Sign up for a newsletter, get a book free

Sign up for a newsletter, get a book free

Amazon must know that when you sign up for a free newsletter from them, you are more likely to buy books (or perhaps, other things).

After all, it costs them money to produce them…and now, they are having promotions where, when you sign up for the newsletter, you can get a free e-book (from a certain set).

However, you can’t just keep signing up for different newsletters and get a bunch of books: typically, if you are subscribed to any newsletter already, you are ineligible.

For example, there is the Teen & Young Adult Newsletter:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=amb_link_416972742_2?ie=UTF8&docId=1002656771&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=merchandised-search-3&pf_rd_r=1J84PCY5S68QYNS1P18K&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1818396342&pf_rd_i=154606011

It says:

“Until 11:59 p.m. (PT) June 29, 2014, first-time subscribers who are not currently subscribed to any Kindle newsletter qualify for a promotional credit to get one selected Kindle book for free (choose from one of the selected Kindle books below)”

You can choose between

  • Remnants: Season of Wonder by Lisa Tawn Bergren
  • Cursed by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Extracted (The Last Imperials) by Sherry D. Ficklin, Tyler Hall Jolley

For the Kids Newsletter, you can pick between

  • Desmond Pucket Makes Monster Magic by Mark Tartulli
  • Snoopy: Cowabunga! by Charles M. Schulz
  • Diary of a Real Payne Book 1: True Story by Annie Tipton

Sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal, and you have twelve choices, including one I’ve actually bought before:

Review: Brain Rules

Want a complete list of possible e-mail subscriptions from Amazon (not just Kindle, but all of them)?

Browse E-mail Subscriptions (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I’m not eligible: I already subscribe to a newsletter (and have for years).

Choose carefully…but enjoy!😉

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

7 Responses to “Sign up for a newsletter, get a book free”

  1. Brian Hartman Says:

    Any idea why Image Comics are no longer on Kindle? Is is like a Hachette thing (in which I totally support Amazon trying to keep the price low– one of the 3 tenets)? I went to get some more issues of Stray Bullets and Volume 3 of Saga but they’re all gone…

    Keep up the good work!
    PS BTW I would’ve liked to read the library ebook article you referenced in your Flipboard Articles piece, but the app is not available to 1st gen Fires. I was able to find it online the next day.

    Again, you’re the best! Brian Hartman

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Brian!

      Thanks for the kind words!

      I’m not seeing anything that would suggest that. Image isn’t part of one of the Big 5 publishers, as far as I know…and the comics are still available through Comixology (which Amazon bought).

      Looking at Image at Amazon, I see several that are available, including the first Stray Bullets. However, the other Stray Bullets don’t look like they are available new from Amazon. With the Hachette thing, it hasn’t been every book, so it might be that. I’ll keep checking.

      Do you use Comixology? That might be an option.

  2. Brian Hartman Says:

    Hi Bufo, thanks for the quick reply. There are (were?) a LOT more image graphic novels available than the few I wanted. Hundreds are gone. A search of image comics in the Kindle store would yield 300 if not many more. I don’t use the Comixology app, not a fan at all. I get my monthly fix from my local guy, but always troll the Kindle store for deals. Last Thanksgiving weekend (I think…) DC had about 15 graphic novels for 1.99. I got the first two volumes of Saga for a similarly low price,can’t remember it exactly, <$4.

    You once asked if Kindleers still read DTPs. I do when it comes to comics. Current ones are about 12 1/4" diagonally and I still have a problem reading wordy ballons. When we were buying them they were 13-14" (albeit with a margin around the page–those were the days…)

    I didn't mean tp imply any connection between Image and Hachette save a similar negotiation taking place. It's unusual to see most of a publisher's offerings removed.

    Thanks for the FireDeal heads-up; didn't get one but it's fun to play!–Brian

  3. Brian Hartman Says:

    Quick addition: If you go on the computer to Kindle Store->eBooks->Comics and Graphic Novels, you’ll see that image (do they still use the lower-case “i”?) has been removed from “Featured Publishers.”

    Haven’t read anything about it anywhere, which is why I brought it to you.

    I apologize for typos, I’ve gotta’ run…

  4. Brian Hartman Says:

    Hi again, Bufo. I finally found something that seems reasonably plausible: http://bentrubewriter.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/graphicly-folds-image-comics-kindle-editions-disappear-from-amazon-store/

    It would be sad because image is the third largest comic publisher, and they have a disproportionate number of award-winning books. A great loss, in my opinion. I think Saga was best comic of the year last year.- Brian

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Brian!

      I really appreciate you finding that! I’m going to flip it (into Flipboard), and I’ll probably write about it on the next Round-up.

Leave a Reply

