“Back to School” Kindle Fire sale…in July?

“Back to School” Kindle Fire sale…in July?

I don’t even think that if they mean summer school that makes sense.😉

Still, it’s a good sale, even if I don’t understand the way Amazon labeled the sale. They actually have that label in more than one place…maybe people are shopping now for the fall year? Maybe it’s for modular schedules? Oh, well…

Back to School store (at AmazonSmile)

You can get $50 off some Kindle tablets (and $30 off some) and 20% off some accessories:

Kindle Fire HD 7″ (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

From that page, you can choose the configuration you want:

  • 8 GB, with or without Special Offers, $20 off (as low as $119)
  • 16 GB, with or without Special Offers, $40 off (as low as $129)

Kindle Fire HDX 7″ (at AmazonSmile)

  • 16 or 32 GB, with or without Special Offers, with or without 4G, $30 off (as low as $199)
  • 64 GB, with or without Special Offers, with or without 4G, $50 off (as low as $259)

Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″ (at AmazonSmile)

  • Any configuration $40 off (as low as $339)

What do I have? The Kindle Fire HDX 7″ with 16GB and Special Offers without 4G, but different people will have different use cases.

I don’t put a lot of movies and such on my device at a time, so the memory has never been an issue for me.

I tried using 4G for a year…it wasn’t worth it for me (you have to pay for a data plan for that). There’s just too much wi-fi in my area to make it a big issue.

I like having the Special Offers…and that’s especially true on the Fire. They do these Limited Time Offers (often, they sell out in seconds…and you get maybe an hour’s warning that it’s going to start)…we’ve literally saved hundreds of dollars that way.

I prefer the HDX over the HD for a number of reasons, not the least of which is Mayday, the live onscreen help option.

I’ve had a Kindle Fire with a bigger screen…I didn’t find that the extra weight and awkwardness of carrying it was worth it for me. I do have the

Amazon Fire TV (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

so it’s easy to throw it on a big screen if I want to do that.

Weirdly, I can’t easily find which accessories are 20% off. There would normally be a link or a section promoted on the main accessories page.

This is advertised as a limited time sale, and may not apply in your country. As always, check before you click or tap that Buy button.

To Kill a Mockingbird (at AmazonSmile) is now for sale legally as an e-book…and at time of writing, it’s only $3.95!

Definitely think about this one as a gift (the price will likely go back up…this is probably a result of price competition at launch)…you can delay the delivery to a date you choose. It’s also a good one for your guest Kindle.

Right now, it’s number 113 paid in the Kindle store. I’ve said I think it may be one of the bestselling e-books of the year, and I’m sticking with that. I think it will have legs (keep selling for a long time), and again, should see an upsurge at gift-giving times.

There was a time when a lot of people were surprised by how expensive older books could be for the Kindle, but I’d say there are some bargains out there now.

I ran a search for literature classics prices from $0.99 to $3.99, and tried to filter out public domain titles:

Under $4 classics (at AmazonSmile)

I did this using

eReaderIQ

which I consider the most valuable resource on the web for Kindleers (I am not associated with that site except as a user, although we have had some correspondence).

Some titles standing out to me in the search:

  • Marathon Man by William Goldman for $2.51 (I wouldn’t consider this a classic, but the publishers get to define the categories for marketing reasons)
  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck for $3.50
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston for $1.99
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck for $2.50
  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath for $2.99
  • As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner for $2.50
  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (that was one of the most wanted on Kindle for a while) for $2.99

If you’d pay that much for a new book and you haven’t read one of these (or you want to re-read it…or give it a gift), why not pay for one that has stood the test of time?

I can tell that, at least in this case, excluding public domain didn’t work very well.🙂 Many of the books in the search results are in the public domain (not under copyright protection). You can often find those free: but it can be nice to have, say, 10 books in a series in a single volume. That kind of thing is showing up a lot.

Enjoy!

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to ““Back to School” Kindle Fire sale…in July?”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Actually, Amazon is a little late with their back to school sale. While we used to think of Aug/Sep as BTS, Sep-Dec is now considered holiday. BTS starts May/June runs through Aug. Target stores are in the process of taking down their garden/patio displays and replacing them with their special school supplies section.

    Technology players strive to announce any products targeted at BTS in May latest June. By the time you get to August heavy discounting has set in. Here in Florida school starts up again mid-August — kids don’t hardly get any summer vac anymore (:grin)

  2. Brenda G. Says:

    Bufo,
    When you had the Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″, were you satisfied with it, other than the weight? I have a small laptop that I’ve been using for when we go down South in the winter months, but it is not working correctly and I’m wondering if the Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″ would work just as well for me if I have to purchase something new? Mainly to use for email, searching the web, maybe for photo storage.
    Thanks!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Brenda!

      I had an 8.9″ HD, not HDX…and yes, I was satisfied with it. I tried to use that instead of a laptop, and it just wasn’t sufficient.

      An HDX is better as a replacement, but I still find that working between programs is a lot harder. Copy and paste is more difficult, and seeing two programs at the same time is not an option.

      For what you describe, it would work fine…although photo storage really should be done in the Cloud, in my opinion. I’m not sure why the 8.9″ would be better than the 7″ for you? One thing you’d like, I think: speech-to-text for those e-mails. I find the dictation feature on the HDX’s works quite well.

      • Brenda G. Says:

        Thanks for your thoughts. Yes, I do use photo storage in the cloud, but I also like to have some of the current ones on the device (especially where wi-fi is spotty). I do have a 7″ tablet, but find doing email, etc. on it not as easy as on a larger screen. I hadn’t thought of the speech-to-text feature-that would be something to think about. I might end up going with another laptop for the vacation months–I know my husband would find it easier to use.

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    The school calendar has changed in many locations. Our public school calendar states that the first day of school is “Monday, August 4, 2014 (Pupils attend FULL DAY).”

Leave a Reply

