Massive new update for 1st generation Paperwhite

Massive new update for 1st generation Paperwhite

Join the party, KPW1ers!😉

Amazon has just added a new update for the first generation Kindle Paperwhite. That’s in addition to the update for the second generation…and I’ve added some of my testing on that to this post:

Kindle Paperwhite 2 update available

This brings the 1st gen inline with the second on many features. You can just wait and your KPW1 should update automatically (eventually), or you can do it yourself from:

Kindle Paperwhite 1st Generation Software Updates (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

What do you get?

  • Kindle FreeTime (separate profiles and tracking)
  • Goodreads on Kindle
  • Cloud Collections
  • Page Flip
  • Enhanced Bookmarks, Highlights, and Notes
  • Smart Lookup
  • Vocabulary Builder

That’s a lot!

Update: while it wasn’t listed, you apparently also get “inline footnotes”. Thanks to Phink, one of my regular readers and commenters for mentioning that. I’d seen that it was included in an update document which appeared on my KPW1 with the update (which is greatly appreciated, Amazon!). I’m not sure what book I’d use to test it, but you can see a screenshot here:

http://phx.corporate-ir.net/phoenix.zhtml?c=176060&p=irol-imageproduct25

What it means is that (if the book if formatted for it), you can read footnotes without going to the back of the book and then having to return. That caused a lot of people problems in the old days…they’d jump to the end to read the footnote, and then let the Kindle sleep without returning to home first. I believe that would reset their “furthest page read” to the end of the book.

This is version 5.4.4.

Our “Guest Kindle” is a KPW1, so I’ll be testing it out soon…still working on testing the update to my Significant Other’s KPW2.🙂

I do want to thank Amazon and point out that updates do come out for earlier models…you sometimes see that criticism. That doesn’t mean that your 2007 Kindle will get these updates…it couldn’t handle it technically. Amazon has in the past, though, updated discontinued models, and continues to do so, at least for a while.

Let me know if you have questions or observations…

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle. You can also now recommend a child to be the recipient.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

13 Responses to “Massive new update for 1st generation Paperwhite”

  1. Phink Says:

    The only reason I got the new paperwhite was for the page flip and the vocabulary builder. I did it knowing full well there was a good chance the first generation would do that someday with an update. But since there was no certainty I got the new one when it came out. Of course hind sight is 20/20 and I should have just waited but there was no way of knowing. I will say though I thought for sure I’d use the vocabulary builder a lot and I hardly ever use it. And I now have so many words in the V.B. it just seems overwhelming now and where do I start? The page flip is incredible and I use it all the time. Oh a 3rd reason I got the next gen Paperwhite was for the inline sources. Is that the right terminology? It’s where you can touch the number by the word and instead of going to the section in the back of the book the notes just pop up right there on the screen. I use it a lot on books that have that option. It does not look like this update will do that which is a shame because that’s a nice feature.

  2. Robert Anderson Says:

    Almost bought a new Paperwhite this week when the price dropped by $20, but waited for some reason… Paperwhite 3 around the corner?? But with this update I will have the features I wanted (except for TTS). Awesome update, thanks Amazon for remembering the 1st Gen Paperwhite owners!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Robert!

      Yep…quite a cornucopia! TTS (text-to-speech) can’t come with an update, since it is a hardware issue…that’s something that might come with a hypothetical KPW3. I suspect it might not have onboard speakers (which add weight and energy drain, among other things), but could have a 3.5mm audio jack (so you could use headphones or connect it to something). I wouldn’t expect Bluetooth in a non-tablet.

  3. Alisha Says:

    I LOVE the page flip, and the new bookmark is pretty nifty too! I am very excited about this update! Go Amazon!!!🙂

  4. Tom Semple Says:

    Of particular note is that the Cloud Collections is refined (for both PW1 and PW2). Like the other implementations, there is now a Collections View which eliminates the ‘clutter’ that used to ensue when using collections. I think they probably fixed the nag dialogs that would happen if the Kindle was off line as well. You can also set a collection attribute to ‘Show in All Views’ which makes it like a ‘favorite’ so you can access it even if you aren’t in Collections View. (note there is still a Collections sort order, but it only shows if you have the Show in All Views attribute set. Not sure why you’d use it unless you wanted it to work as before.)

    Some people will still complain about them because 1) you see ‘everything’ that’s in a collection whether it is on device or not and 2) they can’t use external collection management tools and 3) they can’t have different collections for different devices or users of the account. But I think most people will appreciate them as is.

    I really like the way Notes are handled now: tabbed with Contents, and separate lists for Your notes, Popular, and Public notes. The enhanced Bookmarks are wonderful also. Bookmarks are actually useful now!

    Another enhancement (at least on PW1) is improved Search. Now search results show up as you type, so it is really easy to find things in your library and open or download.

    I’m really blown away by all the enhancements and at a loss to suggest improvements. How can they top this? (Okay, I can think of a few..)

    BTW I don’t see audio making a comeback with PW3, just for TTS. They would need to add more storage for TTS data (remember it would need to support more than just English) and even 4GB is not enough for audiobooks. The entry level Fire tablets have the necessary storage, bluetooth, immersive reading, accessibility features etc. and are the way to go for anyone that wants audio. Only $20 more…

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Yes, good observations…I wrote about some of that when I updated the post after experimenting. It’s possible you haven’t seen the updated post: I’m never quite sure how much those are seen if you’ve already read it.

      I like the new version of Cloud Collections quite a bit. Yes, there could be an added functionality of having it update the items in a Collection based on whether you were on Cloud or Device, but that’s not a big deal to me. That may be because I don’t keep very many items on the device. I suppose it might be useful for me to know that I only had one TBR (To Be Read) book actually on the device so I would download more…but every time you open the Collection, you can already tell which ones are downloaded or not.

      I still need to play around more with some of the rest of it…I appreciate your field report!

      No need for TTS (text-to-speech) to support anything but English…it didn’t on the earlier non-Fires that had it. There was enough memory on the Kindle 2, and that only had 2 GB. The TTS wouldn’t necessarily be as good as Ivona (on the newest generation Fires), but it could be done. Even just getting back to the same level would be okay. We could also listen to audiobooks on the Kindle 2…so “enough” is relative.😉

  5. On our guest Kindle | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Massive new update for 1st generation Paperwhite […]

  6. Round up #243: 100 comics for $10, understanding the new Cloud Collections | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Overwhelmingly, I’m seeing a positive reaction to the recent update to the Kindle Paperwhite 1st generation. […]

  7. jjhitt Says:

    I had to do a factory reset to get it to take. I did several reboots after the update by my Paperwhite was extremely sluggish after the upgrade. So sluggish it was unlikely it was due to the re-indexing of the content. After the reset, it was fine. Suspect it was some of the active content I had installed (most likely the AccuWeather app).

  8. Bruce K Says:

    I installed the upgrade. It is awesome and it answered a lot of issues. But once again it installs a list of foreign user guides into my library. In fact, I guess because the update was installed on two PW1’s, I have multiple copies of the User Guide in Spanish and French and single copies in Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, German and Chinese. Oh and don’t forget 2 copies of the English version.

    For the “Actions” menu in “Your Kindle Library” I see the option to “Delete from Library” but when you perform this action, you get the message “Deletion of this item category is not supported from MYK”.
    This is new.

    The same thing happens I try to delete one of the multiple copies of the English version.

    Finally, I know this was covered in a previous post. But I also have multiple dictionaries (and some multiple copies). But the option to delete from the “action” menu does not even exist. Only deliver and download options.

    These issues are not huge, but make me feel like I have less control over my library. My library is a paltry 700+ items (to your staggering 3000+) but its issues like this that really make it awkward.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Bruce!

      You note that you have seen something new, and that’s a good thing.🙂 Amazon is trying to make this more understandable for people.

      Essentially, the dictionaries (English or not) are like part of the Kindle’s operating system. They are necessary for the Kindle to perform as advertised…for someone who is or may be on your account in the future to be able to use look-up on it.

      They aren’t really part of “your library”…and Amazon has tried to make that more apparent. If you filter that MYK listing

      http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle

      by

      Books

      they won’t appear. They only show up if you select All Items (the default) or “Dictionary & User Guides”. That’s also new.

      In that way, they are trying to make it more obvious that these are not part of “your library”.

      They have to appear in some way: otherwise, you couldn’t send them to your device. They could default MYK to only show Books, but then you wouldn’t see Active Content (typically games), Personal Documents, blogs, and so on.

      The key thing is that they don’t cost you anything and they aren’t taking up any memory on your device (unless you choose to download one).

      I agree that it would be nice if, when they updated the software, new versions of them wouldn’t appear.🙂 I have 104 Dictionary & User Guides in our account. If you just ignore them, though, they’ll fall off your recent list and you won’t see them again (until the next update, based on history). You can also switch your filter in MYK.

      I understand why it might feel like an intrusion, but it isn’t happening on your device…it’s happening on Amazon’s servers.

      Amazon recently experimented with a big revision of the MYK page: it’s been withdrawn for now while they study the data. My guess is that this “irritation” will be resolved with the next iteration of MYK.

Leave a Reply

