Would you miss it?

Would you miss it?

I’ll explain more about this in a later post, but these excerpts from public domain books have something in common. I may have reproduced them verbatim, or I may have altered them.

Can you tell what it is?

“William Lucas, and Maria, a good-humoured child, but as empty-headed as the older Lucas, had nothing to say that could be worth hearing, and were listened to with about as much delight as the rattle of the chaise. Elizabeth loved absurdities, but had known William’s too long.”
–Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

“I went down to the front garden and clumb over the stile where you go through the high board fence. There was an inch of new snow on the ground, and I seen somebody’s tracks. They had come up from the quarry and stood around the stile a while, and then went on around the garden fence. It was funny they hadn’t come in, after standing around so. I couldn’t make it out. It was very curious, somehow. I was going to follow around, but I stooped down to look at the tracks first. I didn’t notice anything at first, but next I did. There was a cross in the left boot-heel made with big nails, to keep off the devil.”
–Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

“Yesterday, however, just as I was thinking of leaving the office, my clerk entered to say there was someone waiting who wished to see me upon business. My clerk brought up a card, too, with the name of ‘Colonel Lysander Stark’ engraved upon it. Close behind came the colonel, who was rather over the middle size, but of an exceeding thinness.”
–The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb by Arthur Conan Doyle

I have altered two of these (and I won’t claim great artfulness in having done so), and one is verbatim.

What unusual thing do they all have in common?

Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post. I’ll explain it all after people have a chance to guess.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “Would you miss it?”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Either you didn’t leave enough bread crumbs, or the birds ate them all because I’m clueless.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Good to know! That’s one of my main questions…how obvious is it? I’ll explain it in the next couple of days.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        Since I do happen to have two out of the three sources on my Kindle, I did a search to see what had been modified, and the only thing I noticed was that you seem to have eliminated personal pronouns and titles relating to gender.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        I was kind of hoping somebody wouldn’t do a comparison like that…but it’s helpful that when you did, the change was apparent. I’ll write more about this. Your comment suggests that you didn’t notice the lack of gender identification without doing the research. It wasn’t just personal pronouns and titles, by the way…I also changed “daughter” to “child”, for example.

        I would not suggest that this should be done to existing works (as I did here for illustration purposes), as I’ll explain when I post about it.

Leave a Reply

