Name the literary decade game

Name the literary decade game

I’m terrible with time.

Oh, not in getting things done…I’m actually pretty good at that, and have successfully taught it to other people.

No, it’s in knowing how long ago something happened.

When I remember something, I don’t inherently know if it happened last year or ten years ago.

I can figure it out from internal clues, and I’m not saying I remember everything equally well…but chronology has never been my strong suit.

I think that’s why I love timelines.🙂

It’s a bit like enjoying watching an athlete play a sport that you just can’t do very well…it’s an astonishing feat!

I have a timeline for this blog for e-books and related matters:

https://ilmk.wordpress.com/timeline/

It starts in 1455…

I have another much broader (and geekier) one at my The Measured Circle blog:

The Measured Circle Pop Culture Timeline

However, that doesn’t mean I’m bad at dates, necessarily, in a trivia sense…I think I’m just bad at sequencing.

I often do things with no sequence, which surprises people. If you are in a shopping mall, and I ask you where you parked, my understanding is that most people actually visualize the path back to the car. I just know where the car is…often not visualizing it at all, if there is a stall number (3rd floor, stall 342, for example).

Regular readers know that I also don’t typically visualize when I read, which I know is also somewhat unusual.

I always remember when my Significant Other asked where a particular year’s taxes were. I said something like, “In the library, on top of the shelf  on the wall with the window, fourth stack from the right, about a third of the way up, next to something yellow.”🙂 The stacks weren’t in order: I just knew what was where in them.

So, that brings us to our little game for today.🙂

I’m going to give you some books, you tell me the decade when they were first published (we’ll go with first published in the USA, to keep this simple).

There will be eleven different quizzes, for each decade from the 1900s through the 2000s (I wanted to stop before the current decade). A decade will not be the correct answer for two different quizzes.

Oh, and I used

Random.org

to randomize the order of the questions…I find that a very useful site!

Ready? Here we go!

Name the literary decade #1

Name the literary decade #2

Name the literary decade #3

  • Brave New World
  • Of Mice & Men
  • The Good Earth

Name the literary decade #4

  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • In Cold Blood

Name the literary decade #5

  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
  • A Room with a View
  • The Tale of Peter Rabbit

Name the literary decade #6

  • Tarzan of the Apes
  • Sons and Lovers
  • The Metamorphosis

Name the literary decade #7

  • Gravity’s Rainbow
  • Interview with the Vampire
  • The Stepford Wives

Name the literary decade #8

  • A Brief History of Time
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being
  • The Joy Luck Club

Name the literary decade #9

  • The Heart is a Lonely Hunter
  • Zorba the Greek
  • A Streetcar Named Desire

Name the literary decade #10

  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  • Things Fall Apart
  • Lord of the Flies

Name the literary decade #11

  • Winnie-the-Pooh
  • The Prophet
  • The Great Gatsby

I’ll publish the answers in the next few days. Honestly? I think I would have gotten all of them.🙂 How do you think you did? You can let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

My new free Flipboard magazine, The Weird Old Days features vintage articles on ghosts, sea serpents, psychic phenomena, and more http://flip.it/ZtmYw

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

Leave a Reply

