A router solved my Kindle Fire connection problems

A router solved my Kindle Fire connection problems

Big thanks to reader and commenter Glenn Starrett!

Following an update, my

Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile: support a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

which had been connecting really well to my home wi-fi, started dropping wi-fi…a lot.

I would toggle the wi-fi on and off many times a day…that would cause it to reconnect.

Now, I’m logical enough not to have said it was purely cause and effect…that the update created that issue.

However, it did seem pretty likely. Amazon had specifically changed connection protocols (to make it compatible with more systems).

I did have a relatively new router from Comcast/Xfinity…but I had that before the Fire update, and it hadn’t been an issue.

My best guess is that it was a combination of the newish router and the update.

The router may not work well with current gen(eration) devices. My Rokus have also had problems with it, but our Kindle Paperwhites don’t.

The Kindle Fire update may have essentially turned it from an older gen device into a newer one…which then made it drop off.

Glenn suggested a router to me, which had solved similar problems for Glenn:

Linksys E2500 (N600) Advanced Simultaneous Dual-Band Wireless-N Router (at AmazonSmile)

Yes, that was a $70 investment…if it didn’t work for me (and YMMV…Your Mileage May Vary is the rule with routers…the physical configuration of your house can matter, among other things), I would have considered returning it.

The reviews looked good, besides what Glenn had said. Sure, there were 1-star reviews, but I always look at those to see why. They sometimes are encountering problems that I don’t expect to have or expect to be able to overcome…and sometimes they are irrelevant to the function of the product. In this case, they weren’t a barrier.

I 1-clicked, and it got here quickly.

Set up, which can be challenging, wasn’t particularly hard.

It did come with a CD which was necessary to do the set-up. Fortunately, our old desktop has a CD drive, and I could use that. If I’d already transitioned completely to  our

ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-C1-GR 10.1-Inch Detachable 2 in 1 Touchscreen Laptop (at AmazonSmile)

that CD wouldn’t have helped…I would have had to have seen if I could download the set-up files from the website.

Outside of that, set-up was really a breeze. It did take some time (fifteen minutes or so), but it was largely hands-off.

For the most part, the software was user friendly…you wouldn’t need superior technical expertise to get it going.

I set it up yesterday afternoon.

Since then, I haven’t had to toggle the wireless on my Fire once!

Knock virtual wood, it seems to be working well.

As far as the Rokus (we have two of the same model)

I could see the speed difference in downloading videos (from Netflix, Amazon, or its own news videos).

With the old Arris router (and I really appreciated that Glenn identified the specific brand as a possible issue…gave the suggestion a lot more credibility) from Xfinity, the Roku would sometimes simply give up and not start something. So far, not an issue.

Now, do I still want Amazon to release an update for the Fire? Sure…people shouldn’t need to buy a $70 device to have consistent connections. I’m guessing, though, that it might be a case of giving it some backwards compatibility, or special compatibility with Comcast.

If Amazon does release its own TV solution next month, which I think is likely based on the rumors, that might make some difference here…but you’ll still need some kind of wireless connection for your devices.

Oh, a couple of other nice functionalities for the Linksys. You can set parental controls (again, easy guided set-up), and it has a “guest functionality”, with an easy password your guests can use while they are there.

At this point, based on what I’ve seen in less than a day’s use, I’d recommend it strongly.🙂

Thanks again, Glenn!

===

Nominate a child to be given a free Kindle at Give a Kid a Kindle.

===

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “A router solved my Kindle Fire connection problems”

  1. Brian Says:

    I had this issue with iPhone 5’s and there new iov6 requirements which did NOT like older ipv4 routers. Its a tech transition that we will have again in the future.

  2. Glenn Starrett Says:

    While greatly appreciated a gift was unecessary. Unfortunately, I already own a copy of your book so I accepted a gift card instead. Thank you so much. I hope you have continued success with your new router. It was good to hear you noticed increased download speeds as well. You should now be set until the next big change to wifi comes down the pike. Enjoy!

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I too had a variety of wifi issues across 2 kindles, and 3 Microsoft Surfaces . Both device categories were getting wifi updates, and my old 802.11n router was droping the wifi link 1 or 2 times per day. I bought a new 802.11ac router about 4 months ago. Once I initially configured the new router just after the turn of the year, wifi has been rock solid — it hasn’t dropped at all, and the router hasn’t needed to be restarted at all since I first turned it on!.

    The Amazon Roku-like device announcement is likely happening next week on Wednesday (4/2). Amazon has sent out invites to an announcement event for that date in NYC. See the following Gigaom post:
    http://gigaom.com/2014/03/27/amazon-press-event-hints-at-release-of-tv-streaming-device/

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Were those Fire Kindles, or non-Fire Kindles?

      I saw the information about the Amazon announcement…I’ll probably write about it today. I’m excited!🙂

      • Edward Boyhan Says:

        It was both: a KT and a KF HD 8.9, I could be using one or the other, or one of the surfaces, and WiFi would drop — actually it was hard to pinpoint a device. WiFi would be up working normally, then it wouldn’t — when a device said the WiFi was gone, the link could have dropped right then, or any time previously. I could look at my network status icons on my pc, and it would be there, then a few minutes later it wouldn’t, and I might or might not have explicitly used WiFi in the interim.

        I will not be as focused on the Amazon announcement as would be usual because I will be in SF all next week at Microsoft’s Build conference in the Moscone center where a whole slew of phone and windows announcements are expected (MS said as much at the Office for iPad announcement yesterday :grin).

Leave a Reply

