How many Kindles do you have?

How many Kindles do you have?

My guess is that there are still some K1s out there…in fact, I personally know that’s the case.😉

Still, with the proliferation of models (and perhaps, more coming soon), I’m curious about what you have.

When you count, count the ones which are registered to an account, and which you (or someone on your account, at any rate) has. If it’s gone, but still registered, don’t count it. If you have one, but it’s an orphan (no account) or on somebody else’s account, don’t count it…there’s no accountin’ for the count of the no-account no account Kindles.😉

I’m also going to ask you about apps…again, they should still be registered.

I know it may be hard for you to figure out. You can go to

http://www.amazon.com/manageyourkindle (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

then click or tap

Manage Your Devices

I think we are all back to the same Manage Your Kindle (MYK) page, while they analyze the data from some experimenting they did. If so, you will likely be able to tap or click one of your devices or apps, and see the “Type” displayed (you may need to scroll to your right to see it). There should also be a picture, to help you identify it.

Oh, and when you get to apps, you may discover that you have “phantom” ones. I think it may be when we get an app updated, but you might have several Kindle apps registered for one iPhone, for example. This might be a good opportunity to thin those out. What I suggest in that case is to name them something identifiable (maybe adding a number at the end of the name…1, 2, 3, and so on), and then looking at the device to see which is the right one. Try to avoid counting the phantoms, if you can.




























Whew!🙂

Believe it or not, I actually didn’t name every possibility. If you have something else, feel free to mention it by commenting on this post. My guess is that there won’t be many, though: that should be all of the hardware (ignoring “flavors” of models, like international or Pearl), and all of the currently available apps.

I also totally understand if you aren’t sure which one you have, even with the MYK listings. You can make your best guess, or this page of mine can help:

Which Kindle do you have?

We have:

Kindle 1st generation: 2
Kindle 3: 1
Kindle Fire HDX 7″: 2
Kindle Paperwhite 1st gen: 1
Kindle Paperwhite 2nd gen: 1
Mindle: 1
iPhone: 1
Android phone: 1
Kindle Cloud Reader: 1
Kindle for PC (XP/Vista/7): 1

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle. You can also now recommend a child to be the recipient.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

3 Responses to “How many Kindles do you have?”

  1. Kerry Montgomery Says:

    I have the 1st gen Kindle, a Kindle Keyboard, 1st gen Fire & 8.9 HDX. Have not charged my first one in ages, so I don’t know if it even works anymore, but still use the keyboard quite often. My 1st gen Fire is permanently attached to a speaker in my studio to listen to music when I’m working in there. My HDX never is out of arms reach wherever I am. Kindle is definitely an omnipresent fixture in my daily life.🙂

  2. Kerry Montgomery Says:

    Sorry about my comment. The survey format did not show up the first time I pulled up your blog.

Leave a Reply

