Kindle Unlimited dictionaries

Kindle Unlimited dictionaries

My Significant Other made good use of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

I think, by borrowing cookbooks just to get a few recipes.

Now, I did think about whether or not that was taking advantage of the authors.

If you don’t read ten percent of  KU book, the author isn’t compensated.

However, I assume that if you go to a spot more than ten percent of the way into the book, even if you don’t read the material before that, it’s going to count. I don’t know otherwise how they can tell how much you’ve read.

I also think if you had a 400 page book, and ninety percent of your readers were more than 10% of the way through in the first day, Amazon might investigate. I’m just picking the 400 and 90 figures for illustration…I don’t know what they might really be.

The idea of just using a small part of the book is a whole new way of thinking about books, at least for me.

Oh, sure, people go into the public library just to look up one thing, and some people would come into the brick and mortar bookstore when I was a manager and do the same thing…but I didn’t like that. If you were looking at the book to legitimately decide whether you wanted to buy it or not, it seemed like you were “stealing” the material to me.

In the case of KU, it seems different…especially if reading one recipe a third of the way into the book would trigger compensation.

I’m not likely to be looking at a cookbook for a recipe…I just don’t cook that much (although I’m quite good with a microwave).😉

Dictionaries? That I could see.

I read an unabridged dictionary cover to cover when I was a kid, and I do like them.

Especially specialized dictionaries…ones where I might not know the word, or have forgotten it.

Well, I checked

Dictionaries in Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile*)

and there are 375 (including 30  thesauruses).

I do expect at some point I’ll jump in and check a few words in one of these.

A few that stand out:

  • A Sea of Words: A Lexicon and Companion to the Complete Seafaring Tales of Patrick O’Brian by Dean King and John B. Hattendorf: 4.5 stars out of 5, 89 customer reviews
  • Most Comprehensive Origins of Clichés, Proverbs, and Figurative Expressions by Stanley J. St. Clair and S. John St. Clair: 4.8 stars, 9 reviews
  • Roget’s Thesaurus of Words for Intellectuals: Synonyms, Antonyms, and Related Terms Every Smart Person Should… by David Olsen and Michelle Bevilacqua: 4.2 stars, 12 reviews
  • Well-Spoken Thesaurus: The Most Powerful Ways to Say Everyday Words and Phrases by Tom Heehler: 4.0 stars, 18 reviews
  • Let’s Bring Back: The Lost Language Edition: A Collection of Forgotten-Yet-Deligh… Words, Phrases, Praises,… by Lesley M. M. Blume: 4.2 stars, 17 reviews
  • An Uncommon Vocabulary by Jim Boyd: 4.6 stars, 5 reviews
    SALTY LANGUAGE: An Unabridged Dictionary of Marine Corps Slang, Terms and Jargon by Andrew Bufalo: 5.0 stars, 6 reviews
  • The Dictionary of Made-Up Languages: From Elvish to Klingon, The Anwa, Reella, Ealray, Yeht (Real) Origins of… by Stephen D. Rogers: 4.2 stars, 13 reviews
  • Talk the Talk: The Slang of 67 American Subcultures (Second Edition) by Luc Reid: 4.2 stars, 10 reviews
  • The Big Black Book of Very Dirty Words by Alexis Munier: 3.8 stars, 10 reviews
  • The 1333 Most Frequently Used IT Terms (The 1333 Most Frequently Used Terms) by José Luis Leyva: 5.0 stars, 1 review
  • Shesaurus: Dictionary-Thesaurus by Keshia Kola, Marquisha Gatewood and Howard Simpson: 5.0 stars, 1 review
  • Geektionary: From Anime to Zettabyte, An A to Z Guide to All Things Geek by Gregory Bergman and Josh Lambert: 3.9 stars, 10 reviews
  • Chop Squads, Molls, & Suckers A Brief Dictionary of the Vernacular from the 1930s and 1940s by M. S. Scicchitano: no reviews
  • The Dictionary of Vampspeak, Second Edition: Terminology & Lingo in the Vampire Community by Elizabeth Widell: no reviews
  • Dictionary of Imported English: Contributions to the Global Language (Knowledge of the Nerds Book 1) by David Govett: no reviews
  • A Martian Earthly Dictionary by Yavar Dehghani: no reviews

Again, that’s just a small sampling…I do think I’ll read some of those. That last one is particularly odd: it’s supposed to be a humorous dictionary that defines “Earthly” words for Martians. I glanced a bit at it…the English in it is imperfect, and the humor…is intended to be dry, but seems to bring in quite a few stereotypes.

There’s a lot more besides these. You can get travel dictionaries, for example, which could be quite useful to have at no additional cost when on a trip.

Naturally, you don’t have to be a KU member: you can pay for these if you aren’t. I have to say, though, I’m a lot more likely to read some of these as part of KU than I would be if I had to pay for them individually.

You might also consider some for gifts…remember that you can delay a gift book so it is delivered on the appropriate occasion.

I’m really hoping Amazon gives us an elegant way to gift KU this holiday season! Sure, we could do gift certificates, but it would be nice if it was like a gift certificate to Netflix or Audible.com. I might get a lot of those!

What do you think? What has been your favorite dictionary? Do you like reading word origin books just for fun? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

 Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

3 Responses to “Kindle Unlimited dictionaries”

  1. Phink Says:

    I like the idea of the Lost Words dictionary and will have to check it out. I think the best word ever that we no longer use is ‘fortnight’. I love that word and it’s rare for someone to know what I mean when I say it. At work I might say “it doesn’t bother me that we only get paid once a fortnight.”

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I would know what you meant.😉

      I ran into a funny one at work. We have software that does a linguistic analysis of what you say. I said that something was worse whilst exercising, and it did not give me credit for aggravating conditions. It turned out that it did not know the word whilst but if I said it was worse while exercising I did get credit.🙂

      I especially like lost slang and have several books that relate to that.

  2. Phink Says:

    Thing is I rarely use words such as sagacious, fortnight, or fording the river because unfortunately, and unfairly, some say you are trying to put on airs, as we say in the south. Plus, they think I want to take the F-150 down to the river and go mudding LOL.

Leave a Reply

