Flip your way into being a magazine editor…I did

Flip your way into being a magazine editor…I did

I’m very careful about taking on new responsibilities, but this is something I plan to do…and which I think some of you may really enjoy.

I’ve written before about how the

Flipboard (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

app on my

Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile*)

is a part of my morning routine. It’s sort of like what a newspaper was for me in the “olden days”.😉 It gives me discovery of stories (you choose the sources and/or topics).

Well, they recently did an upgrade which allows me to easily curate magazines you can read…for free!

It’s really adding very little time to what I was already doing. All I do (now that I’ve created the magazines, which took seconds) is click a plus symbol on the article, and then choose into which magazine I want to “flip it”.

That’s it.

The articles then appear as they would on the web…color, pictures, whatever.

I would guess it doesn’t add ten seconds to each article.

You can then use the Flipboard app (which is also free) to read them.

Right now, I have two Flipboard magazines:

ILMK magazine at Flipboard

and

The Measured Circle magazine at Flipboard

Those are links to them on the web, and it will ask you to install Flipboard if you don’t have it.

You can also search from within Flipboard. On your dashboard screen (where you normally see your feeds), there is a magnifying glass searchbox up by the red menu. Tap that, and enter “Bufo Calvin”, “I Love My Kindle” or “The Measured Circle”, and you should be able to find them and subscribe within the app.

While the two of those line up with two of my blogs (this one and another one which is mostly geeky pop culture), they aren’t the same.

They don’t have original writing by me (unless I flip one of my own articles into the magazine).

That’s a big differentiator between the magazines and the round-ups I do in the blogs. I comment on the articles here: I can’t there.

On the other hand, the entire article appears. Additionally, I will flip some articles into the magazines which I wouldn’t do in the round-ups. There are times when articles just speak for themselves…I don’t really have anything to add.

It also means you can read it verbatim: I’m careful to stick with Fair Use here, and not quote too much of something…there, you see the whole thing.

So, if you are interested, take a look. What you are getting is my sensibility as an editor. I’m not really concerned about it taking people away from reading the original content here…but you might find it replaces something else for which you do pay, if you are subscribing to magazines or other periodicals.

Oh, one other important thing. I don’t take advertising in this blog…that’s a choice I’ve made, and my intuition is that people appreciate it. Ads can show up when you visit the website for the blog, but I don’t put them there (WordPress does), and I don’t think you see them much.

My guess is that you will see ads in these Flipboard magazines (I see them in the regular Flipboard app). Just wanted to give you a heads-up on that.

If you try them, let me know what you think. If  you have started your own Flipboard magazine, or have ones you’d recommend, feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post. Since people don’t pay for them, I won’t really consider that advertising…unless you write it like an ad.🙂 I’ll exercise my usual judgement on posting the comments.

Enjoy!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

One Response to “Flip your way into being a magazine editor…I did”

  1. Round up #253: Jeff Bezos in class, best reviewed “mother” books | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Flip your way into being a magazine editor…I did […]

Leave a Reply

