Kindle Fires are on sale today

Kindle Fires are on sale today

Note: see the update below: Prime members are getting an extra ten percent off the prices listed in the first part of this post!

This is a “limited time” offer, but not one of those that disappears in seconds. No way to know how long it will last, but I guess it will be good for today. Check the price before you click or tap that Buy button.

Kindle Fire HDX 7″ (at AmazonSmile: support a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

That’s my personally most-used device.

It’s $199 for the configuration I have: 16 GB, special offers, wi-fi only.

That’s $30 off the normal $299 price.

It appears to be $30 off any of the possible configurations.

Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″ (at AmazonSmile)

is $40 off, again, that appears to be all the configurations (including 4G).

That brings the cheapest version down to $339.

In addition to the larger screen, you also get a rear-facing camera with that one, in addition to the front-facing camera (for videocalls, mostly) you get on the 7″.

Kindle Fire HD (2nd generation) 7″ (at AmazonSmile)

No cameras, no Mayday…but $20 off the 8GB makes it as low as $119. 16GB? $40 off.

For comparison’s sake, $119 makes it the same price as the

Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ 2nd generation, wi-fi only, with Special Offers (at AmazonSmile)

Update: thanks to reader Glenn Starrett for the heads-up on this one!

I missed this at first, and I think a lot of people did.

For the first time, Prime members are getting an additional discount on Kindles…and it can be combined with the above.

We don’t know if it will last very long, but the extra 10% is an interesting move (and a way to give us more as they raise the prices. Here are the details:

Prime Members Save 10% on Kindle Fire HD and Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile)

Bonus tip: I’ve written before about pricing strategies. Pricing something with a price ending in .99 makes it seem like you are getting a bargain, like you are saving money.

Pricing something ending in .00 makes it seem like it is a quality product.  When I managed a gamestore (I also managed a bookstore), we couldn’t have sold a $499 chess set…but we could sell a $500 one. Someone spending that much doesn’t want a “bargain”, they want “the best”.

Oddly, sort of the same thing goes with Kindle books. A stand-out book may be priced at an even $5, instead of $4.99:

$5 books in the USA Kindle store (at AmazonSmile)

Some of the books there:

  • Life after Life by Kate Atkinson
  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  • Lean In by Sheryl Strandberg
  • I Remember Nothing by Nora Ephron

Those were all buzzy books. That doesn’t mean that books priced at $4.99 aren’t as good, and certainly not that they aren’t as popular. It’s just that if you sort things only by price, you may miss some really good backlist books at what are now bargain prices.

Enjoy!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Kindle Fires are on sale today”

  1. Glenn Starrett Says:

    According to this article Prime members can also receive an additional 10% discount at checkout dropping these prices even lower. Wish I needed another one!

    http://www.the-digital-reader.com/2014/04/15/amazon-quietly-starts-kindle-fire-discounts-for-prime-members/

  2. Micki Says:

    Hi! when I was on the website to purchase my Kindle Fire HDX 8.9 (64GB) they also offered a “delayed payment” option. I paid 20% now and they will bill my credit card every thirty days – four more times with no finance charge. I didn’t notice at the time that they had not applied my 10% for being a prime member. So I called. The CSR I spoke with claimed she had not heard of the Prime promotional 10% discount – however I told her that it was listed on the Prime members page – so she immediately adjusted my order. I am thrilled. It bought the price down to $395.10 of which $316.08 was deferred. Sweet deal! (Now, of course, I am waiting for Amazon to come out with an “improved” model – it seems every time I buy a “new” kindle (fire) – within a few months – my model is already outdated.) But for this price – I’M HAPPY!!!

  3. 1quietlady Says:

    Yes, it WAS you! I like saving money – and I’m glad you like helping people save money! Thanks!

    Now a “money” question for you. At the end of your blog you always make a reference to buying Amazon gift cards “from a link on the site”. The words “Amazon Gift Card” are “blue” and link to Amazon. Is this the link to which you refer? I know, sounds like a dumb question – but I’m just making sure that I am doing it correctly – and then please assuage my curiosity – in what way does this “benefit” you???.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, 1quietlady!

      Great!

      I’m going to keep both that comment at the end of the posts and this response general. I don’t like it to be just about me…I honestly put that there to benefit other bloggers as well. A lot of “issue” blogs are by people trying to do public good (and in some cases, it is non-profits) who don’t have much money to use for their causes. That’s another reason I like to things at AmazonSmile: so my readers can benefit non-profits of their choosing.

      The link does go to Amazon Gift Cards, but other bloggers might link in different ways.

      If the blogger is an Amazon Associate, and someone clicks on a link and buys the gift card, the blogger gets an “advertising fee” from Amazon.

      There are different plan structures, but the blogger might get $0.60 for a $10 gift card purchased by a reader through a link, for example. That benefits the blogger by helping compensate them for their time an effort doing the blog…and might help justify that time to the other people in the blogger’s life.😉

      I choose not to take paid advertising for my site, which is another way people accomplish the above goal.

Leave a Reply

