Our first Give a Kid a Kindle device has been ordered!

Our first Give a Kid a Kindle device has been ordered!

Our first “Give a Kid a Kindle” Kindle has been ordered!

I am giving a

Kindle Paperwhite 3G, 6″ High Resolution Display with Next-Gen Built-in Light, Free 3G + Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I got the 3G, because I don’t know this recipient’s circumstances. Getting one with 3G gives the most flexibility for connecting to wireless: it includes 3G (like a cellphone) and wi-fi (which many people have in their homes, and is available in some business).

I also decided to order a wall charger. The thought  occurred  to me that someone might not have a USB port to charge (I’m trying to cover the most bases).

The one negative to the 3G for me is that it is out of stock right now, but is expected to be back in soon:

===

Placed on Thursday, April 3, 2014
SHIPMENT 1 OF 2
Your estimated delivery date is:
Monday, April 21, 2014 –
Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Your shipping speed:
Two-Day Shipping

Kindle Paperwhite 3G, 6″ High Resolution Display with Next-Gen Built-in Light, Free 3G + Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers
Electronics
Sold by Amazon Digital Services, Inc.

SHIPMENT 2 OF 2
Your estimated delivery date is:
Saturday, April 5, 2014

Your shipping speed:
Two-Day Shipping

Amazon Kindle 5W USB Power Adapter
Accessory
Sold by Amazon Digital Services, Inc.

===

Thank you for everyone who participated, either by nominating someone or by “recommending” one of the nominees to receive the device!

This is the person who got it:

[Nominee #1] is a ninth grade student who comes to class every day with a stack of books. [Nominee #1] seems to read very rapidly, perhaps a book a day, and [Nominee #1] checks out stacks of library books so that [Nominee #1] has enough to read. [Nominee #1] would benefit from a Kindle because [Nominee #1] could read free classics and not have to carry around a stack any longer!

https://ilmk.wordpress.com/give-a-kid-a-kindle/

I removed personally identifying information.

When I told somebody about this in person today, they commented that they could see how happy it made me…and it really does! I love being able to give back in this way, and to empower a reader to change the world…or just to enjoy it and understand it better.🙂

What’s next?

I think I’m going to wait until I start up again. I want to think about how well it worked. I want to think about ways to up the participation if I do this again.

I don’t think I’ll do it again in April, but may start it again in May. I have to think about the timeline I did: too long? Too short?

Again, though, thanks!

I was able to do two things through Amazon that made this even better.

One was the ability to buy the Kindle in installment payments. That is going to make it considerably easier. Not everybody has that option, but it’s nice when they give it to you.

The other one was that I bought it through

AmazonSmile

That means that the non-profit I chose to support at that site will get a donation from Amazon for purchase…it’s another (very convenient) way to give back.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

3 Responses to “Our first Give a Kid a Kindle device has been ordered!”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    I think what you did was great and am sure the recipient will be quite happy and will remember this for a lifetime. We did a similar thing a few weeks ago and purchased a refurbished Kindle for an elderly person who has vision problems. We chose a K3 so she could listen to her books. She was someone we knew from a book club and first lent her a PW1 and a K3 for a month or so. She loved the K3 so when she returned it we had the new one wrapped with a pretty bow and loaded with a few books to get her started (the next three months book club selections, a personal doc of hints and tips, and a manual) and when she has completed those will teach her how to setup her own account. She already has an Amazon account; we know her well from book club so will “ease” her into managing her Kindle account while allowing her on our account in the interim. It felt really good to see her face light up when she gave ours back and moments later to have her own Kindle.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      That was a great thing you did, and you did it in such a thoughtful manner!

  2. Round up #249: Thank you piQx, reading 100 years of bestsellers | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Our first Give a Kid a Kindle device has been ordered! […]

Leave a Reply

