5 years of ILMK

5 years of ILMK

August 28, 2009: the I Love My Kindle blog begins with this post:

Oh…um, Hi!

It has been an amazing journey…a five year mission indeed!

I would guess I’ve written something like the equivalent of forty 200 page books…you know,not quite Stephen King speed, but up there.😉

While I’m certainly proud of a lot of what I’ve written, I have to say that one of the best parts (and one that I didn’t really anticipate) is the interactions I’ve had with my readers. There are many people who regularly read and comment on this blog, and I’ve had some very thoughtful discussions with them. I really appreciate it when they disagree with me (respectfully, as is almost always the case), and when they point out ways the blog could be better (including typos and other errors or omissions).

This blog would not be what it is (one of the most popular blogs of any kind in the Kindle store), and I wouldn’t be what I am, without  them.

Thank you.

Thanks also go to those who subscribe through the Kindle store…that’s part of what it makes it possible for me to devote this much time and energy to writing I Love My Kindle! Thanks, subscribers!

More thanks to people who follow links on this blog…it may be to buy something from Amazon (including gift cards) or to be exposed to something I’ve suggested. The latter lets me help  out people and organizations I find interesting.

Let me also thank those of you who read the blog, but haven’t yet followed a link or subscribed. You never have to do either to be part of the energy that feeds this galloping Pegasus of literary pixels!😉

In order to make my thanks a bit more tangible, I’ve made as many of my Kindle store books free as I could for August 28th!

Please check that a title is free for you before buying it.

I have asked Amazon to make them free on August 28, but I can’t say exactly when it will happen. I think they may also only be free to customers in the USA.

So, you can click on the titles before, but please make sure it is free when you click the 1-click buy button.

The Mind Boggles: A Unique Book of Quotations (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

When this one was first published in December of 2012, it was the number one bestselling book of quotations at Amazon…including paper! That didn’t last long, but it was fun while it did. :)

Love Your First Generation Kindle Fire: The ILMK Guide to Amazon’s Entertablet (at AmazonSmile)

This one has been a bestseller. It was written before the Kindle Fire HDs and HDXs, so it doesn’t match up exactly with those. If you do have the first generation Fire, though, I think you’ll find it useful.

The Kindle Kollection: Three Early Books about the Kindle (at AmazonSmile)

This one combines the three below into one volume:

* ILMK! (I Love My Kindle): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor
* Free Books for Your Kindle
* Frequently Asked Kindle Questions

Note: especially check the price on this one. I was having trouble getting the book to be free, and I’m not sure it took. If it didn’t, I’ll offer it free later, and let you know.

Update: the issue was that you can’t a book free under this promotion program on the first day or the last day of its enrollment period. I have now made it free for Saturday, August 30th…but again, verify before you buy.🙂

ILMK! (I Love My Kindle!): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor (Revised Edition)(at AmazonSmile)

This has some fun stuff…and other things that are out of date. If you want The Happy Little Bookworm, this one has it. :)

The Collected I Love My Kindle Blog Volume 1 (at AmazonSmile)

This is the first 101 posts in this blog. :) I did 101 posts so I wouldn’t cut off Doctor Watson’s Blog: A Kindle Abandoned (which is a four-part story). I’m coming up on the five year anniversary of the blog, and I’m considering doing a “best of” book. I’d include the posts that are less time-dependent, I think…if you have any opinions on ones that you remember, feel free to let me know.

Remember, double-check that they are  free to make sure before buying. Since they are also in Kindle Unlimited, you may see a zero price showing, but it won’t be zero near the Buy button.

Enjoy!

I’d also like to ask you for a favor.

I plan to put together a book of the best of the first five years of this blog, and I hope to have  it done for the holiday season.

I know some of you have been with me from the beginning, and certainly, others who have joined us later have been quite involved.

Choosing the posts for the “best of” book is going to  be a challenge. My natural tendency is…to put in too many.😉

What I’d like you to do, if you are so inclined, is to let me know which posts stand out to you. You don’t need to give me any times or dates…just comment on this post and say something like, “I liked the Star Trek parody,” or “I’m still thinking about the permanent copyright post.” That would help me in choosing.

If you want me to keep your comment private (posts may have affected some of you in ways you’d rather not share with the rest of my readers), please let me know at the top of your comment.

Also, although I’d like to include comments to the posts, I think it’s better if I don’t put those in the book (that wasn’t where people intended them to go when they wrote them). I plan to link to the posts, and people will be able to see your comments that way. When the book is published (and I’ll let you know when) there will be a forum on the Amazon product page for it, and of course, you’ll have the opportunity to do a review (again, only if you want to do that). It will be part of Kindle Unlimited…borrowing it is fine with me.😉

So again, thank you for half a decade of ILMK! I look forward to our time together in the future.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

19 Responses to “5 years of ILMK”

  1. Zebras Says:

    Happy Fifth Anniversary, Bufo. You’ve really made my Kindle experience much richer!

  2. Amy Says:

    Congratulations on five years! That is quite an achievement. I still enjoy your blog, even though I skip the ones you write about tablets instead of readers.😉 Thank you for continuing to write.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Amy!

      I appreciate that, and I understand skipping some posts. I try to keep things varied, so everybody gets something.

  3. CatReader Says:

    Please include A Kindle Carol and the Happy Little Bookworm.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, CatReader!

      Thanks so much for mentioning A Kindle Carol! That’s one of the ones that really feels the most like “traditional writing” to me. The Happy Little Bookworm is perhaps the one on which I’ve gotten the most positive feedback.

  4. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Congrats on reaching such a milestone! I can’t remember when I first subscribed to this blog, and I can’t find the info on Amazon because I’ve had to unsubscribe and resubscribe several times due to the old failure to download problem. When a reset of the Kindle doesn’t work, that’s the only other way I’ve found to correct it. Anyways, my favorite articles are the ones where you write about books. One of my favorites that I “bookmarked” is “Judge a book by its jury.” I’d definitely like to see that one included in a compilation. I’d also like to see a new article where you comment on the ways this blog has evolved over the years, perhaps comparing and contrasting the first year with the fifth year.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Interesting choice! That one wouldn’t have occurred to me right away…perhaps because its relatively recent (but that shouldn’t be a barrier), perhaps because I was in a particularly emotional state right then (at least for me)…which isn’t always conducive to memory.

      I was considering adding an essay or two…some new material. I’m not quite sure about contrasting the blog in the first year and the second…I’ll think about that. I think perhaps comparing the issues would be interesting. For example, the issue of e-books versus p-books was big in the beginning…now, there may be more concern about the “society” (lawsuits, payment models) around e-books than what the medium is.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        Unfortunately, my bookmarks to older favorites are stored on a computer that will only start up in “safe mode,” and you can’t go online in safe mode. I think a clean system install might get it back up and running full steam, but I’ve got a bunch of other stuff I need to do on the old computer before I risk losing it all in a system reinstall gone wrong.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        What browser are you using? You may be able to export your bookmarks even in safe mode, but I’m not sure.

  5. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo, congratulations on your fifth year anniversary! Your “Best Of” book should definitely include the “Prime Car” post and your interview of the Kindle’s Text To Speech voice, September Day I think her name was.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      Those are two good suggestions! I happened to mention that interview to some people today, coincidentally.

  6. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Oh, I was also thinking an “evolution” of the Kindle might make an interesting chapter. Perhaps you could find all the entries where you introduced the next version, from K1 through Paperwhite. I’m still not sure if the Fire is a true Kindle. I’ve never used one, but it seems more like a tablet with a Kindle app than a true Kindle.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I do consider it a “true Kindle”, myself. I do the vast majority of my reading on a Fire (although I also read on a Paperwhite). While it does a lot of other things, it can be used (and I think often is) to read e-books.

      I would have preferred that they not name it a Kindle, but since they have…

  7. Jill Mora Says:

    Happy 5th! It’s hard to believe it’s been five years. I’ve enjoyed the time spent reading your articles and appreciated the “heads up” on the Kindle special deals! Congrats!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jill!

      Thanks for the kind words!

      I think I’ll leave really time sensitive things like that out of the “best of” book…might just be confusing. I’m debating including some posts that show the statistics in different years: it could be that the Annual Snapshots get included.

  8. Marlene Says:

    Congratulations to you! I have enjoyed my short introduction to ILMK so far. Keep up the great work.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Marlene!

      Welcome!🙂 I intend to keep going, and I hope you enjoy the ride…er, read.😉

  9. payce2 Says:

    My favorite post was “You know you’ve made the switch to e-books when…” I saved that one and shared it lots of times with new converts.

Leave a Reply

