Answers to “Their other books” #1

Answers to “Their other books” #1

A couple of days ago, I posted

Their other books

which was a game based on the

Amazon Author Rank (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

page. I listed books by the 100 top authors ranked there…not their most popular books (based on the ranking), but one of them. The game was to see how many authors you could name. If you’d like to try it, please first go to the link above.

These are in order: the #1 author below is the Amazon’s “most popular” author:

  1. Looking for Alaska: John Green (most popular book: The Fault in Our Stars)
  2. Revival: Stephen King (Mr. Mercedes)
  3. Insurgent: Veronica Roth (Allegiant…these are both part of the Divergent series)
  4. A Feast for Crows: George R.R. Martin (part of the “Game of Thrones” series, although the series is really called “A Song of Ice and Fire”)
  5. Middle School: Get Me out of Here!: James Patterson (Unlucky 13)
  6. Dark Witch: Nora Roberts (The Collector)
  7. City of Lost Souls: Cassandra Clare (part of The Mortal Instruments series)
  8. The Space Between: Diana Gabaldon (part of the Outlander series)
  9. Slow Burn:
  10. The Finisher: David Baldacci (The Target)
  11. The Chase: Janet Evanovich (Top Secret Twenty-One)
  12. A Halflings (sic) Rescue: Heather Burch (One Lavender Ribbon)
  13. Obsessed: Deborah Bladon (Pulse)
  14. Letters to My Daughter: Maya Angelou (I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings)
  15. Quarry: Max Allan Collins (Supreme Justice)
  16. Grave Peril: Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files)
  17. Never Go Back: Lee Child (Personal: A Jack Reacher Novel)
  18. Deadline: John Sandford (Field of Prey)
  19. The Little Friend: Donna Tartt (The Goldfinch)
  20. The Mark of Athena: Rick Riordan (The Staff of Serapis)
  21. Three Wishes: Liane Moriarty (The Husband’s Secret)
  22. John Grisham’s The Partner: Jacqueline Kehl (Kehl performs audiobooks…I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is the most popular)
  23. Sharp Objects: Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
  24. 4 fer au feu: Maxine Pietro (Unlucky 13…co-author with James Patterson)
  25. The Racketeer: John Grisham (Sycamore Row)
  26. Hold On My Heart: Tracy Brogan (The Best Medicine)
  27. Happy Birthday to You!: Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places You’ll Go!)
  28. Ring in the Dead: J.A. Jance (Second Watch)
  29. When We Met: Susan Mallery (Before We Kiss)
  30. The Death Cure: James Dashner (The Maze Runner)
  31. The Quiet Game: Greg Iles (Natchez  Burning)
  32. Where We Belong: Emily Giffin (The One and Only)
  33. The Eye of Heaven: Clive Cussler (Ghost Ship)
  34. Castle of Sand: Bella Forrest (A Shade of Vampire)
  35. The Atlantis Gene: A.G. Riddle (The Atlantis World)
  36. Steelheart: Brandon Sanderson (Words of Radiance)
  37. The Elite: Kiera Cass (The One)
  38. I Want to Hold Your Hand: Marie Force (True North)
  39. The Way Life Should Be: Christina Baker Kline (Orphan Train)
  40. Catching Fire: Suzanne Collins (Mockingjay…these are both in The Hunger Games series)
  41. A Dark Mind: Theresa Ragan (Abducted)
  42. White Lace and Promises: Debbie Macomber (Promise Me Forever)
  43. The Proposition 3: H.M. Ward (The Wedding Contract)
  44. Club Prive Book 4: M.S. Parker (Club Prive Book 5)
  45. X-Men: Messiah Complex: Peter David (Artful)
  46. Heart Stealers (well, this is  embarrassing, but it’s one of these four: Patricia McLinn, Judith Arnold, Julie Ortolon and Kathryn Shay
  47. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)
  48. The Black Box: Michael Connelly (The Gods of Guilt)
  49. Surrender: Melody Anne (Unexpected Treasure)
  50. A Tap on the Window: Linwood Barclay
  51. The Snake Handler: Anthony Doerr (All the Light We Cannot See)
  52. FaceOff: Steve Berry (The Lincoln Myth)
  53. Earth Awakens: Orson Scott Card (Ender’s Game)
  54. This Regret: Victoria Ashley (Slade)
  55. Shadow Kiss: Rachel Mead (Vampire Academy)
  56. Clockwork Angel: Cassandra Clare (City of Bones…these are in the The Mortal Instruments series)
  57. The Chance: Robyn Carr (Four Friends)
  58. Thankless in Death: J.D. Robb (Festive in Death)
  59. Deeply Odd: Dean Koontz (The City)
  60. Wonder: R.J. Palacio (The Julian Chapter)
  61. A Kiss of Shadows: Laurell K. Hamilton (A Shiver of Light)
  62. Just One Day: Gayle Forman (If I Stay)
  63. Innocent Blood: James Rollins (The Eye of God)
  64. Beyond Desire: J.S. Scott (Mine for Tonight)
  65. The Last Letter from Your Lover: Jojo Moyes (Me Before You)
  66. I Am the Messenger: Marcus Zusak (The Book Thief
  67. La ladrona de libros: Marcus Zusak (The Book Thief…listed twice)
  68. The Great Divide: C.S. Lewis (The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe)
  69. The Economies of Rising Inequalities: Thomas Piketty (Capital in the Twenty-First Century)
  70. Magic Tree House #52: Mary Pope Osborne (Magic Tree House Boxed Set 1-4)
  71. Reaper’s Legacy: Joanna Wylde (Devil’s Game)
  72. When the Heart Waits: Sue Monk Kidd (The Invention of Wings)
  73. Autumn in the Vineyard: Marina Adair (From the Moment We Met)
  74. Gone for Good: Harlan Coben (Missing You)
  75. Killing Lincoln: Bill O’Reilly (Killing Jesus)
  76. Killing Patton Martin Dugard (Killing Jesus)
  77. Hidden Order: Brad Thor (Act of War)
  78. Brothers in Battle, Best of Friends (only one book listed): William Guarnere
  79. Brothers in Battle, Best of Friends (only one book listed) (co-author): Edward Heffron
  80. The Lost Symbol: Dan Brown (Inferno)
  81. The Cold Truth: Jonathan Stone (Moving Day)
  82. The Longest Ride: Nicholas Sparks (The Best of Me)
  83. Night Shift: ?
  84. King for a Day: Mimi Jean Pamfiloff (King’s)
  85. When Day Breaks: Mary Jane Clark?
  86. A Tragic Wreck: T.K. Leigh
  87. Dark Wolf: Christine Feehan (Air Bound)
  88. Good Omens: Neil Gaiman (The Ocean at the End of the Lane)
  89. SuperFreakonomics: Stephen J. Dubner (Think Like a Freak)
  90. SuperFreakonomics (co-author): Steven D. Levitt (Think Like a Freak)
  91. Maid of Murder: Amanda Flower (A Plain Scandal)
  92. The Back Road: Rachel Abbott (Sleep Tight)
  93. First Sight: Danielle Steel (A Perfect Life)
  94. Living History: Hillary Rodham Clinton (Hard Choices)
  95. Cockroaches: Jo Nesbo
  96. Out of Breath: Rebecca Donovan? (Reason to Breath?)
  97. The Great Hunt: Robert Jordan (A Memory of Light)
  98. David and Goliath: Malcolm Gladwell (The Tipping Point?)
  99. Other People We Married: Emma Straub (The Vacationers)
  100. Doggies: Sandra Boynton (The Going to Bed Book)

Well, apologies are in order! I didn’t preserve the answers when I was working off the list at Amazon (I have a complicating factor right now, which may be resolved soon), and it changed…a lot! I should have anticipated that, since they do it hourly and rankings must change.

That meant I just spent a considerable amount of time researching them again…and couldn’t be sure on some of them.

I’ve never had that issue on a game before, but I do think you’ll have a pretty good idea how you did…

Lesson learned.😦

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

My new free Flipboard magazine, The Weird Old Days features vintage articles on ghosts, sea serpents, psychic phenomena, and more http://flip.it/ZtmYw

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

4 Responses to “Answers to “Their other books” #1”

  1. Phyllis Simpson Says:

    I just wondered if I am the only person that has trouble with the battery on their Kindle Fire HDX running down really quickly whether it is on or not? My latest update was June 1st and I just noticed it yesterday afternoon. I charged it fully (100%) before I went to bed last night, and when I looked at it this morning it had a 16% charge and it had just been sitting. I had to charge it until it was 72% so I could use the Mayday feature. I was suprised when I was connected with someone in the Phillipines, actually three different people in different departments. He had me turn the kindle Fire HDX off and said he downloaded an update to fix the problem. All I am doing is playing music on it and it still seems to be using up the battery too quickly. I will charge it fully and see how it preforms after this update. The technician seemed to be familiar with the problem. I just wondered if you had experienced the problem?

    On the Mayday feature, I had hoped to talk to someone in the USA that could speak clear understandable English. Instead I was connected to the Phillipines and the connection was poor over the Kindle Fire HDX and they had to end up calling me on the phone. It was a little better, but we still had a communication problem, because of their language skills. I am disappointed that Amazon has done what other software companies have done and hired call centers in foreign countries for technical support. I have done business with Amazon because I felt I would not have to deal with call centers in foreign countries. I feel this will hurt Amazon in the long run. I can understand cutting cost, but not the quality of their service. The only advantage to Mayday is to reach a technician quickly, whether you can understand them or not.

    In the past I always looked forward to Amazon’s next new product. Now I am not so sure, if I have to receive technical support from a foreign call center that has poor language skills.
    Phyllis Simpson

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phyllis!

      After an update, there can sometimes be a bigger battery charge use, since it may need to restore some things…that situation shouldn’t last long.

      When you say it was just “sitting”, was it asleep or turned off? Battery do lose charge when the device is turned off, but it shouldn’t be very fast. If it is sleeping, it can still be doing things (sort of like you dreaming)😉 so that might be more noticeable.

      I haven’t had that experience with Mayday, and I’ve used it several times. I can’t, therefore, comment on any trends that might be happening there. Amazon does give you so many ways to get support, though, that you could always try another channel. At

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      you can call, have them call you, e-mail, or chat. In terms of Mayday, I assume you could have asked to connect with someone else if you were having trouble understanding the technician.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I’m sorry we seem to have done so poorly on this game. You obviously put a lot of time and thought into it. Once I saw all the authors, I recognized many of them, have read more than 2 books each written by 13 of them, but there were 69 names that left me thinking, “Who the heck is that?” The only one I’m kicking myself over was “Dr. Seuss” but the one you chose is prossibly the only Theodore Geisel book I haven’t read or at least don’t remember.

    The only ones I got right were Bill O’Reilly even though I wouldn’t read one of his books if somebody gave one to me, J.K. Rowling because I once hosted the Harry Potter boards on another website, and Liane Moriarty because “Three Wishes” is one of the books I’m currently reading.

    I missed Suzanne Collins even thought I’ve read and loved all three books in the Hunger Games series. I knew the book you listed was part of that series, but I honestly didn’t pay that much attention to the author’s name because I figured once I’d finished the trilogy I wouldn’t be looking for more books by the author. I’ve read several Magic Tree House books, but I always looked for those by “Magic Tree House” instead of by author. I recognized that one of the books was part of the “Game of Thrones” series, but that’s a series that’s just too cringe worthy for me, so the author isn’t one I look for by name.

    I missed Jim Butcher even though “Grave Peril” was one of his books I bought recently when they were at a special price. I haven’t read it yet, so it sort of went in one eye and out the other;)

    If you had chosen one of the other “Stephanie Plum” titles, I would have gotten Janet Evanovich, but I wasn’t aware of her other series. That’s probably something I might have discovered on the back cover of a paperback edition, but missed seeing in Kindle editions because they tend to open up where the story begins instead of in the intro pages. The up side of that is now that I know the other series exists I want to try one of the books in that series to see if I like it, so thanks. That’s what a good bookstore manager would have done had I wandered in and said, “I’ve read all the Stephanie Plum books. Any recommendations?” And that’s what I miss about all those local brick and mortar bookstores that closed up shop when Borders and Barnes & Noble moved in. So thanks!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Oh, no apologies necessary! I have no idea how well people did…outside of you and me, pretty much.😉 I did deliberately pick titles (in the top four which displayed on the Author Rank page) which were less well-known. I’m very pleased that you get to try another book! We’ve read that series…didn’t like it as much as Stephanie Plum, but it had its moments.🙂

Leave a Reply

