Books on my Kindles #2 (part 3)

Books on my Kindles #2 (part 3)

This is a continuation of a recent series of posts:

in which I list and talk about the books I currently have downloaded to my Kindles. For more information on this, see that first post linked above.

Listed in the previous posts:

More books…

Emotional Intelligence 2.0 (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)
by Travis Bradberry & Jean Greaves
3.9 out of five stars, 319 customer reviews
12% done
bought for $1.99

I’ll be interested to see how I come out on this. I’m not a very emotional (I tend to stay on a pretty even keel) person, but I do think I’m pretty good at understanding other people’s emotions. I think that empathetic sense helps me as a trainer, and when I was hiring trainers, it’s one of the things I sought in candidates. I’ve been stalled on this one because it wants me to take an online test to set a baseline, and I just haven’t gotten around to that. There is a basic concept at work here, that there are many kinds of “intelligence”. I wrote a paper in high school on “optimum IQ”, in which I argued that the highest IQ wasn’t necessarily the best one, in terms of success in the world. Obviously, I’m not the only person to have thought that. This quotation, which I have in my book of quotations, The Mind Boggles: A Unique Book of Quotations (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*), gives one perspective:

Cassie Hughes (played by Christina Cole): “So, what’s it like being so wise?”
Azazeal (played by Michael Fassbender): “Well…obviously, it makes normal life difficult. The trouble is, you see everything before everyone else, and then you have to wait for them to catch up.”
Cassie: “That must be very frustrating.”
Asazeal: “You’ve no idea.”
–Possession episode of
Hex
screenplay by Julian Jones

A Game of Thrones 4-Book Bundle: A Song of Ice and Fire Series: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows (at AmazonSmile*)
by George R.R. Martin
4.4 stars, 390 reviews
8% done
purchased for $15.72

No, I’ve never seen the series.🙂 We don’t have HBO, and while I probably would try it if it eventually became free or “no additional cost” (available through Prime Video, for example), I’m not willing to pay for it.

What happened here is that a relative (one generation down) asked me if I’d read it because it was hard to follow and my relative wanted to ask me some questions about it. So, I bought it.🙂

I’ve only been reading it off and on. I haven’t found it all that engaging and while it does have non-human animals (always a plus for me), it’s quite harsh, which I tend not to prefer. Our adult kid has both read the books and seen the series, and recommended to me watching the series first (a very unusual suggestion from that source), since it gave you more of a “road map”, which made the books easier to follow. I’m a bit torn, because of that…our adult kid is very wise.🙂

Horns: A Novel (at AmazonSmile*)
by Joe Hill
4.2 stars, 1153 reviews
not yet started
bought for $1.99

With the Daniel Radcliffe-starring, Alexandre Aja-directed version opening in the USA at Halloween, I was intrigued…and picked this up on sale.

How To Get Instant Trust, Belief, Influence and Rapport! 13 Ways To Create Open Minds By Talking To The Subconscious Mind (at AmazonSmile*)
by Tom “Big Al” Schreiter
4.7 stars, 175 reviews
not yet started
bought for $2.99

Using “Big Al” as a nickname didn’t immediately gain my trust or belief, but we’ll see how the book goes.😉

This Explains Everything: 150 Deep, Beautiful, and Elegant Theories of How the World Works (at AmazonSmile*)
by John Brockman
4.0 stars, 97 reviews
not yet started
bought for $1.99

“The great tragedy of Science: the slaying of a beautiful hypothesis by an ugly fact.”
–Thomas Henry Huxley

That quotation is paraphrased a lot, but I would also say that’s the beauty of science…you want your hypotheses knocked down by facts: that’s why they are there.😉

I’m looking forward to starting this one, when the timing is right.

This Will Make You Smarter: 150 New Scientific Concepts to Improve Your Thinking (This Will Make You Smarter: 150 New Scientific Concepts to Improve Your Thinking)
by John Brockman
3.8 stars, 148 reviews
bought for $2.99
0% (still in the front matter)

That’s not like me! I didn’t even realize until now that these were both by the same author.🙂 I will say, though, as I check the prices, I got some good deals! This one is currently $8.81. Now, though, I’m much more likely to just get something through Kindle Unlimited, so books being on sale won’t tempt me as much.

The Battle of $9.99: How Apple, Amazon, and the Big Six Publishers Changed the E-Book Business Overnight (Kindle Single) (at AmazonSmile*))
by Andrew Richard Albanese
3.8 stars, 138 reviews
Got it as a gift

Not sure why this one is still on my Fire.🙂 I got this Kindle single as a gift at the holidays, and I have read it. I’ll remove it after this. You can read my review of it on Goodreads

here

A Long Way To Contentment (at AmazonSmile*)
by Boyd Lemon
4.4 stars, 9 reviews
bought for $0.99
not yet started

This one was purchased by Significant Other…probably give it a shot when my SO is reading it, so we can talk about it afterwards.

Crash Gordon and the Revelations from Big Sur (at AmazonSmile*)
by Derek Swannson
4.4 stars, 42 reviews
bought it for $3.99

I was able to help with this in the pre-publication phase, doing proofreading and making some editorial suggestions. For that reason, I don’t want to say too much about it (although I don’t have any financial connection to the book, and I don’t have a relationship with Derek outside of having read the first book, reviewed it, and then helped with the second gratis). Both books are available through KU.

Here’s my review of the first book, which will give you some idea:

Review: Crash Gordon and the Mysteries of Kingsburg

I think that’s enough for this post! One more ought to catch us up.

By the way, my SO used KU for the first time….and borrowed a couple of cookbooks and got a couple of recipes…that’s an excellent use of it, in my mind.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

11 Responses to “Books on my Kindles #2 (part 3)”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Unlike you, I let things hang around on my Kindle until I actually get around to reading them. I’m afraid if I delete them before reading them, I’ll forget that I haven’t read them. So I currently have 327 items on my Kindle. Don’t worry, I’m not going to list all of them! If there were a “to be read later” folder in the archives, I’d gladly store them there. That being said, here are he books I’m in the process of reading or have queued up to read soon:

    Currently borrowed:
    These are The Voyages, Vol. 1

    City on The Edge of Forever

    Legacy: The Acclaimed Novel of Elizabeth, England’s Most Passionate Queen” by Susan Kay [I’ve always been fascinated by the Tudors. I have no idea why, but this is well written historical fiction.]

    The Charms of Miss O’Hara: Tales of Gone With the Wind and the Golden Age of Hollywood by Phillip Done [this was my Prime book for August, but I haven’t finished it yet and I’m not sure I’ll be able to figure out how to get another Prime book now that I have KU]

    The King Must Die by Mary Renault [Having a hard time getting into this one]

    Recently, or not so recently, purchased:

    Daring: My Passages: A memoir by Gail Sheey

    Lives Like Loaded Guns: Emily Dickinson and her Family’s Feuds by Lyndall Gordon

    The Night Searchers (A Sharon McCone mystery, a Hachette publication) by Marcia Muller

    The Paper Magician [a Kindle First] by Charlie N. Homnberg

    The Man who Forgot How to Read by Howard Engel [I was a big fan of the Benny Cooperman mystery series and always wondered why it stopped. This book explains what happened to the author.]

    Books I started and left hanging but intend to finish some day:

    The Secret Life of Pronouns: What our Words Say About Us by James W. Pennebaker

    The Writing Life by Annie Dillard

    Beautifully Unique Sparkleponies: On Myths, Morons, Free Speech Football, and Assorted Absurdities by Chris Kluwe [this is a collection of essays. Some interest me, some do not, but I like books where I can read a chapter, but it down, and not have to worry about remembering where I left off. Oh wait, this is a Kindle. I don’t put the book down, I close it out.]

    Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

    I notice you have “Horns” on your list. I purchased it awhile back and read it. It started out strong, but I felt it bogged down halfway through and I found myself skimming more than reading the last half of it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Very interesting list…thanks for sharing!

      Since I do use Cloud Collections, I do have a TBR (To Be Read) Collection…that’s where I keep the ones that are “on deck”. I had just downloaded a bunch quickly to test KU.🙂

  2. Allie Says:

    Bufo & Lady: I have 844 items on my Kindle (out of my current 1800 -2000 total items in the “cloud” or whatever you call it). I win!🙂 No, I know it is somewhat unusual but I’ve got some very good reasons to keep them all there; the main reason being to give myself a way to browse – pre-Kindle, having real bookshelves with some of a large number of print books, some read, some not, some faves, some belonging to others in my household, some just hanging out randomly from twenty years ago🙂 … I miss my haphazard shelves that allowed me to scan the spines of books, whether I’m looking for something new or something specific: “hmm. I think I was reading Raymond Carver around the same time I was in the middle of my Tom McGuane phase….” and then coming across, say, Evelyn Waugh as a nice surprise, or my copy of “A History of Reading” which I acquired when I was about 18, yet somehow I have never cracked. (Someday!! : ) Not to mention the many delights of library and bookstore shelves.
    So, owning so many ebooks, I have a bit of a system how I use my kindle to simulate browsing through print books:
    I’ll have my main screen up, and pick a random number, such as going to page 45 of my list. Or if I change the order of my items to alphabetize items by title, rather than my usual ordering by “recent”, “collections” or “authors”. I find it’s a fairly good way to browse. I make it a point to check books at all spots, so I am not going from the A’s in and the Z’s backwards an missing everything in between.
    I guess I could something similar via the “cloud”, but I started doing this fairly early on, when I was not really familiar with such systems, and I’ve stuck with it.
    I know I might need to make a change, maybe in the very near future – I do think it is possible to reach some kind of limit on my Kindle Paperwhite, though I’m not positive. – (I DO delete items. I think I’ve been fairly steady @ 850 for a few months now.) So far, I have not had a single problem with lagging or crashing or anything at all.
    So as long as everything works, I’m good with it.
    It is, of course, still quite a bit different than spending an hour scanning shelves be they home, library, or bookstore…….but it is my attempt to mimic an activity that I have enjoyed my entire life. It works out ok.
    If you’ve read this far, I hope you didn’t find it *too* dreadfully dull! I simplified it as best as I could : )

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      With my original K1, I bought an SD card, and as soon as I would finish a book, I would move it from Kindle Memory to SD memory. Even after I got the K3 which enabled me to create folders and better sort my collections, I would still back up new books to the SD card. I haven’t done that for awhile now, but I do fire up the K1 periodically to make sure it still works. I guess I always have in the back of my mind that someday the Amazon cloud will dry up and disappear.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Those files would be keyed to a specific device in almost all cases (a few in the Kindle store don’t have Digital Rights Management…DRM). They’d only be good on the device for which you bought them, under current circumstances. It’s cool that your K1 still works!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Allie!

      Actually, I have the fewest, so I think I win.😉

      I’m not going to suggest you change a system that is working for you, but you might want to consider something different in the future. The way you are doing it now, you’ll find it somewhat inconvenient if you have to switch Kindles at some point (it takes quite a while to download 844 items to a new device).

      First, yes, you can reach a limit on your device. It depends on the size of the books and which Paperwhite you have, but you probably aren’t too far away from it. The current Paperwhite says it will hold “over 1,000 books”, however, there are a lot of factors that affect it. I also believe that the more you have, the slower it will do some operations. If it has to reindex the device, for example, it will need to do a lot of work.

      Second,you could accomplish a similar function by having the books in a Cloud collection. You’d still be able to have your “serendipitous discovery”, but the books wouldn’t actually be on your device. You would have that same experience if you had to go to a new device registered to the same account…you wouldn’t need to rebuild it.

      You could also have multiple collections, to mimic the physical books you had in your home. Maybe label one “bedroom”, one “bathroom”, one “that shelf over the garage door”…or whatever works for you.

      As you say, though, if it’s working, there’s no reason to worry about it yet.

      • Allie Says:

        Right off I want to say, when my Kindle Keyboard died, I switched over to the Paperwhite and everything I had on the Keyboard went right along to my new device. I didn’t do anything special; it just worked that way. I can’t recall the exact process, but everything, including my collections, was directly transferred.

        I will to read the rest of your comment more carefully, but I wanted to make that one thing clear for anyone else who might be reading this… I didn’t lose a single thing in the transfer from my Kindle Keyboard to the Paperwhite.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Allie!

        Let me clarify that a bit.🙂 The Collections you have created can import to a new device, but the books will not automatically download. They will be available to the device but they will still be in the cloud/archives. If you want to actually have the books on your device, which you indicated was your preference, then you would have to download them again.

  3. Allie Says:

    As for *new* kindle content: Neuromancer by William Gibson is marked down to $1.99 today. I think it is one of the best works of science fiction ever written.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Allie!

      Yes, I wrote about that in the most recent post…you just might not have seen it yet.

  4. Books on my Kindles #2 (part 4) | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Books on my Kindles #2 (part 3) […]

Leave a Reply

