Round up #245: trade-in a Sony and get an extra $20, Patty

Round up #245: trade-in a Sony and get an extra $20, Patty

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

I got some stuff🙂

I’ve recently gotten a couple of gadgets which may enable me to effectively digitize public domain books.

I’ve done that in the past when I was the Education Director for a non-profit 501(c)3 corporation.

Using a flatbed scanner (like a copier), it was a slow, laborious process.

One issue was waiting for the scan bar to move back and forth…that adds up.🙂

If I was willing to destroy the paper copies (that’s how most scanning companies do it), it would be easier…but I’m not.

I came into a bit of extra money, so I’ve bought something I was considering:

piQx Xcanex Portable Book and Document Scanner (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

What it says it does (and some of it is patented) is quite impressive. I have it, but won’t have a chance to test it until the weekend (it’s been super busy at work). It seems to be quality construction (knock virtual wood), which is good.

It works much more like a digital camera than a copier. It takes a picture of a page.

Okay, that’s better…but here are some of the other things I’m hoping it actually does effectively:

  • It’s supposed to be able to tell when you’ve turned the page and take the picture on its own…at least, I think that’s right
  • It’s supposed to be able to take a picture of two pages at the same time…cutting scanning time roughly in half
  • It can digitally remove your fingers! You can use your fingers (not covering text, of course) to flatten the book or document some (but it doesn’t need to be completely flat), and it recognize that they are fingers and removes them from the image (if you weren’t doing optical character recognition…OCR…but producing something like a replica PDF, that would be a big help)
  • It comes with the ABBY OCR

So, I’ll give you more of a report on that after I’ve tested it.

I’ll be using it with our new

ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-C1-GR 10.1-Inch Detachable 2 in 1 Touchscreen Laptop (at AmazonSmile)

Regular readers may remember that I haven’t been using Microsoft Office for a little while (despite a past history of being a certified Excel expert), because I had to “recover” an older desktop, and, well, we didn’t have the Office “key” that would allow us to use it again (that won’t happen to me in the future, hopefully…I now take a picture of the key, and store it in the Cloud).

That meant I definitely wanted something that came with Office (it can be expensive to buy separately)….we considered a Microsoft Surface.

Doing some research, though, I saw people recommending the Asus over the Surface…and it was cheaper (yes, that does matter to us).

Again, haven’t had a chance to explore it much yet. It’s a 2-in-1: that means it has a laptop type keyboard, but the “screen” separates off to become a tablet (it’s touchscreen).

It has Windows 8.1 on it: that’s an adjustment! I was looking for Notepad: who would guess that you would swipe up from the middle of the screen to find it?

On the other hand, having a touchscreen is (now) pretty intuitive.

I’ll let you know about both of these. Being able to take the scanner and the tablet part into our floor-to-ceiling library ought to work quite well.

We got one other thing (tonight): another dog!

Some readers may remember that we got Elf about 5 months ago. Elf is a terrier mutt…my Significant Other thinks Elf is part terrier and part Slinky Dog, so we call Elf a “slinkier”.😉

Well, the place where we got Elf had another dog online…that looked almost exactly like Elf!

Not only that, they are about the same age…and found as strays not that far apart (not in the same city, but still).

We thought it was possible they were siblings…maybe even littermates.

That’s how much alike they looked in the picture.

We had wanted two dogs all along: I’ve always said that two dogs are easier than one: sometimes, they just want to do doggie stuff you don’t want to do (like roll in the mud).

Well, seeing the new dog, they don’t look as much alike as we thought…the new one is quite a bit smaller, and the hair-type is a bit different.

Everyone, though, is going to think they are related…and they very well may be.

I’ll post some pictures if they ever stand still long enough (they’ve been playing a lot since the first introductions ended).

Update: I call this picture, “I dreamed I was on the back of the couch.”😉 Elf is on the back, the new dog is on the blanket.

Couch Dream

The new dog is called “Patty”. See, Elf is “Elf” because eleven was that dog’s number when we got there. Elf is German for eleven.

Patty was Number Six…so Patty is after Patrick McGoohan, who starred in one of my favorite series, The Prisoner…as “Number Six”.

Fun stuff…I love my work, but I am looking forward to the weekend!🙂

Subscription app converted to Newsstand subscription

This was fascinating!

I have a subscription to Entertainment Weekly. In the Kindle store, that was an app…which is really not as convenient as Amazon’s normal subscription thing.

Well, I went to read it yesterday…and it told me that it had been converted.

That has some real advantages: the latest issue will automatically download, for one thing, as opposed to me having to go fetch it.

Still, that is an interesting change…and I wonder if they are going to do that with more of the subscription apps.

Trade-in an EBR (E-Book Reader) at Amazon and get a $20 gift card on top of the value

When you trade in electronics at Amazon (it’s actually a third-party buying them, but you go through Amazon), you don’t get anywhere near as much as you might selling it yourself…but it is easy and secure, and that’s worth something.

Well, Amazon has a special deal right now:

Trade In Your Old E-reader for a Gift Card, Plus Get a $20 Instant Credit Toward a New Kindle (at AmazonSmile)

Yep, Amazon says:

“For a limited time, trade in an eligible Nook, Kobo, Sony, Kindle or other e-reader for an Amazon.com Gift Card, plus get a $20 instant credit toward a new Kindle, Kindle Paperwhite, or Kindle Paperwhite 3G e-reader”

The trade-in value for Sonys, Kobos, and nooks is only up to $15…but then you do get this $20 on top of it (following the rules). If you had an unused Sony sitting around, getting $35 off a Paperwhite would be a pretty sweet deal…and it would really bring down the cost of a “Mindle”.

Trade in a first-generation Paperwhite…and get up $58.55! That, plus the $20 ($78.55) brings the current gen Paperwhite wi-fi only to…$40.45.

Now, you might not get the highest trade-in, and there isn’t that much difference between the two models after the recent updates, but it’s still an interesting plan.

One more thing (and I don’t know if it could be combined). Some people (including me) can buy a Kindle in 5 installments: you pay 20% up front, than have four more payments of 20% each.

If you are eligible for it, you’ll know…Amazon will splash it on the website for you, for one thing.

Just thought I’d mention it…now, if they would only do that for Prime!🙂

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle.

===

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

One Response to “Round up #245: trade-in a Sony and get an extra $20, Patty”

  1. Round up #252: new Star Wars novels, losing out on magazine access? | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] too long ago, on March 21st, I wrote about how the magazine app had been converted to a newsstand subscription…and how that was […]

Leave a Reply

