It’s official! New Kindle hardware…and software

It’s official! New Kindle hardware…and software

I think that’s a record! Five press releases from Amazon in the same day…announcing two new non-Fire Kindles, three new Fires, and a new version of the Fire operating system!

Let’s break this down:

We’ll start with the non-Fire Kindles (all information is for the USA, although I believe all these models may be available elsewhere):

Kindle Voyage, 6″ High-Resolution Display (300 ppi) with Adaptive Built-in Light, PagePress Sensors, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) Also available with 3G+Wi-Fi, for $269 with Special Offers, $289 without them

This is the new top of the line, flagship model.

It’s $199 with Special Offers, $219 without them.

It will be competing with the Kobo Aura HD, which lists for $169.99 (about $30 cheaper).

Releasing on October 21st (pre-order now).

What’s new?

  • It’s thinner: .30 inches (7.6mm) versus .36 (9.1mm) on the Paperwhite
  • It has twice the pixels per inch (300) as the Paperwhite: that will make it much, much crisper. The more dots you fit in the same place, the more detail
  • Turn pages by applying pressure to the edge (the bezel), not the screen. You’ll still be able to swipe or tap, but this should keep the screen a lot cleaner (not that that has been much of an issue for me…they created a screen that doesn’t show the fingerprints much).  It should be smart enough not to accidentally turn the page for a typical user
  • The frontlight (like the Paperwhite…the most comfortable reading experience I’ve had, including paper) will adjust either automatically or manually)
  • The screen is supposed to feel like paper…um, okay

I’ll deal more with the software later in this post, because that will affect more than this one device.

Kindle, 6″ Glare-Free Touchscreen Display, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*)

This is the new entry level model (which they once again insist on just calling a “Kindle”).

$79 with Special Offers, $99 without them.

Releasing October 2nd (pre-order available now).

What’s new?

  • Touchscreen…good-bye, five way controllers
  • Faster processor
  • We’re back to 4GB of storage

The Paperwhite will continue to be offered as the mid-range device: $119 with Special Offers, $139 without them.

Okay, let’s talk about new software features/services for the non-Fire devices (these do not show for the Paperwhite, but some may show up there eventually):

  • You’ll be able to link Amazon accounts! This is a huge difference. They are calling it “Family Library”, and specifically mention a “spouse or partner”…I wonder if you’ll have to provide proof of relationship?
  • Word Wise: this one automatically (you can adjust it) defines “difficult” words for you. It reminds me of a comedian who talked about how the movie makers new 1950s science fiction were going to be watched by kids. So, two of the greatest scientists in the world would be speaking to each other, and they’d define the words for the kiddos: “He’s growing in an accelerated…speeded up…fashion”😉 I suppose this may be useful for some people
  • About the Book: finally! The book will tell you where it is in a series, tell you about the author, and let you mark your Goodreads progress from your Kindle
  • Enhanced search: more search results in one place
  • More Goodreads integration

press release for the non-Fire Kindles

Now, on to the new Fires:

Fire HD 6, 6″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile*)

$99 for 8GB with Special Offers
$114 for 8GB without Special Offers
$119 for 16GB with Special Offers
$134 for 16GB without Special Offers

Releasing October 2, pre-order now

This is a competitive tablet for under $100!

What’s new?

  • It comes in five colors! Black, Magenta, White, Citron, and Cobalt
  • 1280×800 HD screen, 252 pixels per inch: brighter, whiter
  • 1.5 ghz quadcore processor…much faster
  • Front and rear-facing camera (2MP for the rear-facing)
  • WPS Office integration: edit Excel and Word without a separate app
  • Family profiles
  • Family Library (see above: link accounts)
  • Advanced Streaming and Prediction (ASAP)…it guesses what you will want to watch and pre-loads it. I really like this on my Fire TV, although you might think it’s a small thing. It’s nice not to wait for things to load when you want to watch them (that’s often the case). The Fire TV is so much faster than my Roku! I really notice that with YouTube (which is presumably not due to ASAP)…it takes many times longer on the Roku for the app to load
  • Firefly real object and media recognition, like my Fire Phone
  • Fire OS 4, which I’ll cover separately

Fire HD 7, 7″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile*)

Basically the same as above, except an inch bigger screen and stereo instead of mono speakers.

$139 8GB with Special Offers
$154 8GB without Special Offers
$159 16GB with Special Offers
$174 16 GB without Special Offers

Releasing October 2

Fire HD 6 Kids Edition, 6″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB, Blue Kid-Proof Case (at AmazonSmile*)

$149 for six inches
$189 for seven inches

Releases October 21st (look for this one in particular to sell out…I’m guessing manufacturing those kid-proof cases slows the supply chain).

People have wanted something like this for a long time…a purpose-built kids’ device. If the kids break it in the first two years, Amazon will replace it…for free.

  • Comes with a free year of Kindle Unlimited
  • Amazon Freetime camera and photo…kids can take pictures, but can’t share them on social media

Looks like a powerful (it has the quad-core processor) tablet, and probably a good choice for kids.

Fire HDX 8.9, 8.9″ HDX Display, Wi-Fi, 16 GB – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*)

$379 16GB with Special Offers
$394 16GB without Special Offers
$429 32GB with Special Offers
$444 32GB without Special Offers
$479 64GB with Special Offers
$494 64GB without Special Offers

Releasing October 21st, pre-order now

  • A massive 2560 x 1600 display, 339 ppi (4 million pixels), 30% more pixels than the iPad Retina display
  • 20% lighter than iPad Air
  • 2.5 GHz quad-core processor
  • Twice as loud as iPad air, with Dolby Atmos for headphones (says it is the first tablet with that)
  • Mayday and Firefly
  • 8MP rear-facing camera (compare to the 2MP above), front-facing camera

Fire HDX 8.9, 8.9″ HDX Display, Wi-Fi and 4G LTE, 32 GB – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*)

Like the above, but with unlocked GSM (including AT&T)…this has the cellular connection.

$529 32GB with Special Offers
$544 32GB without Special Offers
$579 64GB with Special Offers
$594 64GB without Special Offers

Releasing October 21st.

Fire HDX 8.9, 8.9″ HDX Display, Wi-Fi and 4G LTE, 32 GB – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile*)

Verizon version, otherwise same as immediately above, including pricing and release date.

Kindle Fire press releases:

09/17/14 Introducing the All-New Fire HDX—Higher Performance, Exclusive New Audio, the Fastest Wi-Fi, and Still Startlingly Light with a Stunning HDX Display Printer Friendly Version
09/17/14 Introducing the All-New Fire HD—The Most Powerful Tablet Under $100 Printer Friendly Version
09/17/14 Introducing Fire HD Kids Edition—The Kids Tablet That Has it All, Including the First-Ever 2-Year Worry-Free Guarantee

Now, on to the new Fire OS (Operating System):

  • This will be on the new Kindle Fires, and will come to the 3rd Generation (most recent) Kindle Fires through an over-the-air update
  • They again named it after an alcoholic drink…I’d prefer that they don’t do that, but it looks like that’s the pattern right now
  • “… adds Profiles so each family member can have their own individual email, Facebook and Twitter accounts, settings such as display brightness, bookmarks, spot in a movie, and game levels.”
  • Based on KitKat
  • Up to 25% more battery life with a “smart suspend” feature…proactively turns wireless access on and off
  • Family Library (see above…shared accounts)
  • Also coming to Fire Phone
  • Private Mode and print support coming to the Silk Browser
  • Free unlimited Cloud storage of photos taken on Fire devices

Whew!

Some of these features won’t be there at launch, and will be “coming soon”.  The Fire Phone won’t get Fire OS 4 until “early next year”.

press release on Fire OS 4

I would say that this is not a conservative product cycle. It will be interesting to see how these shake out in terms of popularity. I’m interested in what you think (and what questions you might have). Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

16 Responses to “It’s official! New Kindle hardware…and software”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I’m giving a talk here locally on how to spend one’s money on technology this holiday season. It focuses a lot on devices (but also big ticket items like cars, TV’s, solar panels — etc). I’ve been gathering info on all the new product announcement for some time now..

    The talk is on Oct 8th — I had been concerned that the Amazon announcement wouldn’t be in time — whew!! (:grin). I’m still awaiting word from Microsoft on flagship Windows phones, and Surface refreshes utilizing the new Intel Broadwell 14 nm processors. Also Apple still may have something to say about new iPads, MacBook Airs, and MacBook Pros. Finally Microsoft has a Windows 9 pre-announcement (invite only) in SF on Sept 30th. That last week before the talk is going to be a kliller (;grin)

    For myself, I’ll pass on the kindles as my main reading device (PW2) is relatively new and is working well. I will definitely be getting the new 8.9 HDX 64 GB (only $50 for the additional 32 GB so what the hey). Also now’s the time to pull the trigger on the Fire TV. I will be pre-ordering (ordering) these as soon as I finish writing this comment (:grin).
    Other than your’s (and a couple of others) blog, I haven’t dug into this much. I’ve only skimmed the PR’s and saved the Amazon product pages for later reads.

    Thoughts: at first blush FireOS seems underwhelming for my use cases — I don’t have a family so shared accounts doesn’t seem to offer me much (I’ll think on that though). I don’t travel enough for the cellular stuff to make much sense for me. It is very nice, however, that they are selling an unlocked/ATT version.

    I will be getting the Fire Phone in late November when my current contract is up. I will be getting two phones: whatever the latest Windows flagship phone is, and the Fire phone. I plan to get both un-subsidized & unlocked though I plan to stay with AT&T.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I’ll be interested in your continued assessment of your new devices. I now like my Fire TV so much more than my Roku (and I really liked my Roku). I like my Fire Phone, but the digital assistant definitely could use an upgrade.

  2. Edward Boyhan Says:

    The orders are in!. I also ordered the new fire keyboard. That uses Bluetooth 3.0 ( other bluetooth devices like headphones are also supported — important since I have a very nice BT headphone:-))).

    One thing I came across in the WSJ article that I’m sure you’ll like: they are dropping the “kindle” moniker from all devices save the eInk ones. So the fire tablets will just be fires along with the TV and phone.

    They talk about a mini USB port for charging, but also for displaying the new 4th gen fire HDX screen on a TV. I guess this is a replacement for the mini HDMI port on original Fire HD 8.9 (which I have). I’m not sure how this USB (only 2.0) will feed into TV’s that mostly have HDMI ports. Any thoughts?

    The video for the kindle voyage will make a nice TV commercial. They are listing the voyage battery life as 6 weeks.

    HDX display 2560×1600 is up there with the best hires displays! I’ve been taking a lot of pictures with my Lumia 920 8.7 MP Pureview camera — will look forward to comparing with HDX and Fire phone.

    I finally gave up on silk on my Fire HD 8.9. I have installed Dolphin, Maxthon, Chrome, and Lastpass browsers on my HD 8.9 from 1Mobile. Chrome appears to work best — perhaps because it is my goto laptop browser (Lastpass needs to be used if you want to insert stored passwords on a web page). I’ll be interested to see whether Silk is any better with a dose of “Sangria” (:grin) — or whether any of those other browsers have any issues.

    I recently bought an 802.11 AC router so support for that WiFi protocol on the 4th gen HDX will be good. As in-house wireless usage has ramped up, I’m seeing more more reported issues with WiFi and Bluetooth.

    Many of the “features” are listed as coming soon — I wonder when “soon” is?

    All in all the 4th gen HDX 8.9 should be a creditable competitor to the Apple iPads (whatever they turn out to be — whenever Apple gets around to announcing their iPad refreshes. OTOH the tech journalistas will surely not see it that way😦

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Thanks for pointing out that the new tablets are just “Fires”, not Kindle Fires…yay! Much less confusing. That also makes sense, since it creates more continuity with the Fire Phone and Fire TV.

      I’m sure people will have some way to smoothly interface that outport to an HDMI inport on a TV. Many monitors, of course, have USB inports already.

      I would think “soon” will likely be by the end of the first quarter of next year, but some of them will arrive by the end of November (I’m just speculating). I would guess there will be a major update within the first month or two of release, then another one next year.

  3. Phink Says:

    Yeah, I ordered my Voyage (being a Trekkie I’ll call it Voyager), hours after it appeared so I’ll hopefully get mine on day 1. I keep saying I’m not buying next years model, then I always do. Here is a copy and paste from the site and I really hope this works well.

    When reading in the dark, the adaptive front light slowly lowers the display’s brightness over time to match the way the eye responds to darkness.

    I don’t care about the glass feeling like paper but if they could pump out the smell of a book we’d finally get those “I like the smell and feel of a book” crowd to finally go digital LOL. I hope I don’t sound like a pessimist but surely this is a gross exaggeration. I’ll believe it when I feel it.

    I find it funny that Amazon brags about how this one is thinner. Yeah, I guess 6/100th of an inch is a big deal…..NOT!

    I do not like the fact the battery life is lower but I’m sure they had no choice and still keeping it small. I’d rather have a smaller battery than bigger unit I guess.

    I wish they’d take a page from the KOBO which has 20 something font sizes. This one seems to have the same ol’, what is it….7 or 8 I guess. When in bed at night and my eyes tired one size is too small and the next one way too big. Why not add a few more font sizes. Surely they could do that for a couple of nickles.

    I can’t wait. Speaking of calling this one Voyager because I love Star Trek I also call the Paperwhite: Next Generation 1701-D. If you are a Trekkie you understand.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      As to your last comment…I understand.😉

      I’m a bit worried about the adaptive light, and expect I would turn it off. As I’ve mentioned before, I have really superior night vision (which might be connected to my color vision deficiency…not full color blindness, but partial). I would guess my baseline is much lower than what it will want to be. On my Kindle Fire HDX, I have the brightness all the way down in a darkened room, and maybe at about a third in typical lighting.

      We’ll have to see how battery management may positively affect that battery charge life…

  4. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    I’m sad that they have removed the buttons on the new Mindle. When I had to start using the current Mindle as my primary reading device due to my Touch having severe charging issues, I came to love having the buttons back, the touchscreen drove me nuts, especially when I would fall asleep reading, I never knew how many pages I had accidentally turned. I see the Voyage’s page turning is more button like, but the price point is very high.

    I love Phink’s idea of linking the names to Star Trek due to the name Voyage. 7 of 9 would be pretty appropriate on my account.

    Do we know the limitations of the “Family Library” yet? That’s a great addition, might be worth upgrading for that.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      My guess is that there will be limitations on the Family Library, besides the number of people…I think it is likely that only some books will be in it, and that it won’t be the biggest publishers.

      I don’t think I’d recommend upgrading just for that: I would think that, like Cloud Collections, that will come to older (but not necessarily the oldest) models in an update. Might even be managed through the Manage Your Kindle page.

  5. The new Kindle models poll: will you…? | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books « It’s official! New Kindle hardware…and software […]

  6. Edward Boyhan Says:

    So a few more tidbits are starting to emerge about the new HDX. As you may recall last go round Amazon added a bunch of enterprise oriented features to capture some of the BYOD crowd. This time they are bundling a copy of WPS (an MS Office work alike) with the HDX. Also (and most intriguingly) the new HDX will run Amazon Workspaces — that means you’ll be able to run a copy of Windows 8 (or Mac OS X) on your HDX. Of course it’ll cost you $35-75/month for the privilege (Amazon Workspaces is an AWS service).

    The new keyboard will work with any Bluetooth enable tablet including those from other vendors (like Apple :grin). It’s interesting that the day before yesterday Microsoft also announced a multivendor tablet/smartphone keyboard to good reviews. The Amazon keyboard is said to be made of plastic and is bendy “and not in a good way”.

    Well I guess I’ll find out about that on or about Oct 21 (:grin).

    At IFA 2014 Microsoft announced the HD-10 — a Miracast dongle that comes with an NFC pad so NFC-enabled devices can throw images onto the dongle-attached TV. I plan to get one of those ($80 by the end of Sept), and will see how it works with the TV throw capabilities of the new HDX.

    The Amazon announcement event was held in NYC; the PR’s didn’t hit my inbox until sometime after 6 PM EDT. There were absolutely no stories about an upcoming Amazon event. So I’m wondering did Amazon just call up a few tech journalists in NYC and say “be at toity toid and toid at 3, and you’ll hear something to your advantage”? Or was the announcement sent out in advance, but embargoed??

  7. Phink Says:

    You know, it’s odd. I am not one that has to have the latest and greatest car, or phone, or tablet, or anything really….except….the Kindle eReader. My friends and family make fun of me because I ALWAYS buy the new Kindle when it comes out no matter what. I was telling my friend yesterday that I am only going to buy one every two years after this one no matter what they come out with next. He just said “uuuh-hhhhuhhhh, ssuuuurrree.” The way they sell surely I’m not the only one that has to have the latest and greatest. I did get the 3G version this time. I usually don’t because it’s a lot more money. But, I’m hoping that will make it harder to justify buying a new one every year. I hope. Yep, I’m addicted. I have been since what 2009 I think it was.

  8. Anne Says:

    Just today my long time housemate gifted me with the Kindle Paperwhite. She didn’t know about the new Amazon devices coming out. I’ve been borrowing her new iPad for taking upstairs and reading books,browsing internet and streaming movies at night. I stumbled across your blog trying to figure out if I should use my own Amazon acct or hers for the new Kindle– she has Prime and I use her account for free shipping and Prime internet, so I’d like to use hers for the Prime lending library, I’ve been reading her some books aloud but I’m the bigger reader. I usually go to the library but not mobile lately and just started exploring online books. I am absolutely addicted to the internet, however, for news, blogs, forums. She already bought a couple of books for me on her account, not realizing we can’t share unless I register under her Amazon acct. Maybe Family plan software upgrade will solve this, maybe not? I can’t afford the extra’s. I’m not seeing myself actually purchasing a lot of books (I’ll be trolling for freebies) but she did give a nice gift cert. As I start to figure this out I find there is a new Fire for about the same price. Since I have a big 5 yo laptop but not a notebook, am I better with the Fire at the similar price point, I get kindle device+ internet right? She has no Kindle device, just ipad, laptop, desktop. Is it possible to even exchange the gift now that it is opened and I put my wireless location in? Not registered it yet. I don’t mean to dismiss the gift, I’m thrilled. I already miss buying books and lending to friends, this is so awkward how they have your really locked down with these ebooks.

    Glad to have stumbled across your blog, I’ll be reading up, great job.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Anne!

      You have a lot of questions…and that’s a good thing.🙂

      First, there is a generous thirty day return policy on Kindle devices (it won’t matter that you’ve put in your information…you can “reset it to factory defaults” before returning it). Since the device is operating as advertised, you would be expected to pay the return postage…that’s a few dollars, typically.

      As to a Kindle EBR (E-Book Reader…Paperwhite, the new Voyage, and so on) versus the Fire (a tablet), it comes down to this. The EBRs are better for reading…in particular, they read better in varied light conditions (inside and outside) and the battery life is much longer. I do most of my reading on my Fire, though…I do use a Paperwhite at home. If you want internet, and currently, if you want text-to-speech (software which reads the book out loud to you…I use it for hours every week in the car), they you are better off with the Fire.

      The Family Library may work for you, but we don’t know enough about it yet. My guess is that it will: Amazon has never asked us to prove relationships with other people, but they have said “in the same household”. Since you are housemates, that should work. My guess is that not every book will be part of that program, but that many will.

      You can also deregister it from your account, register it to hers, download the books, read them, then deregister from hers and register back to yours. I call that the Register/Deregister Dance (R/DD). Again, that may not be necessary with the Family Library, though.

      There are literally usually over 50,000 free books directly from the Kindle store at any given time. You may also be able to borrow e-books from your public library which you can use on your Kindle (depends on the library).

      If you haven’t spent the gift certificate yet, you might also look at Kindle Unlimited. For $9.99 a month, you have access to a really good selection of books…”all you can read”. You are limited to having ten out at a time, but no limit as to how many in a month. That’s over 700,000 titles, and growing…including new and popular books, and ones which have stood the test of time.

      Kindle Unlimited

      The Prime Lending Library (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library…KOLL) by contrast is only one book per calendar month…and almost all of those are also in KU. If you can do the $9.99 a month, I think you’ll find KU worth it.

      Thanks for the kind words, and let me know if you have more questions.

  9. Anne Says:

    Thanks for your comments. While waiting to figure out what account to register, I opened it again–I had only entered the wireless password step before–and what do you know, it is registered to my housemate and linked to her Amazon acct. That’s a headscratcher for us both. I guessed that the wireless router had that email info, but she guessed that the device bought on her Amazon acct had the serial number. Any insight?

    That is a generous return policy. I’m going to think about it. I suppose the thing I need and would use more is a tablet since I don’t have one. But I will read a book on Kindle and see how much I like it, that was my gift after all and looks good so far. Plus I have the cover and the external charger.

    So I am just browsing at the moment. I am undecided on the Kindle Unlimited. Sure there is an enormous amount of books, I can always find something, but I didn’t find a lot of things I specifically searched for. In the KOLL either I looked up about 25 books. Admittedly half were from “If you liked Gone Girl…” lists. But also actual literature and a little nonfiction. Maybe my titles are too new, but I also couldn’t find older titles by current best selling authors either. I still can’t find something to borrow yet that I really want instead of just any random thing. It is time consuming to search for quality stuff.

    I did find about Kindle First program and my friend didn’t even know she could be getting freebies. Oh and she bought a Fire TV but we didn’t install it yet, to replace a Sony.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Anne!

      Well, I think I can “unscratch” your heads a bit.😉

      When you buy an Amazon device from Amazon, they automatically register it to the account on which you bought it…which is a nice convenience. When someone wants to buy it as a gift, there is a checkbox for that purpose under the purchase link. There’s a link there that says, “Why is this important?” When you click that, it says:

      “When you check the “this will be a gift” box, Amazon will:

      Deliver the Kindle unregistered. The recipient can register the Kindle to their own Amazon account when it arrives.

      Ship the Kindle in an unmarked Amazon box that doesn’t say Kindle. Kindle is designed to ship in its original container directly to you. Keep Kindle a surprise by marking it as a gift.

      Remove prices on the packing slip included with the order.”

      I would certainly consider having both devices on the same account in your case…you two seem pretty close. That doubles your buying power. If either of you buys a book from the Kindle store, you can both read it…almost always even at the same time…for that one purchase price. There is no limit to the number of devices you can have registered to the same account. There is a limit as to how many devices on the account can have the same book at the same time: unless it says otherwise on the book’s Amazon product page, that number is six.

      Amazon has also just announced (so we don’t have the details yet) the “Family Library”. This will enable accounts to share books more freely. My guess is that it won’t be all of the books, but many of them.

      No question, if you look for specific books, you won’t necessarily find them (that would be true of any place you looked for books…a brick and mortar bookstore ((I’m a former manager)), a public library, the Kindle store). In the case of Kindle Unlimited and the KOLL (Kindle Owners’ Lending Library…the Prime benefit), some of the biggest publishers are choosing not to participate. So, if you are looking for what I call “People Magazine books” (the ones which would have been reviewed in that publication), you probably won’t find them.

      However, many people have commented on how e-books have opened their reading horizons. For one thing, there are many independently published books now that you could never have found in a brick and mortar store.

      Going in with a specific list is a bit like being invited to an Oscar after party, or a party at the Nobel Institute…and declining the invitation unless particularly people you wanted were going to be there. There would be a good chance there would be really interesting people to meet, even if you weren’t that familiar with them.

      Kindle Unlimited is also brand new: there are certainly likely to be more books added that you’d like. There are lots of interesting books there now: what sorts of things do you like to read?

      Book discovery is probably the number one challenge for Kindle owners. You couldn’t possibly read all of the free books available (reading a book a day, it would take more than 100 years…if no new ones were added once you started), so choosing them becomes the game.

      I’m not quite sure what Sony device you could be replacing with a Fire TV. I do like my Fire TV a lot, but it isn’t a television set…it’s a streaming device. Did she have a Sony Smart TV, and is now going to one that doesn’t have built-in streaming content?

  10. 1-day deal: certified refurb KFHDX 7″ for $159 | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] It’s official! New Kindle hardware…and software […]

Leave a Reply

