GBD: 8.9″ KFHD refurb for $129, 7″ prev gen KFHD refurb for $89

GBD: 8.9″ KFHD refurb for $129, 7″ prev gen KFHD refurb for $89

Don’t wait!

While I’m writing this, I’m seeing the percentage claimed go up on the lightning deal on the 7″. You must get this from this page:

Gold Box Deals (at AmazonSmile)

In fact, I’m going to get this out quickly to lessen the chances you miss it.

These are refurbs (same warranty as new), and $89 for a tablet is great! This is the previous generation on the 7″…which has the HDMI out that a lot of people like.

It does not have Mayday, or the ability to download Prime videos, among some other things, but it’s a good tablet.

I’d appreciate hearing about it if you get one…or if the lightning deal had run out (so I can see about when that was).

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle.

===

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to “GBD: 8.9″ KFHD refurb for $129, 7″ prev gen KFHD refurb for $89”

  1. Zebras Says:

    Thank you for the heads up! So many sales, so little money! Just to make you and your other readers aware, it looks like the 32GB versions are going on sale a little later today.

    I so want to jump on every wonderful sale they have been having lately, but since I have a Mindle that’s in great shape, and two Fires (an original 7″ and 8.9″ HD), I don’t need more until one breaks, and would want the newest model available when that does happen. But its still hard not to push the buy button! 😉

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      Oh, I understand.🙂 I always have to remember that there are people just finding this blog, and just finding Kindles, for that matter. Sometimes, a sale like this will be someone buying a gift (or a donation) or getting a back-up or extending the number in their family…but for some people, this is their very first one.🙂

  2. Phink Says:

    Unrelated question if you have time to answer. I was wondering IF and where you buy most of your used DTB’s? I have not bought one of those bound and glued books since buying a Kindle 1. But, I have an elderly aunt who reads around 150 books a year and because she’s on a fixed income and terrified of all things technological, she can only purchase what she finds at yard sales and only then if they are ultra cheap. I decided to enlist her into the McPhink Book of the Month Club (and of course she’s the only member LOL). I found out some books I know she has not read and am going to send her every month a free used book. Used because I myself do not have unlimited funds and why not if it’s in good shape? I created a new shipping address at Amazon and for the first name I actually put ‘McPhink Book of the Month Club c/o Martha Ann’. She has no idea the first book, Gone with the Wind (.88 cents plus $3.95 shipping) is coming. This will only cost me $60-$100 a year and make her very happy. Lonesome Dove is next month’s selection if I can find it at a good price and good condition. So, my question is ‘Do you think there any better alternatives than Amazon for sending her a used book each month?’ When I was buying for myself I always bought new books. I have never bought a used DTB in my life that I can remember.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Amazon is a good source.🙂 You’ll often find ones for a penny (with $3.99 shipping).

      For collectors’ books (not your use case), I have used Alibris.

      The other thing you might consider is

      http://www.paperbackswap.com/index.php

      That can be a great way to go, and I’ve spoken with the person behind it…seems genuinely motivated by love of reading.

      However, in your case, that might not work, because your aunt would need to be the one sending the books (although it’s pretty easy, and if she’s going to garage sales, she sounds like she can handle some things on her own).

      I’d say go with Amazon, but you might want to check out Paperback Swap to see if that works.

Leave a Reply

