Round up #249: Thank you piQx, reading 100 years of bestsellers

Round up #249: Thank you piQx, reading 100 years of bestsellers

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

Thank you, piQx!

I am so impressed with this!

I’ve written before

The Xcanex: a better book digitizer

about the

piQx Xcanex Portable Book and Document Scanner (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

a book scanner I bought which is vastly superior to how I digitized public domain paperbooks when I was working with a non-profit.

It’s so much faster, and so much easier to use! It’s much simpler to handle what might be a fragile item, and has cool features, like a digital finger remove (if you hold the book or magazine open by placing your fingers on it, it can recognize them as fingers and remove them from the image).

I also mentioned that they have an essay contest, where you can win one for yourself:

http://www.piqximaging.com/contest

I told you that I entered it…not for myself, but explaining that I would donate it to that same non-profit.

Well, I was pleased and shocked to get an e-mail from them…not saying that I had won, but saying that they would donate one to the non-profit anyway!

The person trying to contact me actually made the effort to send the e-mail twice…apparently, the first one fell into my spam folder.

I have facilitated the contact between piQx and the non-profit…and they are going to send it.

To me, this just shows a company doing a good thing. They do want a picture of it in use, and I suppose they might get some marketing value out of that…but that might also be just to show that it was actually be used as I suggested it might be.

Again, thanks to piQx!

The first Give a Kid a Kindle device has been delivered!

Another good news story (the world is a wonderful place): I written that the first recipient of a Kindle through our Give a Kid a Kindle program had been selected, and that the device had been ordered.

Our first Give a Kid a Kindle device has been ordered!

I got the confirmation from Amazon today that it was delivered.

Honestly, that makes me really happy and I thank everyone who participated. I do think I’ll do it again, maybe opening up nominations again in May.

“At Apple: a Stay Keeps the Judgment at Bay?”

People said that one reason Apple didn’t settle with the Department of Justice (when all of the accused publishers did) is that Apple has the money to just keep fighting judgments as long as they want. Instead of saying, “It ain’t over ’til it’s over”, some people say, “It ain’t over ’til you run out of money fighting us.”😉

Well, the Feds don’t run out of money for something like this easily, although they can run out of will eventually.

In this

Publishers Weekly article by Andrew Albanese

it’s reported that (no surprise) Apple has filed for a stay of proceedings in the damages phase of its trial.

That’s sort of like saying, “Time out! Look, we’re going to win anyway, so don’t do anything until we do.”

The stay will, I think, get a ruling this week…and my intuition is that Judge Cote is not going to give them one.

More Penguin e-books now available in school libraries

I’ve written a lot about e-books and public libraries…how some publishers seriously restrict their use (or don’t license them to libraries at all).

I haven’t written that much about school libraries…but that’s been an issue as well.

According to this

The Digital Reader article by Nate Hoffelder

Penguin has now worked out their concerns…and 17,000 titles are available to school libraries, including some iconic books.

I’m very happy to see this progress! Of course, I’d like to see all e-books available to be licensed by school and public libraries, but I do applaud progress.

Speaking of school libraries, this unnerving

goodEreader article by Mercy Pilkington

talks about the trend for school libraries to simply close!

Schools may decide they can’t afford them, and off they go.

I wrote before about how a book I got out of a school library changed my life, and I’d have to say the library was always one of my favorite places at school.

In fact, we were quite shocked when our now adult kid started at a school, and the school closed before 3:00. We were told that our kid had to leave the campus…all kids did, unless they were participating in after school activities (mostly sports). That just seemed dangerous! There weren’t school buses running, and public buses took a long time to get home…there have been some bad incidents in the town with kids hanging out for a couple of hours before their guardians can get them.

I said to the school, “Can our kid study at the library until we can get there?”

Nope: no school library use after school hours!

Of course, I understand the economics…but remember, they could afford to have sports coaches there after hours, but apparently, not librarians.

Reading 100 years of #1 Publishers Weekly bestsellers

This

Salon.com article by Laura Miller

has a really interesting interview with Matthew Kahn of

Kahn’s Corner

who is reading and reviewing every #1 hardback Publishers Weekly annual bestseller, from 1913 to 2013.

I always find it interesting when readers decide to take on a task like that. Sure, I’ve read all the books in a series (181 original Doc Savage adventures, for example), but I haven’t tended to take a list and work my way through (that goes for movies, too).

I can understand it, though…there are so many things to read, and this at least gives you a path through the forest.

It will be interesting to see Kahn’s take on the changing tastes of America…

What do you think? Has a company ever did something that you really admired? How important was your school library to you? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “Round up #249: Thank you piQx, reading 100 years of bestsellers”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    My first full time job in education was as a library aide at a HS library. When I retired, I asked that for my retirement gift they buy books for the school library since at the time there was a spending freeze.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      What a wonderful job…and wonderful gesture!

      I’ve said before that if it was a choice between keeping libraries open (with literacy teachers in them) and keeping schools open, I’d opt for the libraries.

  2. Edward Boyhan Says:

    As we move more and more towards an eBooked world, I am more and more unsympathetic to those bemoaning the closing/disappearance of small local (school or public) mostly pBook libraries.

    In an eBooked world with sufficient network resources, there is little need for more than a few all eBook libraries (excepting those research libraries that contain original pDocuments of historical or cultural import).

    With municipal and school budgets under increasing attacks, surely resources can be better allocated to other needs. pBooks (in my view) command an egregious amount of nostalgia from those of us whose upbringing and lives have been dominated by pBooks — nevertheless, nostalgia notwithstanding, technology marches on, and eBook libraries are the wave of the future.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      If a library is narrowly defined as “a place to borrow books”, then you are correct.

      However, I think we’d see many library users cite many other elements. The reference librarian, book readings, literacy instruction, guest speakers, interactive exhibits, and so on. I do agree with you that people often conflate p-books with the books themselves (the words). I also agree that libraries serve a purpose as archives, but I would not put the “historical or cultural import” limitation on them…that happens to be a personal interest of mine, the preservation of what is often seen as ephemera.

      Do I agree that p-bookless libraries will rise? Sure.🙂 Do I think that means that there doesn’t need to be a “book place” in a school? I think that’s a different question.

Leave a Reply

