Kindle Outlet Store

Kindle Outlet Store

While Amazon has had refurbished Kindles for some time, they’ve recently added a link to a new page…the

Kindle Outlet Store (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

at the top of the Kindle storefront.

The savings aren’t huge, but the warranty is good.

They go to the point of explaining how a Kindle becomes a certified refurbished Kindle, and I think it’s worth noting.

A Kindle gets returned to Amazon.

Now, Amazon has a very generous thirty-day:

Kindle Return Policy (at AmazonSmile)

They say (in part):

Returning Kindle Devices

You can return any Kindle device you purchased directly from Amazon.com for a full refund within 30 days of the day you received it as long as it’s in new condition and the return is in accordance with our return policy.

Note: If you want to return your Kindle device for a refund, and you purchased your Kindle from a third-party retail store, you must return your Kindle to the retailer where you made the purchase according to the retailer’s return policies.

 

Partial refunds / restocking fees

If You Return You’ll Receive
Kindle device within 30 days from receipt of shipment 100% of the item’s price
Kindle device past the return window, but within 60 days from receipt of shipment 80% of the item’s price
Kindle device over 60 days from receipt of shipment 0% of the item’s price

That’s if you follow their policies, of course.

On the Kindle forums, we sometimes recommend that somebody wondering about a particular Kindle model go ahead and get it and try it out. If, for example, it doesn’t work well with the user’s disability, they can return it.

In a case like that, the Kindle is very often going to be very much like new.

Amazon will get it, check it out, fix it if necessary, and certify that it is like new.

My feeling has always been that those reviews of the devices are probably more thorough than a new one gets. I think it’s more likely for you to get a lemon with a new Kindle than with a refurb.

After they’ve checked it out, they sell it again…with the exact same warranty as a new one.

You do get a discount on it compared to a new one…up to 25%.

Not all of the refurbs are even still available new from Amazon.

For example, a lot of people want an inexpensive, long battery charge lived device that does text-to-speech.

You can get a certified refurbed Kindle Touch for $79…only $10 more than the current “entry level” Kindle which does not have text-to-speech…or a touch screen, for that matter.

Some of you might be saying, “I can find one a lot cheaper than that on eBay”.

Yes, that’s possible (although I’ve seen Kindles hold their values remarkably well). I’ve seen them for down around $35.

However, those haven’t been inspected and refurbed.

You aren’t going to get the warranty with it if you are buying it from an individual who has already had it for more than a year.

There’s also the very real risk that it is stolen. The person selling it to you may not even know it is stolen…they might have bought it from a thief or from someone who bought it from a thief.

If that’s the case, you may be unable to register it…and you might end up out both the device and the money with which you paid for it.

I think refurbs are a good alternative if you are willing to get one which isn’t brand new…and it’s nice that Amazon has put them much more in the forefront of the site.

What do you think? Have you ever bought a refurb from Amazon? What did you think of that decision? Are you only comfortable with new electronics? Have you bought a used Kindle from an individual and had a good story…or maybe had some challenges with having made that purchase? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

2 Responses to “Kindle Outlet Store”

  1. K Myers Says:

    Regarding refurb Kindles, I purchased a refurbished Kindle 2, US only version, for quite a discount from Amazon. I was totally satisfied. The backstory: My first Kindle (and first ereader) purchase was the original DX, almost as soon as the model began shipping. I purchased it instead of a Kindle 2 because initially the K2 did not support PDF format natively, and I had some PDF texts that I wanted to access portably. At about the time when the K2 international version was released (AT&T instead of Sprint, I think), I began to desire a lighter weight device, with a numbers row on the keyboard. Software updates had added native PDF format support. The ending: After I purchased a Kindle 3 (now known as the Kindle Keyboard), I gave my Kindle 2 to a friend as a holiday gift, with full disclosure that it was a well-read (aka used) Kindle.

  2. Phink Says:

    I bought a kindle fire HD 4G LTE 8.9″ refurbed from Amazon. Actually I bought two and my cousin bought one last fall during a 20% off sale (two of the three were Wi-Fi). All three of them looked and performed like a new one. Amazon could have claimed they were new and we would have never known. Even the box was sealed and had the tear away tab we had to pull off to open the box. Without looking at my history I can’t remember for sure how much I sold it for a couple months ago. It seems like after all fees and what I lost on shipping I either made about $10 or lost about $10. I know I sold it on Amazon for more than I bought it from them for. Why I sold it would be way off subject but Calvin is right that some of these refurbed units (especially if they are bought at a discount) can hold their value sometimes.

Leave a Reply

