Kindle Short Reads: how much time do you have?

Kindle Short Reads: how much time do you have?

You know, I always thought the old T.J. Maxx jingle that it was “…never the same place twice” was weird. I mean, did that mean that if I liked it once, I shouldn’t go to it again, because I wouldn’t like it the next time?😉

Oh, intellectually, I got it…they just meant that you’d see new merchandise.

Emotionally? I get kidded about not liking change…eating the same meals over and over, buying three pairs of the exact same shoes at the same time, getting itchy when my favorite low-carb tortillas changed the packaging…you know, those kind of normal things.😉

When my Significant Other jokes with me about that, I always explain that it is because my life is so good the way it is now…my SO can’t say much in response to that.🙂

Still, I do like it when I find something new at Amazon!

Not just a new book, but a whole new section. I like to see that they are experimenting.

I don’t think I’d seen this before:

Kindle Short Reads (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

This isn’t the same as Kindle Singles…different section.

The way it works is that you pick a time length:

  • 15 minutes
  • 30 minutes
  • 45 minutes
  • One hour
  • 90 minutes
  • 2 hours or more

and  you can browse for titles that would take you that long to read.

It’s a cool idea, but it seems strange that they feel like they can estimate the reading time…and yet, they have technology that figures out your reading speed…eventually…and seems to have to keep recalculating it.

How many pages do they think you can read in an hour?

33-43

Well, that’s actually a pretty big range, so maybe that’s close for a lot of people. Roughly a page every two minutes seems slow to me, though.

Does it seem excessive to pay $0.99 for something you’ll read in fifteen minutes…when you can pay the same for some titles with thousands of pages?

Maybe…depends on how good those fifteen minutes are, right?

While it appears that it may not be true, many people believe that Ernest Hemingway wrote a great short story that was six words long:

“For sale: baby shoes, never worn”

That’s great writing, and can be read in fifteen seconds by most people.

Also, I noticed that there seem to be free books in the different time lengths as well.

I probably won’t buy from this storefront, but I thought you might.

Why won’t I?

I’m often reading in short chunks like that, and, while I like short stories, I don’t mind at all reading part of a bigger work.

I’m typically reading several books at once…some books I will read a few minutes at a time over years.

On Goodreads, I show myself as reading sixteen books right now.

So, I don’t really see the amount of time I have to read as a driving selection factor.

I can see some people using this, though. You just found out your flight will be delayed by forty-five minutes? Might be nice to download something that is supposed to fill that time.

What do you think? Is this something that would appeal to you? Feel free to let me and my readers know what you think by commenting on this post.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

One Response to “Kindle Short Reads: how much time do you have?”

  1. Zebras Says:

    WEll, i have to say its a completely new way of looking at it. I think it might actually be detrimental to the sales of the shorter ones, because as you said to pay 99 cents for something that will only take 15 minutes, versus a full length book.

    I personally like longer stories, have often found favorite authors, by grabbing the fattest book on the shelf at the bookstore, and checking it out.

Leave a Reply

