50 Kindle books for $2 each

50 Kindle books for $2 each

It’s possible to become jaded to sales in the Kindle store…there are so many of them, and the prices are often quite low even when books aren’t on sale.

Right now, there are more than half a million books in the USA Kindle store that are two dollars or less, for example.

This sale:

50 Kindle books for $2 each (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

though, has some interesting elements to it.

First, they all look to me to be traditionally published by Amazon.

When I say “traditionally published”, I mean that Amazon chose the book…the publisher didn’t just put the book in the store without it being editorially evaluated, which is what happens when books go through Kindle Direct Publishing.

In my experience with Amazon’s traditionally published books, they’ve felt professionally done: not a lot of typos, for example.

Tradpubbed by Amazon also means that they will generally have the extra features: they’ll be available in the KOLL (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library); they’ll have text-t0-speech available; they’ll be lending enabled; and they may have X-Ray and Whispersync for Voice.

So, this sale is a good opportunity to get professionally produced books with the extras for a low price.

Second…I’ve read some of them.🙂

I do read some pretty obscure books, but it’s possible that you will also have heard of some of these.

Here are a few of them which caught my eye:

How Dogs Love Us: A Neuroscientist and His Adopted Dog Decode the Canine Brain (at AmazonSmile)
by Gregory Berns
4.2 stars out of 5, 323 customer reviews
non-fiction, neuroscience

I read this one and enjoyed it quite a bit. It’s not a technical book…there is quite a bit about how they were able to get the experiment approved and get conscious dogs to stay still in an MRI (it can be hard to get people to do that).

Apocalypse Z: The Beginning of the End (at AmazonSmile)
by Manuel Loureiro
4.2 stars, 2182 reviews
fiction-horror

I read this one, too: my mini-review is in this post:

Round up #185: royal librarian, B&N CEO steps down

I said, in part:

“Overall, I found it an engaging, fast read. It will be too violent for some, but it isn’t just gore for gore’s sake. It’s much more about how the character reacts than it is about that. I always like to let people know about the use of the “F word”, and that’s here, but not really out of place. I have a lot more trouble with books that just indicate everybody is horrible, and that isn’t the case here. I like that.”

Two other books in the series are also available as part of the sale: Dark Days; and The Wrath of the Just

That means that for $6, you could get yourself (or somebody else…you can delay a Kindle gift being delivered until an appropriate gift giving occasion) three novels in a series, all rated four stars or above.

The Boy from Reactor 4 (The Nadia Tesla Series, Book One) (at AmazonSmile)
by Orest Stelmach
4.0 stars, 750 reviews
mysteries, thrillers, and suspense – espionage

The Boy Who Stole from the Dead, the second book of the series, is also available as part of this sale for $2.

The Palace Job (at AmazonSmile)
by Patricia Weekes
4.0 stars, 169 reviews
mystery, thrillers, and suspense – science fiction & fantasy

A heist caper…with elves!

Midnight Train to Paris (at AmazonSmile)
by Julliette Sobanet
3.9 stars, 233 reviews
romance – time travel (yes, that’s a category)

Starship Grifters (A Rex Nihilo Adventure) (at AmazonSmile)
by Robert Kroese
4.5 stars, 60 reviews
science fiction – space opera

I’m tempted by this one! I do like humorous science fiction, such as Bill, the Galactic Hero.🙂 The reviews make it sound like it might be fun.

Blood Makes Noise (at AmazonSmile)
by Gregory Widen
4.0 stars, 232 reviews
historical fiction – mystery, thriller, and suspense

I wouldn’t say the title or cover engaged me, but the author and premise both do. Gregory Widen is a screenwriter, known in my kind of geek circles for Highlander (“In the end, there can be only one.”). The story is based on true events surrounding the body of Eva Peron…and the CIA’s involvement with it.

The Hiccupotamus (at AmazonSmile)
by Aaron Zenz
4.3 stars, 323 reviews
children’s, mammals

An illustrated children’s book…with text-to-speech enabled…and well-reviewed…for $2!

The Basement (at AmazonSmile)
by Stephen Leather
3.7 stars, 210 reviews
mystery, thriller, and suspense – hard boiled – serial killers

I’ve read another book by Stephen Leather. I wasn’t crazy about it, but it was worth reading.

Enjoy!

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “50 Kindle books for $2 each”

  1. Cassandras Email Says:

    Take a look….

    Cassie

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Cassie!

      Sorry…take a look at what for what?

      I did find an error in the post and fixed that, but I don’t know if that’s what you wanted me to see.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    My recommendation out of that group of 50 is “The Lion in the Lei Shop.” It is set in Pearl Harbor and follows the lives of the women and children of the military men who were killed or put into instant combat due to the bombing of Pearl Harbor. The writer successfully tells the story through the eyes of both the mother and the daughter. It’s interesting the way she captures how two people can see the same event but remember different or even conflicting details.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I appreciate that! I’d noticed the book, but didn’t list it…you recommending it may give someone a good read they didn’t expect.🙂

  3. alliemda Says:

    I’m sorry I’m coming to this so late in the game, but I wanted to point out that EVERY SINGLE ONE of those “2 dollar books” are available to be checked out for free via the “Kindle Owners’ Library.”
    I read way more than one book a month so it’s not particularly helpful to me, but other potential buyers might want to keep this tidbit in mind. Hope it helps.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, alliemda!

      No need to apologize.🙂 It’s worth pointing it out again. I did say in the post that they were part of the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library:

      “Tradpubbed by Amazon also means that they will generally have the extra features: they’ll be available in the KOLL (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library); they’ll have text-t0-speech available; they’ll be lending enabled; and they may have X-Ray and Whispersync for Voice.”

      but your comment pointed out to me that I didn’t define what that means this time. I write about it quite a bit, and it’s good to be reminded that someone might not know exactly what that means.

      These are “2 dollar books”…$2 to own, which is different from borrowing them. I have myself borrowed a book and then bought it. As you point out, you can’t have two books borrowed from the KOLL (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library) at the same time, and that’s one reason.

      I’d say for myself that I probably haven’t borrowed a book which I would otherwise have bought: I typically borrow things from the KOLL which I wouldn’t have bought otherwise, but I’m sure different people use the KOLL different ways.

      I appreciate you wanting to help other people, and I’m sure your comment will alert some people who might have missed it reading the post.

Leave a Reply

