1-day deal: certified refurb KFHDX 7″ for $159

1-day deal: certified refurb KFHDX 7″ for $159

This is $50 off the model I use every day…and which I like well enough that I’m not itching to upgrade to the recently announced ones:

Certified Refurbished Kindle Fire HDX 7″ Tablet (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Certified refurbished models from Amazon have the same warranty as new, and in fact, I think they tend to be a safer bet. They’ve each been thoroughly checked.

They are limiting people to five apiece, and the deal could sell out. That doesn’t mean the model becomes unavailable quite yet: they may only have a certain number set aside for the sale.

If you buy this one, how will you feel when the new ones come out?

You can see information about them here:

It’s official! New Kindle hardware…and software

Actually, you’ll be able to get the new entry level model (6″) at an equivalent 16GB for $119…and it will have two cameras, front and back.

For $159 (the same price as this), you can get the same size 7″ screen**, that 16GB, and the two cameras.

Looking at that, it’s possible you’ll want to wait…

** Thanks to regular reader and commenter Tom Semple for comments that improved this post

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “1-day deal: certified refurb KFHDX 7″ for $159”

  1. Tom Semple Says:

    In fact, the 7″ HDX is remaining in the lineup until the next product ‘refresh’ 2015 and Amazon will be updating it to the latest FireOS before long. So this is equivalent to a $40 savings over a ‘new’ HDX.

    The HDX has a significantly better display, faster CPU, and dual-band and dual antenna (MIMO) wifi, and Mayday. all of which might argue for spending $40 more than the 16GB 6″ HD, or getting it instead of the 16GB 7″ HD for the same price, but (this is an error in your description) it has only a single, VGA-resolution front facing camera, whereas the new Fire HDs have two cameras, including a 2Mp rear-facing camera.

    Since one of my use cases involves being able to capture paper notes and text for Evernote, I think the lack of the rear camera might be a deal breaker for me in terms of what would otherwise be a great deal. VGA is only 640×480, while 2Mp is more like 1600×1200, enough for print-quality 4″x 6″ photos and about double that for accurate OCR, but VGA is pretty much useless for either application (assuming you could even line up and focus the shot without being able to preview).

    I also like it that the 6″ device is more ‘pocketable’.

    I’ve pre-ordered the 6″ HD/16Gb (guaranteed arrival Oct16). But now I am thinking of getting the HDX as well, and making the tough choice to return one of them after I have them both in hand and I can see if the HD camera can actually do a decent job of capturing paper notes.

    • Tom Semple Says:

      oops, HDX has ‘720p’ front-facing camera, HD’s have VGA camera. Still that is less than the rear-facing cameras on the new HD models, and would have some ergonomic issues in terms of ‘previewing’ what you are trying to take a picture of. another advantage is longer time-between-charges and the special power mode that saves more power while in the reading app. I think I’m talking myself into clicking Buy on the HDX refurb, and perhaps even cancelling my HD preorder after I have the HDX in hand. My smartphone is probably going to be better for capturing paper images for Evernote, as it has 5MP camera with LED light.

      • Tom Semple Says:

        I did order the HDX refurb. I think I’ll like it much better than the HD6/16, despite lack of rear camera. Though I think I’ll play with the latter before sending it back, if only to preview the OS update that will come to the HDX, and for that rare side-by-side opportunity.

  2. Brian Hartman Says:

    When I went to look at the deals, they were selling a 32 gb Certified Refurbished Kindle Fire HD 8.9″ 4G LTE Wireless Tablet for $169. I don’t plan to use the 4g but I’ve been waiting for a good price and this was it. The 32 gig comes in handy as I load it up with comic book trade paperbacks. The real attraction for me, though, is that hdmi out port. No wireless gadgets to mess with, I can plug it into the tv with a 5 dollar cable and let the wife go crazy on the weekend!

    Thanks for sending me to the deals page!

    -Brian

Leave a Reply

