August 2014 Kindle book releases

August 2014 Kindle book releases

While I don’t generally pre-order Kindle store books myself, I know many of you do.

I understand the fun of just having the book show up, but I figure I’ll order when I want it…since I could have it within a minute, usually.…

These aren’t necessarily the most popular of the pre-orders…I’m just going to list ones that catch my eye. Since we might not agree on that, here’s a link to the 3,683 (at time of writing) August releases in the USA Kindle store:

August 2014 USA Kindle store releases (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

As usual, I won’t be deliberately linking to books which block text-to-speech access blocked**.

One interesting thing before I get into some individual titles: the first four (sorted by new and popular) are the

Kindle First (at AmazonSmile)

picks for this month!

Since Prime members can already be reading one of these (even though they aren’t officially released until August) at no additional cost, you can see how that would drive up their popularity as compared to actual pre-orders. Still, I think that’s the first time.

The other thing is that there are some Kindle Worlds titles way up on the list, and those are part of Kindle Unlimited. I’m concerned (and I’ve alerted Amazon about it) that people are confused: they think they are pre-ordering a KU borrow, when they are actually pre-ordering a purchase. In other words, they may be thinking they’ll get the book at no additional cost, and actually be charged for it. Amazon has confirmed for me: you can not pre-order a borrow from KU.

Okay…books!

Night Moves (at AmazonSmile)
by Nora Roberts
pre-order for August 4 (first Kindle issue of 1985 title)
romance – historical
$5.38

One of the most popular authors…period.

The Evolution and Equilibrium of Copyright in the Digital Age (Cambridge Intellectual Property and Information Law) (at AmazonSmile)
edited by Susy Frankel and Daniel Gervais
pre-order for August 31
law – intellectual property
$76.80

Okay, this isn’t for everybody…but I don’t like to just list super popular books.🙂 There are quite a few books from Cambridge being released on August 31st in the USA Kindle store.

Doing It (at AmazonSmile)
by Melvin Burgess
pre-order for August 31
fiction – young adult
$7.99

This is a Carnegie medal winning young adult novel (think the Newbery in the USA), but it sounds like it would get challenged as inappropriate a lot in school libraries…if those who would challenge can figure out the British slang.😉

Election Administration in the United States: The State of Reform after Bush v. Gore (at AmazonSmile)
edited by R. Michael Alvarez and Bernard M. Grofman
pre-order for August 31
politics
$9.99 ($85 in print)

Avian (The Dragonrider Chronicles) (at AmazonSmile)
by Nicole Conway
young adult – fantasy
$3.49

I thought it might be related to Pern…it’s not.

Captain Underpants and the Tyrannical Retaliation of the Turbo Toilet 2000 ( at AmazonSmile
by Dav Pilkey
pre-order for August 26
children’s
$7.39

Often a challenged books in libraries. There is a Captain Underpants movie scheduled for release in 2017…

Sidewinders: Bleeding Texas (at AmazonSmile)
by William W. Johnstone with J.A. Johnstone
pre-order for August 5
fiction – Western
$5.49

J.A. is Bill’s nephew (Bill died about ten years ago, I think).

The Serpent and the Rope (at AmazonSmile)
by Raja Rao (translated by John Murray
pre-order for April 15
contemporary fiction
$9.99

Enjoy!

One more thing: in preparing this small selection, I was struck by how few of the Big Five publishers books I was seeing. That seemed quite unusual, and it actually worried me that negotiations might be keeping a high number of them out of the store. That could still be the case, but I did search by HarperCollins, and by Schuster (to find Simon &), and found books from both publishers scheduled to be released in August. While there still could be some being withheld, there are some scheduled.

That could just mean that they are dropping in relative popularity, so I’m not running across them as easily…hard to say, exactly. I’ll try to keep an eye on it.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

** A Kindle with text-to-speech can read any text downloaded to it…unless that access is blocked by the publisher inserting code into the file to prevent it. That’s why you can have the device read personal documents to you (I’ve done that). I believe that this sort of access blocking disproportionately disadvantages the disabled, although I also believe it is legal (provided that there is at least one accessible version of each e-book available, however, that one can require a certification of disability). For that reason, I don’t deliberately link to books which block TTS access here (although it may happen accidentally, particularly if the access is blocked after I’ve linked it). I do believe this is a personal decision, and there  are legitimate arguments for purchasing those books. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

8 Responses to “August 2014 Kindle book releases”

  1. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    Did you get your Kindle First e-mail yet? I don’t remember getting it last month. I remember using a link on the message boards to find them and make a selection. Not sure why they wouldn’t e-mail everone at the same time.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      I haven’t gotten an e-mail yet, but I’m not sure I’ve regularly gotten them for first.

      Here’s a link:

      Kindle First (at AmazonSmile)

      Even if they sent out millions of e-mails at the same time (and staggering them may make things easier), people wouldn’t all get them at the same time. I can send an e-mail to my work address and my home address, and get it hours apart…and even have a significant separation if I send two to my work address and check it on different devices.

      No hurry on this one anyway, right? You are going to own it regardless, and they won’t run out. Of course, getting to read it before it is released can be part of the fun.🙂

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I was curious to see what would happen to the dual Prime eligible titles that are also KindleUnlimited titles. Unfortunately, the “prime” logo didn’t reappear, but at least the “Borrow for free, prime members only” button reappeared on the book’s product page in the Kindle store when viewed on a K3. I had chosen. It appears that unless Amazon changes things, the only way to tell if a book can be borrowed through Prime is to check the title page when a new borrow is an option. This frustrates me because I hate wading through the hundreds of pages of prime books on my Kindle. I live in an area where my Kindle drops the 3G connection every five pages or so, tells me I need to connect through wi-fi even though I don’t have wi-fi, then eventually finds another 3G signal. So in the past, when browsing, if I found a prime eligible book that seemed interesting, I would save it in a separate wish list so I could go back to it when the time arrived. I wish Amazon would eliminate the free prime borrow and replace it with a discount on KindleUnlimited membership for Prime members. Since many of the Prime eligible books are in the 99¢ range, that might appear to be a reasonable discount for Prime members.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      My guess is that there are contracts involved in the KOLL that complicate that…and I think a lot of people would see it as a takeaway, especially if they had to pay anything for KU. People would see that as being on top of the $20 a year increase.

      My guess is that when the contracts run out, they may include KU with Prime…we’ll see, though. KU presumably costs Amazon a lot more than the KOLL (“unlimited” borrowing versus one a calendar month), but I’ll bet it makes people a lot more loyal. I know of people who like the KOLL, but I wouldn’t say I’ve heard of very many people who love it.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I’m not willing to pay $9.99 for the current selection of books for KU, and unless they start offering things I can actually use, I’ll probably drop Prime when the price goes up. I have no problem watching Netflix streaming video, but Prime streaming video is jerky, pixilated, and frequently locks up on me. I’ve yet to pick a Kindle First that I didn’t abandon after a few chapters, and now that they’ve made it so hard to tell which books are KOLL, all that’s left is the free shipping.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        OOPS! Hit send too soon. I’m also disappointed in the Prime digital music. I can only play it on my computer while I’m online, and even with Bose headphones, the sound quality is more transister radio than digital clarity.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Just a bit more detail on this for me…

        On my Kindle Fire HDX, I do see the Kindle Owners’ Lending (apparently, there wasn’t enough room for the word “Library” in the navigation. When I go there, the icons have a banner telling they are in KU.

        Tapping on one, I get a choice to “Read and Listen Now”…not one button for KOLL and one for KU. I tapped that button…and it knocked me out of the store!

        I checked another one…this one said, “Read for Free with Kindle Unlimited” (it didn’t have Whispersync for Voice available).

        So, although I should be eligible now, I’m not seeing any way to borrow through the KOLL (More Options didn’t do it).

        Looking at one of the books in a browser, I don’t see a way to use the KOLL, either…

        That’s not the behavior I would expect, based on what Amazon told me.

Leave a Reply

