1-day sale: Paperwhite for $99

1-day sale: Paperwhite for $99

Update: my apologies, especially to those on the East Coast. I thought this had gone out hours ago, but apparently it hadn’t. Hopefully, those of you who are interested still see it in time.

The

Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High Resolution Display with Next-Gen Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is on sale today (in what Amazon is saying is “today only”) for $20 off…which makes the least expensive configuration (the one that includes Special Offers) $99…under $100.

If you don’t want advertisers to help subsidize your purchase price (in exchange for you seeing ads on the lockscreen), you can get it for $119.

The $20 off is also available (again, reportedly today only) on models with 3G and wi-fi:

Kindle Paperwhite 3G, 6″ High Resolution Display with Next-Gen Built-in Light, Free 3G + Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile)

That gives you a second way to connect to wireless (for downloading books and such). If you are in a situation where wi-fi is not available (many people have it in their homes, and a lot of busineses offer it), the 3G can allow that (at no additional cost after the initial purchase of the device).

With Special Offers, the 3G drops to $169…still $70 more than wi-fi only, but it will be worth it to some people.

Is the Paperwhite a good device?

Yes!

I use one every day, although not as much as I use my

Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

That’s not because the reading experience is better or even precisely equivalent on the HDX. It’s because the HDX does more (by design), and I need that additional functionality when I’m out and about. I just don’t want to carry another device when I can read on the HDX.

One of the main reasons I use the HDX is for text-to-speech in the car. That’s software that reads the book out loud to you. The Paperwhite, in what I consider to be its biggest drawback, does not have TTS…or audio of any kind.

However, when you do just want to sight read, I haven’t experienced a better way to do it than the Kindle Paperwhite. It’s the most comfortable reading experience I’ve ever had…including paper.

Part of that has to do with the way it is lit. It’s not lit from behind the words (“backlit”), which is the case with a Fire, a computer, or a SmartPhone. That can be uncomfortable for some people (it’s like somebody shining a flashlight into your eyes consistently), and it takes a lot of battery charge.

I charge my HDX daily…my Paperwhite literally goes for weeks without me charging it (although I really only read it in bed before going to sleep, so I don’t read on it for that long in a day).

Some other advantages the Paperwhite has over paper:

  • Increasable font size (that makes a big difference for me)
  • It’s lighter to hold the Paperwhite than most books
  • The ability to have several books easily accessible…that’s a lot neater than a stack of books next to the bed
  • Built-in dictionary look up
  • It automatically remembers where I stopped reading…even in several books (no need to look for a scrap of paper to use as a bookmark)
  • The books don’t degrade when you read them (very hard to avoid with a paperbook)
  • You can sync your location in the book with other devices on the account

Those are a few things.🙂

People always ask, “Does this portend a new model being released soon?” I’d say no…that could happen, but a discount like this has happened pretty often without it accompanying a new release.

It’s not too soon to be thinking about presents…a very merry unbirthday to you!😉

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a Reply

