The new Kindle models poll: will you…?

The new Kindle models poll: will you…?

I wrote pretty extensively about Amazon’s announcement of new hardware (and a new version of the Fire operating system). I try not to write about the same thing two days in a row very often, but I didn’t want to just update that post (a lot of people miss it when I do that). Also, since this is both Fires and non-Fires, it will cover most of my readership (some people read on free Kindle reader apps, and some don’t have anything yet…but this will affect pretty much everybody). It’s also stylistically different from yesterday’s post.

Just a few notes from overnight:

  • Thanks to regular reader and commenter Edward Boyhan for pointing out that the new tablets are no longer “Kindle Fires”, they are just “Fires”. That’s been something I’ve wanted since before the first of them was released. I think it’s confusing to have the non-backlit Kindle readers co-branded with backlit tablets, since they are so different. I’ve seen much confusion about that in the Kindle forums (“I upgraded to a Kindle Fire from a Kindle Touch…why can’t I read outside as well?”). I’m fine with the Fire tablets, Fire Phone, and Fire TVs being a “brand”…they have quite a bit in common, much more than a Fire tablet and a Kindle Paperwhite
  • The Paperwhite’s storage was increased earlier this year…I don’t think I made that clear
  • How soon is “soon” in “coming soon” (for some of the new features)? I would think we’ll get a major update before the end of November, and another one in the first quarter of next year (with some incremental updates in between). I’m just guessing, though
  • There will be an outport on the Fire tablets for use with a TV (which the first gen Kindle Fire had), but it won’t be HDMI…it’ll be USB. Amazon says, “The latest generation Fire tablets now include a SlimPort enabled micro USB port that lets you view images and HD video from your tablet on any compatible TV or monitor”
  • It’s not clear that the “Family Library” (the ability to read books from more than one account on the same device without doing the register/deregister dance) will apply to all books, and it may not. It might be more like Kindle Unlimited, where only some books are involved
  • What really needs an update in Fire OS is the digital assistant, in my opinion…I want my Fire Phone in particular to be able to do more things through voice “command” (although that sounds so imperial…can’t it just be “voice communication”?)😉 Don’t know if we’ll get that, but I’m guessing we will. Anybody Amazon can buy to make that happen? I’d like it on the Fire tablets, too

Now, as to the main point of this post.

I’m generally seeing a positive reaction to this announcement…good initial reports in the tech media (although not much in mainstream…compare it to the Apple announcement, which was all over the mainstream). I think this will lift the Fire Phone boat as well, resulting in more sales for that device. I’m curious about how you feel about the new devices:

Kindle Voyage (any configuration) (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

new entry level: “Mindle Touch” as a suggested nickname, any configuration (at AmazonSmile*)

Fire HD 6, any configuration (at AmazonSmile*)

Fire HD 7, any configuration (at AmazonSmile*)

Fire HD 6 Kids Edition, any configuration(at AmazonSmile*)

Fire HDX 8.9, any configuration(at AmazonSmile*)

Feel free to add comments and questions by commenting on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

9 Responses to “The new Kindle models poll: will you…?”

  1. tuxgirl Says:

    I was looking forward to amazon announcing new kindles, and had even saved my money up. Unfortunately, I really didn’t see anything that I am likely to buy. The voyage is the one I “want” most, but the improvements over the paper white just aren’t enough for me to justify $200 when we already have enough kindles.

    I would’ve considered a kindle basic had it not had touch. My old kindle keyboard is starting to have battery issues, but its the only one the munchkin can read on easily because she still needs to follow along with her finger as she reads.

    The fires, we just don’t need. We have 2 in our family, and they are honestly used pretty rarely as it is. The one in free time gets used mostly for sick days. The other one is lost inside the house at the moment. Both get used on vacation, but that’s the most common use of them.

  2. Tom Semple Says:

    I pre-ordered Voyage 3G, but on reflection, I’m going to cancel and wait before ordering it again. I’ve had too many problems with pre-ordered Kindles in the past. I have had to replace 3 out of 4 of them due to screen issues. Amazon is great about replacements, but still. So while I want one eventually, I will probably wait until next year to be more confident that production issues will have been worked out. With any luck, there will be some discount offers between now and then.

    I’m intrigued by the 6″ Fire HD, however. I have last year’s Fire HD and the new one would be a significant upgrade (mic, cameras, quad core CPU, IPS screen with higher pixel density, more compact form factor). And one can hardly go wrong with the low price.

  3. Curryanne Hostetler Says:

    I agree with Tuxgirl. I was disappointed with the voyage did not include text to speech and the other upgrades are not sufficient to spark me to buy. A year or so ago I got the new hdx 7″ so I could have text to speech. But I don’t like reading on it. So I take both the paperwhite and the fire…not really what I want to do. BRING BACK text to speech on the paperwhite/voyage.

  4. jjhitt Says:

    Here I’ve been on the fence about buying a Kobo Aura HD and now this… more choices. At $150.00 I’d jump on it. At 199 I have to think about it or wait for a perk (like a deal on a year of Prime).

    The two big things on my wish list are still missing: EPUB support and removable storage (a SD card slot). Not surprised as that would pretty much be a change in their business model.

  5. Matt Stern Says:

    ” Kindle Voyage enables you to connect to the Kindle Store and access Wikipedia, all over Wi-Fi ”

    I wonder if that means we won’t be able to use the experimental browser via 3G anymore?

    • Tom Semple Says:

      I would assume it is the same as all the 3G Kindles have been from Kindle Touch onward: 3G browsing is restricted to amazon.com, wikipedia.org, and shelfari.com.
      Whether the ‘experimental browser’ will see any improvements is another question. I’m finding it doesn’t work with DropBox any more, or amazon.com’s Manage Your Content, for example.

  6. Tom Semple Says:

    Video output only requires a $14 ‘SlimPort’ dongle that provides a standard HDMI port. Not sure why there can’t be a cable to go straight from the microUSB to HDMI, but am guessing it probably requires some electronics in addition to wires to convert the signal. That’s another ‘plus’ I forgot to mention when compared to last year’s HD.

    One ‘minus’ is that the new HDs are single-band wifi (2.4GHz only). Most people won’t care, but the 2.4GHz spectrum can be really crowded if you live in an apartment or townhouse, which can cause poor performance. On the other hand, 5GHz doesn’t have the same range. But dual-band is obviously a good thing, too bad it got cut.

Leave a Reply

