Does Amazon love us TOO much?

Does Amazon love us TOO much?

The name of this blog is “I Love My Kindle”, but I’ve never really felt like that was a one-way street…I mean, that would be kind of pathetic and stalkerish, right?😉

I’m a former retail manager, and I have to say, Amazon does a whole lot of things for its customers that not everybody does…and that arguably, they don’t have to do.

Sure, you could cynically say that it’s to keep us as customers so we’ll spend money…but people spend money with companies that don’t do as much.

Amazon is willing to spend a lot of money to buy goodwill…so much that it makes a lot of investors uneasy.

My guess is that we’ll see Amazon stock rebound this week, but the narrative in the blogosphere right now is that, based on Amazon’s recently reported Q1 financials, investors are fed up and selling the stock.

They want more money, not just happier customers.

Now again, my guess is that the stock will bounce back up to where it was pretty quickly…but I’ve never claimed to be a Wall Street savant.

My feeling is that Amazon could take quite a few perks away from us, and the majority of people would not stop (or even cut back on) using them.

At least not at first.

After a while, if a more attractive alternative appeared, people might switch…which they wouldn’t do while feeling that Amazon amour.😉

What I thought I would do is ask you would you would be willing to give up, if it meant keeping Amazon solidly around and growing.

Imagine that we are in a stockholder meeting. The stockholders are demanding that Amazon stop being so generous to their customers, or they are going to bail.

Which of these things, even if it would make you sad to see them go, would you be willing to offer up to be sacrificed (or reduced…for example, the 30 day return policy on Kindles might go to ten days)?

I deliberately haven’t listed everything (there are a lot!), and I’m not suggesting that any of these specific things might happen…but I’m sure some stockholders see each of these as an unnecessary expense.

What do you think? Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

11 Responses to “Does Amazon love us TOO much?”

  1. Carolyn perreau Says:

    I own stock in several companies. I like steady growth and am appalled at the money for many execs. I think this is a real problem. we need to look at steady growth. what a company stands for. and putting caps on execs salaries

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Carolyn!

      I think that has to partially depend on what kind of steady growth.😉 Amazon has steady growth in sales, but not in the kind of income which matters.

      What do you think of Jeff Bezos’ salary?

  2. tellthetruth1 Says:

    Kindle matchbook? What’s that? I don’t mind free apps not being there. If it’s a good app, I’m more than happy to pay for it. Want to keep the coins, for that reason. I always have some in hand in case there’s an app I especially would like to have, so I hope coins stay.🙂

  3. rogerknights Says:

    One thing they may reduce in a year, especially if the stock is under pressure, is the 70% royalty rate. That was mostly needed as a way to fight a war of attrition with B&N.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, rogerknights!

      Well, I would say that was more of a reaction to Apple and the Agency Model. Apple was offering that 70% under the Agency Model. Now that that has been broken up, will Amazon back off it? My guess would be no…but you were right and I was wrong before on that.🙂

  4. Carolyn perreau Says:

    to be honest I was surprised. his salary is only 81840. but with all other compensations. it comes to 1,682,000. he owns 83%of the stock. but compared to other companies. it’s a pittance

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Carolyn!

      Yep…Jeff isn’t your typical CEO. My understanding is he also gets eight hours of sleep a night.🙂

Leave a Reply

