More than just music

More than just music

I’ve been super pleased with our new benefit as Prime members

Prime Music (my post on it)

I’ve been using it a lot.

I’ve listened to several playlists, including while helping my Significant Other set up a new office at work.

We also had the instance when someone started singing a little of

Hanky Panky by Tommy Roe (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

and I was able to (quickly and for free) start playing it.

However, I like lots of different kinds of content…and that includes audio which isn’t music.

I started checking out Prime for non-music choices…and found quite a few interesting things!

Years (years!) ago, I had a vinyl record, designed to be played at 16 2/3rds RPM (Revolutions Per Minute). Most of you know 33 1/3rd, and 45, and 78…but I doubt many of you had 16 2/3rds!

The advantage? You could put a lot of content on a side.

The disadvantage? It didn’t sound very good.

However, that lack of “high fidelity” was fine…for speeches.

Yes, it was an album of great speeches…Winston Churchill, that kind of thing.

So, I was pleased to also find speeches available as part of Prime “Music”.

For example, there was this one:

Speeches By Martin Luther King: The Ultimate Collection (at AmazonSmile)

There are 32 speeches on the album, although you can also get them individually.

I can certainly this being of use to teachers, but I would also just listen to them in the car.

They don’t seem to have a separate category for speeches, but from the MLK album, I could tell they were under soundtracks. This search seems to work okay, although there are a lot of things in it which aren’t actually speeches (tracks from the score of The King’s Speech show up, for one thing):

Speech in Soundtracks in Prime Music (at AmazonSmile)

Another thing which isn’t music which you can utilize at no additional cost through Prime Music?

Language instruction.

After all, you’ll never be able to read every book in the world if you can’t read all of its languages, right?😉

Here’s one possibility:

Learn in Your Car: Spanish – Level 1 (at AmazonSmile)

Language instruction (which doesn’t work as a search term, by the way) is under Miscellaneous…but I haven’t found a good refinement. If you search for “Learn Japanese” or “Learn German”, you are likely to find a few.

Another category of record where I had a bunch of vinyl?

Sound Effects (at AmazonSmile)

That search found me seventy albums…and 4,349 “songs”!

I could just sit and listen to the sound effects from the original Star Trek all day.😉

I haven’t investigated it enough yet to know for sure, but I think you can only play Prime “Music” in the app…so you couldn’t export these for, say, a ringtone. Still, I would literally just listen to sound effect while driving, and Halloween ones could be nice at that holiday.

One big content warning: I did accidentally stumble across sexually explicit sound effect tracks and albums! I just wouldn’t have expected that, and I thought I’d give you the alert, in case your kids are exploring the sound effects (which would otherwise be fun for them).

This category was a gold mine for non-music options!

Poetry, Spoken Word, and Interviews (at AmazonSmile)

Here are some of the things I noticed:

  • John Wayne, speaking “America, Why I Love Her”
  • Dramatized Bibles
  • Abbott & Costello’s Who’s On First? routine (used to drive my Significant Other crazy that our kid at about five years old would do this routine with me)😉
  • Sleep Meditation with Deepak Chopra
  • NLP (Neurolinguistic Programming) and hypnosis selections
  • Old Time Radio Commercials (okay, a lot of these are jingles, and therefore music…but not Boris Karloff’s Greetings to Station Owners!)
  • Alec Guinness performing Macbeth (again, might be useful in the classroom)
  • Allen Ginsberg reading The End
  • Tonsils by Bill Cosby (quite a few tracks, but this is one I particularly remember)
  • There are some great cuts on 100 of the Greatest Comedy Skits (not sure they are all safe for work, though). You might want to try “Little Blue Riding Hood” by Stan Freberg. Note (and update): I didn’t realize that not all of the cuts on this album are Prime Music, but many of them are

Enjoy!

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

My new free Flipboard magazine, The Weird Old Days features vintage articles on ghosts, sea serpents, psychic phenomena, and more http://flip.it/ZtmYw

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

9 Responses to “More than just music”

  1. Connie Abbitt Says:

    Thanks, Bufo. I would never figure all this out for myself in a million years!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Connie!

      Yay! That’s exactly the kind of thing I like to hear…and now you have a lot more kinds of things to hear, too.😉

  2. Harold Delk Says:

    Prime Music is great! It would be so much better if it worked on an original Kindle Fire. Do you know why it cannot be used on a device that appears to have everything needed to work. The older Amazon Music streaming worked fine. Oh, and I do remember 16 2/3; it was used primarily for transcription, speeches, and many PSA’s came on them that we used on radio.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      They may eventually get it to the first gen Kindle Fire. It’s a really different version of the operating system, so my guess is that they need to tailor the app to it…and might just not have done that yet.

      What did you do in radio? I’ve only been involved with that as a guest.

      Edited to add: have you tried listening to it in a browser on your Kindle Fire 1st Generation? That might work…

      http://www.primemusic.com

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I too have been playing around with Prime Music on my KFHD 8.9. I only put things in my library if 1) I liked it, and 2) it was free (you have the option of buying a lot of titles that aren’t free as well). After an hour I looked up and my library had over 150 titles in it from Disco, Oldies (50’s/60’s), 80’s Pop, and “Great America Songbook” genres — not too shabby!

    One thing missing (I think) no way to get metadata about songs (writers, publication date, artist bios, etc)

    Question: is there any linkage between Amazon Cloud Drive, and Amazon Music?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      There is a connection between the Cloud Player and Amazon Music, but I’m not quite sure if that’s your question…

      Amazon says:

      “You might notice that our brand is gradually changing. The MP3 Store is now the Digital Music Store. In addition, our music playback applications will now be called Amazon Music. If you had an existing Cloud Player account, it will become an Amazon Music account and your music library and music settings will remain the same. You can find your Cloud Player music by clicking “Your Music Library” on the site or visiting http://www.amazon.com/musiclibrary.”

  4. Lady Galaxy Says:

    So far the only downside I’ve discovered is that I can’t seem to find a way to buy individual tracks from digital albums available for “free listening.” The advantage of MP3 sales is that you no longer have to take Yoko along with John. If there’s only one track on a CD you like, for the most part, you can buy that track and leave the rest go. Already, I’ve discovered a few tracks on albums I’ve been enjoying through whatever the cloud player is called now. I’d like to purchase those tracks to burn to CD to listen to in the car. The only buying option I see is to buy the whole album. It could be there’s still a way to buy individual tracks that I’ve just not discovered yet. Or maybe part of the deal is that individual tracks can’t be sold on the prime albums. I have been noticing lately that more and more albums had certain songs that could only download if you bought the whole thing.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      To my right of where it says “+Add to Library” on a single track for Prime Music, there is a dropdown. Clicking or tapping that gives me the option to buy it…

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Thanks! I never even noticed that.

Leave a Reply

