Pre-order The Sandman: Dream Hunters…for delivery on January 1, 2036

Pre-order The Sandman: Dream Hunters…for delivery on January 1, 2036

“I have one more question for you during this interview. It’s just a little thing we like to ask applicants…it helps us get a feel for who might best fit on 0ur team. What do you see yourself reading in the future…like twenty years from now?”

Actually, as somebody who has interviewed applicants, I love that question!

It’s a fascinating idea! Could I have predicted twenty years ago what I would like reading today? Hm…actually, in 1994, I probably would have gotten some of it right, but we didn’t have e-books, and that certainly has changed things.

Think about it for a minute. What do you think you’ll be reading two decades  from now? How many of today’s brand name authors will still be writing? Will you be reading all independents? Will you have shifted more to the classics?

I’m looking forward to the comments on this post!

What prompted this question was finding this listing in the USA Kindle store:

The Sandman: Dream Hunters (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

The interesting part about this Neil Gaiman graphic novel is that you can pre-order now for delivery to your Kindle…on January 1, 2036.

The paperback shows a publication date of June 1st, 2000.

Thanks to that and the hardback, we have 67 customer reviews…with an average of 4.6 stars out of five.

Now, in some cases when I’ve seen a book scheduled far into the future like this, it’s been because the publisher is waiting for the book to fall into the public domain. You can’t do that with modern books, since when their copyright terms expire is based on when their authors expire (life+70…a system I find inherently ageist).

With older books, though, you can predict when something will be in the public domain…as long as the rules don’t change in-between.

No, this is a listing by Vertigo, the publisher of the paperback.

I was trying to think if it could be a mistake, but a typo seems unlikely (January 1, 2016 doesn’t make much more sense to me).

I don’t think it has to do with Gaiman’s birthday, which is November 10.

I’m guessing there might be some kind of administrative reason, but I’m not sure what it would be. Maybe they need to be promoting (or even selling) the e-book to maintain the rights? Hm…

Well, one thing is likely: the price of books may have gone up in two decades, so if they guarantee the price, it might be worth it.🙂 You are also betting on Amazon being around for two more decades, or someone honoring the pre-order if they aren’t.

What do you think? Why do we see books available for pre-order decades ahead of the stated delivery date? What will you be reading in twenty years? Feel free to let me and my readers know what you think by commenting on this post.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

3 Responses to “Pre-order The Sandman: Dream Hunters…for delivery on January 1, 2036”

  1. liz Says:

    I’ve been on a Neil Gaiman reading kick lately, but I’m not sure I’d want to wait that long!🙂

    Hopefully, it’s an error which will be corrected soon. I have one of his books in p-book format, and I’m debating whether to re-purchase it in Kindle format … I don’t know if I want to bother holding a “regular” book anymore!

  2. Karin Says:

    Back 2009 there was a listing for the Belgariad by David Eddings (all five books in the file), that would be delivered in 2025. I did pre-order it, and after a few months, Amazon rescinded the pre-order.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Karin!

      I’ve seen long pre-orders like this before, but Amazon rescinding the pre-order is interesting!

      I remember one in particular for a Doc Savage book, and the date was clearly intended to be after it fell into the public domain…

Leave a Reply

