HarperCollins $1.99 sale

HarperCollins $1.99 sale

HarperCollins let me know (I subscribe to a newsletter from them…it wasn’t a personal contact) that three of their books are on a $1.99 sale at several outlets, including the (USA) Kindle store.

The books are interesting, well-reviewed…and these are really big savings (more than $10 in one case):

The House Girl (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)
by Tara Conklin
4.2 stars out of 5, 622 customer reviews
originally $10.99…a $9 savings
historical fiction

This one blends together a modern setting with 1852 Virginia. That’s an excellent average with that many reviews.

An English Affair: Sex, Class and Power in the Age of Profumo (at AmazonSmile)
by Richard Davenport-Hines
4.3 stars, 19 reviews
originally $14.99…a $13 savings

Prefer non-fiction for your beach reads? For that matter, do you prefer those beaches to be Atlantic…and cold?😉 There was a British government scandal fifty years ago…in 1963. Coincidentally, I just watched the first episode of Adam Adamant Lives! for the first time yesterday. I’d heard of this British TV series about a dashing crimefighter from 1902 who is put into suspended animation by an enemy and awakens in “swinging London”, but had never seen it. That London is certainly in the same era as the Profumo affair. I had hypothesized that Austin Powers might have been inspired by Adam Adamant…and yes, I can see some similarities. I’ll have to watch more of the series…but I digress.🙂

Mozart’s Last Aria (at AmazonSmile)
by Matt Reese
4.2 stars, 23 reviews
originally $7.99…a savings of six dollars
historical fiction

Hm…HarperCollins does seem to want to send us into the past with this sale.😉 While the publisher didn’t choose to classify it this way at Amazon, it appears to be a mystery…with historical characters.

Enjoy!

Bonus note: I’ve added a new Flipboard magazine…and perhaps created a new category.😉 I know some of you are fans of Doc Savage, and others have run across me mentioning how Doc is one of my fictional heroes. I’ve started what I called a “fanflip”…and I’ve defined that as a Flipboard magazine by a fan, devoted to one topic. My first one (and I may do more) is the Doc Savage Fanflip: http://flip.it/Gu3JG. What I’m going to do is not only include news stories (there is a new movie in the works, and new books are being published), but gather together existing resources (including videos). I think I can do this without it taking up too much time and energy…and I think I probably don’t need to update it as often as I’m doing the other two Flipboard magazines I have at this point.  It’s interesting, because I get no royalties from it (I’m just curating), and I’m not benefiting directly from people clicking on links in it. It’s mainly just fun for me, although I suppose it might lead to some discovery (of this blog, for example), if people read my profile. Between the first two magazines, I have close to 250 readers (with some definite overlap)…and articles from the ILMK one have been “flipped” by other people thousands of times! If you have a Flipboard magazine, I’d be happy to hear about it…

New! Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a Reply

