Collection, since this is my Significant Other’s Kindle Paperwhite 2. I was looking to make it not visible on this device (to simply things for my SO).

I got a message:

“This collection will only be shown in the Collections View. Select Collections under My Items to see it. You can press and hold on a Collection to change its view options.”

I tapped “OK”.

At that point, the Collection disappeared from the  homescreen…the result I wanted.🙂

To see it again on this device, you go to where it says “My Items” at the top of the homescreen…not where it says “Collection” on my currently (the sort order).

If I go to All Items under My Items, it shows up again.

That seems reasonable to me. You could switch to Collections to download things from a Collection which you don’t normally want to see. For example, you could have a “Read” Collection, and only invoke it when you want to re-read it.

So far, I like it. It’s not intuitive, but I think it works.

When you are sorted by Collections and filtered by My Items, you now see both Collections and items not in Collections…that’s going to confuse some people.

I think this may require a bit more explanation…unleash the tabular format!😉

Filter Sort Count Comment
My Items Recent 24 Unstarred Collections don’t show, items show both inside and outside Collections, sorted by downloaded or accessed dates
My Items Title 24 Unstarred Collections don’t show, items show both inside and outside Collections, sorted by title (no separation for Collections and individual items
My Items Author 24 Unstarred Collections don’t show, items show inside and outside Collections, sorted by author (with Collections appearing after the individual items and the Collections also sorted alphabetically)
My Items Collection 14 Unstarred Collections don’t show, items in Collections do not show outside them, sorted by Collections first, then individual items (looks like by Recent)
Books Recent 12 Unstarred Collections don’t show, items appear and outside of Collections
Books Collection 5 Unstarred Collections don’t show, items in Collections do not show outside them, sorted by Collections first, then individual items (looks like by Recent)
Collections Recent 9 Unstarred Collections show, no individual items show

I didn’t do all of the options there (yet), but here’s the bottom line: for most people, you wanted the filter to be by Books and the sort to be by Collections.

More later…

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle. You can also now recommend a child to be the recipient.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

10 Responses to “Kindle Paperwhite 2 update available”

  1. Robert Anderson Says:

    I own the first Paperwhite, hoping these updates will come to the older Paperwhite with software updates too

  2. Amazon Solves PDF Crashing Issues with New Paperwhite Update Says:

    […] Kindle Paperwhite 2 update available […]

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Well this is timely! (:grin)

    As I just mentioned in a reply on a thread from back in January, I finally bought a PW2 — it arrives tomorrow (today actually — it’s 3 AM as I write this). I just spent the last 4 hours prepending a unique device ID to all my collections on my KDX and KT — so that when the PW2 goes to create CC’s I won’t have duplicate collection/merge issues. I also got a big leg up on all my kindle reader app names and got them tied to devices (mostly).

    I had noticed on Amazon before I started this that the latest PW2 update was 5.4.3. I had vaguely remembered that the problematic PW2 version was 5.4.2 — I was just about to jump over to the forums to check — but gee thanks to this post, I don’t need to (:lol).

    I guess I’ll read what you have to say — when I checked the PW2 update page about 8 hours ago, all it gave was the update number, but no info about the update. Yeah — none of the stuff that’s there now was there back when I checked.

    If that PDF margin thing really works, it could really remove a PDF reading annoyance. Many books use outdented page headers/footers which cause the PDF reader to think the text on the page occupies more room than it actually does.

    I don’t use notes at all, but I do use bookmarks from time to time to reference glossaries, or dramatis personae lists. I see that the PW2 UI for marks is different than for the KT — have to see if it’s easier to flip back and forth than on the KT.

    Reading the PW2 help for CC’s (BTW they seem to have improved device and app-specific navigation in the help files quite a bit) it appears that the major PW2 CC issue has been resolved — that is if you delete a collection that was imported from a non-CC device, it will be deleted on the PW2 (and from any other CC-compatible devices on the account), but NOT from the original non-CC device from which the CC was created (this apparently only happened on the PW2, but not on the HDX devices.

    All I can say is: good things come to those who wait😀 — let’s hope it all works as advertised.

    Now if they they would only add CC’s to 1st gen KIndle Fire HD’s🙂

  4. Massive new update for 1st generation Paperwhite | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Kindle Paperwhite 2 update available […]

  5. Sasha Says:

    Thanks! This table really helped me out. I wanted to see collections with individual items on the home screen and the correct option was ‘my items-collections’🙂
    Thank you very much

  6. Michelle de Laval Says:

    That’s a super table!!! Now if it could only work with my Kindle PW… When ‘My Items’ is displayed (I selected “All Items”), I cannot select ‘Collection’. Nor can I when I select “Books” or “Docs”. Any idea why? I do not use Cloud collections. All I wish to see are Collections and those stray books not in Collections (i.e., what I used to see prior to the update this Spring). Any idea of what I am doing wrong???

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Michelle!

      Are you sure it is a Kindle Paperwhite 2, not the first generation? If it says “Amazon” on the back of it, it’s a 2.

      Have you created Collections on that device?

      What sort are you using?

      Are you connected to wi-fi when you are trying?

      Sorry for all the questions…just trying to pin it down.

  7. Michelle de Laval Says:

    Hi! Thanks for the swift reply… It does say ‘Amazon’ on the back (it’s about a year old). I did create only two collections, where I store the read books. So my stray books are really those books I haven’t read. And they are NOT cloud collections: I am not a cloud fan🙂 . My wi-fi is always active. I upload my books from Calibre using the USB cord provided with the Kindle.
    (PS I’ll soon be off the grid for a few days…) Many thanks!!!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Michelle!

      Fan or not, I think any Collection you create on your Paperwhite now is a Cloud collection…I don’t think you get a choice, particularly if your wi-fi is always active.

      I suppose Calibre could be confusing it in some way…not sure. You may want to check this with Kindle Support before you go off the grid:

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      You should see a

      Contact Us

      button there. I usually have them call me…

Leave a Reply

