Add Your Amazon Books rolling out to Goodreads website

Add Your Amazon Books rolling out to Goodreads website

When Amazon bought Goodreads (a bit over a year ago), one of the advantages people  envisaged  (and certainly, some people thought there might be disadvantages as well) was the ability to easily import your Amazon purchases to your Goodreads shelves.

We did get the ability to do that from some Kindle devices. For example, you have that functionality on the Kindle Paperwhite.

That was fine for people with those devices, but there are lots of Goodreads users who have bought books from Amazon and don’t have Kindles (or at least, those specific devices). The import isn’t just for Kindle editions…it’s for p-books (paperbooks) also.

In this

Goodreads blog post

they announce that Add Your Amazon Books”…will be available in the next few weeks to members in the U.S., Canada, and Australia. ”

Other countries are expected to follow.

After giving you an explanation of what it will be like (it will be on My Books under Tools), they give you a link to where you can go ahead and do it now:

Early Access

They have a Question and Answer section there. I’ve asked this, but don’t have an answer yet:

“This seems to be similar to the functionality on the Kindle devices (for the ones which have it). It is only showing me recently purchased books, and I have something like a thousand which haven’t been imported. My guess is that there might have been a size limit the first time it did the sync, and now it doesn’t go back and re-query, just starts with books after the last sync (yes, I’m a geek).🙂 Any troubleshooting for it not importing all of the books? Are there books which wouldn’t be imported (ones without ISBNs, perhaps)? Thanks! “

Why do this?

Mainly to “feed” Goodreads. It lets other people see what you are reading (if you choose that), helps you keep track for yourself…and strengthens the algorithms used by the system to make recommendations to you.

For those of you who are already Goodreads users, this simplifies things. If you don’t use Goodreads now (I do…you can follow me. I write a little review there on most books I finish), maybe this will get you to start.😉

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Add Your Amazon Books rolling out to Goodreads website”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I have a goodreads account, and it is on my list of things to dig into as a means of managing all my ebooks and pbooks — so this feature might be of interest — or not….

    On my KT when I finish reading a book I’m given the option of giving it a star rating and writing a “mini” review (or leaving the dummy one intact) and posting it on Twitter. On my PW2 when I finish reading a book I’m given the option of posting a star rating to goodreads (I presume I’d have to dig further into Goodreads to associate a review with that rating).

    What gets me is that Amazon has star ratings and reviews all over the place: Goodreads, the Twitter interface, I think also a Facebook interface (But I don’t use FB so I don’t know), there are star ratings and reviews on the product purchase pages on Amazon proper (and occasional email solicitations to provide same some time after you’ve purchased and presumably read the book), also you can do this on the kindle.amazon.com pages, on the your media library pages (although these seem to be deprecated), finally you can also provide review to that other Amazon property: Shelfari.

    Why can’t Amazon provide a single place for a star rating and review that would get posted to all these places? From my viewpoint the dialog at the end of a book is the perfect place to do this.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Oh, I understand.🙂 I have wondered how many times people review/rate the same book differently at different Amazon sites…certainly, your mood at the time can affect it.🙂

      Part of it, I think, is Amazon respecting the autonomy of organizations they acquire. I think there would be quite a backlash if Goodreads users who had posted reviews there prior to the merge suddenly found them synced to Amazon!

  2. lp Says:

    Thanks for the info. If you do another post about GoodReads, it would be interesting to know: 1) whether it’s possible to use GoodReads “privately,” i.e., without sharing your identity and purchases with the world; and 2) how the site compares with kindle.amazon.com in terms of letting you see and find what Kindle books you have already purchased.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, lp!

      It depends a bit by what you mean by “your identity”. Goodreads says:

      “You control who can see your profile. Your profile includes your information on the profile tab, your bookshelves, your friend list, and other Goodreads members’ comments on your profile. Your profile image thumbnail and your name will always be visible in some areas of the site, but you can hide your last name using the setting on the profile tab. Book reviews are always public and will appear on book pages throughout the site regardless of privacy setting.

      Who Can View My Profile:
      anyone (including search engines) (?)
      Goodreads members
      just my friends”

      So, if you don’t designate any “friends” on Goodreads, you can make it so no one can read your profile. You can hide your last name. If you write a review, it will be visible to other people.

      Yes, you could hide your purchases in that way…although writing a review would suggest your familiarity with the book.🙂

      More books show up for me at kindle.amazon.com than at Goodreads. I have thousands of books from Amazon, and I think that might have caused a problem with it during the import (I’m hoping to hear back from them about that). Outside of that, they seem pretty similar in terms of ease of finding previous purchases.

      • Edward Boyhan Says:

        I buy a fair amount of kindle books from non-Amazon sources; I also have a lot of pBooks from pre kindle days. My big wish is for some easy way to tell if I already have a title (whether p- or e-Book).

        The main Amazon pages do a good job of telling you whether you’ve already bought a kindle book (whether buying from a kindle device directly or via the Amazon web page)

        My understanding is that kindle.Amazon.com only deals with Amazon purchases whereas Goodreads can deal with non-Amazon purchases as well as P-books??

        I can get around the non-Amazon eBook source issue by (for the most part) putting them in the Personal Document store (now called the send-to-kindle folder on the Amazon Cloud Drive). On the manage your kindle page (now call the manage your devices and content page)you can get a unified view of Amazon eBooks and personal documents. That sort of works, but is not ideal.

        I’m less than thrilled with the book collection management solutions out there, but I can understand that providing a really good one might not be in Amazon’s best business interests :grin.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Edward!

        On your last point first: Amazon seems to largely realize that pleasing its customers is what is in its best business interests…at least, in so far as digital content goes. The digital content is not where a lot of the profit is: if you use Amazon for that, and then buy “diapers and windshield wipers” from them because of it, that works for them.

        Sure, you can absolutely use Goodreads with non-Amazon books…and they give you several ways.

        First, you can import a .csv, .xls, or .txt file that has ISBNs (International Standard Book Numbers).

        Second, you can import from a webpage (again, with ISBNs).

        Third, you can search (by title, author, or ISBN) their 12 million book database, and then add the book to your “shelves”.

        Fourth, you can manually add a book. I put that one last because the odds are pretty good they already have the book, and they don’t want duplicates in the database (for obvious reasons).

Leave a Reply

