The Big Deal: over 400 books up to 85% off through August 24th

The Big Deal: over 400 books up to 85% off through August 24th

One of my favorite things that Amazon does is the “Big Deal”, which will discount hundreds of books, generally a large amount, for a limited time.

This time:

The Big Deal (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

there are 424 at time of writing. As always, check the price before you click that Buy button. It’s possible that books will move in and out of the deal, and it may not apply in your country.

Here are some that caught my eye:

Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Legacy: Legacy Premiere v. 1 (at AmazonSmile)
by Dan Abnett (Author), Andy Lanning (Author), Paul Pelletier (Illustrator)
4.4 out of 5 stars, 38 customer reviews
graphic novels
$3.99 at time of writing

I’ve been a bit concerned about saying publicly that I didn’t really like the movie. The characters just didn’t connect for me, and I didn’t buy the dialog. I predicted a pretty big drop off for the movie at the box office privately…I’m just not sure what you could say about it that could get somebody to see it who otherwise wouldn’t see a movie where two of the main characters are a raccoon and a tree (person). That’s different from, say, Raiders of the Lost Ark or Star Wars. When we came out of it, I said I thought it might do $175 million to $200 million…which is still huge, but might be a lot less than the opening weekend would suggest. I was probably under on that, but we’ll see. This is available for both the tablets (and, interestingly, its first suggestion was to send it to my Fire Phone…wouldn’t it be tiny there?) and the non-Fire Kindles. I know in the past people would use comics as a gateway to reading for kids: they liked the movie/TV show, let’s get them to read the comics to get them to read books. I don’t know of the appropriateness of this for kids…haven’t read them. Note: text-to-speech is not available on this title. If a publisher blocks the access, that precludes me from linking to it, but this will be a case where the issue is that the text is part of the image, and can’t be parsed by the TTS software.

Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse (The Midwife Trilogy Book 2) (at AmazonSmile)
by Jennifer Worth
4.6 stars, 654 reviews
biographies & memoirs
$1.99

In a bit of a twist, books two and three are in this sale…but book one isn’t. I still think that could work: people might be inspired to buy book one at a higher price if the later ones in the series are on sale…provided they already know they have interest. When a book is the basis for a TV show like this, that could certainly be the case.

True Detective (Nathan Heller Novels) (at AmazonSmile)
by Max Allan Collins
4.3 stars, 113 reviews
mystery, thriller and suspense – hard-boiled
$1.99
Available as part of Kindle Unlimited

Note: this is not connected to the recent TV series.

Some others:

  • Collision of Empires: The War on the Eastern Front in 1914 (General Military) by Prit Buttar
  • The Big Four (Hercule Poirot series Book 5) by Agatha Christie
  • The Long War (Long Earth Book 2) by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter
  • The God Complex: A Thriller by Murray McDonald
  • Locked Doors (Andrew Z. Thomas/Luther Kite Series Book 2) by Blake Crouch
  • The Wicked Wallflower (Wallflower Trilogy Book 1) by Maya Rodale
  • A Burnable Book: A Novel by Bruce Holsinger
  • The Complete Wardstone Trilogy by M. R. Mathias
  • The Case of the Sulky Girl (Perry Mason Series Book 2) by Erle Stanley Gardner (available through Kindle Unlimited)
  • Murder Strikes a Pose (A Downward Dog Mystery) by Tracy Weber
  • Sextant: A Young Man’s Daring Sea Voyage and the Men Who Mapped the World’s Oceans by David Barrie
  • Dirty Daddy: The Chronicles of a Family Man Turned Filthy Comedian by Bob Saget
  • Independence: The Struggle to Set America Free by John Ferling
  • Profit Over People: Neoliberalism and Global Order by Noam Chomsky
  • The Queen’s Man: A John Shakespeare Mystery by Rory Clements
  • More Stories from the Twilight Zone by Rod Serling and Anne Serling (available through Kindle Unlimited) I read the first of these…I’ll plan to borrow it through KU
  • Back in Society (The Poor Relation Series Book 6) by M. C. Beaton (available through Kindle Unlimited)
  • Earthlight (Arthur C. Clarke Collection) by Arthur C. Clarke
  • A Season to Remember by Carson Tinker
  • Amy, My Daughter by Mitch Winehouse
  • Unnatural Acts (Dan Shamble, Zombie PI) by Kevin J Anderson
  • Supernatural: John Winchester’s Journal by Alex Irvine (yes, tied into the TV series)
  • Powerful Phrases for Dealing with Difficult People: Over 325 Ready-To-Use Words and Phrases For Working With Challenging… by Renèe Evenson
  • The Wisdom of the Myths: How Greek Mythology Can Change Your Life by Luc Ferry
  • Night Gallery by Rod Serling, Jim Benson and Scott Skelton (available through Kindle Unlimited)
  • Managing Your Mind: The Mental Fitness Guide by Gillian Butler and Tony Hope
  • After Auschwitz: A Love Story by Brenda Webster
  • Von Ryan’s Express (RosettaBooks Into Film Book 22) by David Westheimer
  • The Self Illusion: How the Social Brain Creates Identity by Bruce Hood
  • Flintlock by William W. Johnstone and J.A. Johnstone
  • The Boer War (Winston Churchill Early Works Collection) by Winston Churchill
  • Samurai – The World of the Warrior by Stephen Turnbull
  • The Man by Irving Wallace, David Wallechinsky and James Earl Jones
  • My Gun Has Bullets (Charlie Willis Book 1) by Lee Goldberg (available through Kindle Unlimited)
  • The Wild Girls (Outspoken Authors) by Ursula K. Le Guin (available through Kindle Unlimited)
  • A Different Mirror for Young People: A History of Multicultural America by Ronald Takaki
  • Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite
  • Foul Ball (RosettaBooks Sports Classics) by Jim Bouton
  • The Twenty-four Hour Mind: The Role of Sleep and Dreaming in Our Emotional Lives by Rosalind Cartwright (I was a lucid dreamer and would also make a (largely successful) effort to remember my dreams upon waking…keeping a diary. Later, the hypothesis came to me that dreaming was like “defragging the disk” on a computer. It enabled you to run programs you wouldn’t typically use in real life ((but that you might need at some time)), to organize your day thoughts, and to clean things up. I stopped trying to remember my dreams, and I think I can say my memory is pretty good.🙂 Of course, it might have been anyway…
  • The Excellent Doctor Blackwell: The Life of the First Woman Physician by Julia Boyd
  • The Bling Ring: How a Gang of Fame-Obsessed Teens Ripped Off Hollywood and Shocked the World by Nancy Jo Sales
  • Stuff Every American Should Know by Denise Kiernan and Joseph D’Agnese
  • Television Fast Forward: Sequels & Remakes of Cancelled Series by Lee Goldberg (available through Kindle Unlimited)

It was interesting to me how many books there were by a single author or in the same series: the Perry Mason books, M.C. Beaton, and so on. I’m also intrigued to find books in KU listed here. On the one hand, people might think that Amazon wouldn’t want to promote books during a sale that many people don’t have to buy…but it’s sort of the opposite. They are promoting KU by putting the books in where people are shopping. Somebody might see those books, and think, “You know, I could spend $1.99 each and get five Perry Masons…or maybe I should just try KU.” Right now, you could read all five of those during your first free month…and then decide from there about the future of KU for you. Those books won’t cost that next month: they’ll be more expensive. So, joining KU, you are likely to compare your savings to the more expensive price, not the sale price, which is reasonable…you don’t want to have to wait for a sale.

Enjoy!

Any others in the group to which you want to alert me and/or my readers? Feel free to comment on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

4 Responses to “The Big Deal: over 400 books up to 85% off through August 24th”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    You mentioned lucid dreaming. I thought you might find this article interesting. Your lucid dreaming ability might be one of the reasons why you are so good at problem solving.
    http://medicalxpress.com/news/2014-08-lucid-dreamers-greater-insight-life.html

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Interesting article! Since I rarely remember my dreams now, I’m not sure if I’m still a lucid dreamer…or if that even goes away. I certainly was at one point, and it’s a fascinating phenomenon. I might have written about this before, but one way I knew I was dreaming was that I would recognize that I was in a particular used bookstore…which I knew didn’t actually exist (although I visited it several times in my dreams).

      The dreams still followed rules: you can’t just do whatever you want. I think the most useful ability, though, was to rewind the dream to a particular decision point and make a different choice. Like a Choose Your Own Adventure, though, even doing something different might still end me up in the same spot.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I used to have several recurring dreams. Eventually, I was able to recognize the pattern and either tell myself I was dreaming or steer the dream in a different direction. Now that I have some major problems with insomnia, I’m less likely to remember dreams. I still keep a dream journal, and I still like to try to analyze those dreams that I do remember.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        That makes you a lucid dreamer, too! The basic definition is being aware that it is a dream.

        Insomnia can be a serious medical condition, and I’m not going to give you medical advice!🙂 From what I understand about dreaming, trying to remember your dreams may contribute to a difficulty in sleeping. If sleep is being used to organize your brain (“defrag the disk”), and instead of letting it stay in the subconscious for filing you keep it in the conscious mind, that might require more defrag work…might make the sleep less valuable.

        This isn’t the same, but I’ll give you a tip I’ve given several people who have trouble falling asleep (again, I know that’s not the same).

        You know when you are trying to get to sleep and you twitch? That’s the conscious mind turning control of the body over to the sleeping mind, as I understand it. It’s what keeps you from acting out your dreams while you are asleep (most of the time). The trick? Don’t move after the twitch! If you do, your conscious mind takes over again, and the transfer process has to start over. It can take me a lot of work to get to sleep, and that really helped me.

Leave a Reply

