New: set your default delivery device for Kindle books

New: set your default delivery device for Kindle books

===

NOTE: if you are reading this on a site called


Kindle Updates
Your source for the latest Kindle updates and news

they have reproduced my copyrighted material without my permission. They are infringing on my copyright.

They are also reproducing posts from other sites, I presume again without having obtained authorization (although I do not know that for sure).

If you are able to contact them, please ask them to stop. I would be satisfied with that outcome, and would rather not take additional action (I have already alerted Google’s AdSense to the situation, and they appear to have removed their sponsorship).

Thank you for your consideration of the rights of authors.

===

Well, this should reduce the questions which get asked in the Amazon Kindle forums!

For years, people have been confused by where a book goes when they order one from the USA Kindle store.

In the past, there were two answers to that:

If you ordered from your device (from a non-Fire Kindle, a Fire, or a Kindle reader app), it would first go to that device. That’s if you are ordering from within the Kindle store…not using your browser to go to Amazon.com.

If you were at Amazon.com (on your desktop or laptop, for example, or in your browser), you could choose which device got it first…but it would default to your first Kindle (including Fires) alphabetically.

That led to people naming their Kindles in special ways, to drive one up to the top of the list. Instead of “Bufo’s Kindle”, for example, it might be “AAA Bufo’s Kindle”.

Today, for the first time, I was asked to set a default delivery device.

Before I tell you how, it’s important that I point out that you might not have it yet.

Amazon is big on A/B testing: in other words, some people get something and some people don’t while they experiment with it.

A new feature might work for me, and not for you…or vice versa.

It might work in one browser and not another.

It might work in one way for one person (a button might be on the left side of the screen or the choice might be in a menu) and a different way for another person (button on the right, for example).

That said, here is what I am seeing.

When I go to

http://www.amazon.com/myk…formerly called “Manage Your Kindle” and now called “Manage Your Content and Devices

and click or tap on

Your Devices

I see a

Set as default device

link under a selected non-Fire Kindle or Kindle reader app.

For Fires tablets, it’s in the Device Actions menu.

It isn’t available for my Fire Phone or my Fire TV, although they both show on this page (my Fire TV doesn’t have a Kindle app, but my Fire Phone does).

When you set that,

Default Device

appears under the device’s name.

That’s it.🙂

As far as I can tell, you can change it whenever you want.

Once I’d done that, the “deliver to” dropdown on a book’s Amazon product page changed to showing the default device first.

Opening the dropdown, the choices looked like they did before…same order, with hardware Kindles and Fires alphabetically first, followed by apps alphabetically.

It did not change the behavior when ordering from a device…when I ordered from my

Kindle Fire HDX (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

(through the Kindle store, not the browser), it went automatically to that device, not the default device I had designated.

Even those this is a little thing, it’s a big improvement!

A device we don’t use much happens to come alphabetically first…I had sometimes been forgetting to change that, and the book would just sit as a pending delivery forever.

Oh, I could still get it on another device by downloading it from the Cloud/archives, or sending it from that MYK page above, but I really don’t like having those pending deliveries out there (maybe they’ll let us cancel them at some point).

One other tip.

I often get books, and would prefer that they not be on any of my devices right away. I’d rather read them some time in the future, and don’t need them taking up local memory (I usually only keep about ten Kindle store books on any of my devices at a time).

While we can get apps and have them go only to the Cloud, that’s not currently an option for Kindle books.

However, you can get the free Kindle Cloud Reader

http://read.amazon.com

and set that as your default device (I checked…yes, you can do that).

That way, by default, it will go to that Cloud reader, which means the book won’t take up memory on your Kindles and Fires…until you download it.

Remember, that’s only if you order in a browser…if you order it in the store on one of your devices, it will go to that device first.

I’m very happy to see Amazon still making these kinds of asked-for improvements!

If you get a chance, take a look and see if you have the option. If you don’t, I’d be interested to hear that. If your interface is significantly different from what I described above, I’d be interested to hear that as well.

What else would be on your list of tweaks (minor changes) you’d like to see? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

17 Responses to “New: set your default delivery device for Kindle books”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I just checked — I have the default device feature on my Amazon contents page (I run the Chrome browser latest version 38). Since I was there I decided to see if there were any other differences. One thing I noticed (and you sort of alluded to in your post) not only can you set any device to be the default, but if you wish, you can set the default to any of the reader apps you may have installed on your PC’s, non-Amazon tablets, or smartphones.

    I have over 15 of these apps (on Windows 8 PC’s you can have two different reader apps: one for the desktop, and one “start screen” universal app). These are different programs with different feature sets depending upon the device on which it is installed. Several tech reviewers have expressed considerable annoyance at the feature disparity among the different reader app implementations, and that Amazon does not seem to spend much effort on keeping their non-amazon reader apps current, or consistent.

    When you have as many reader apps installed as I do, it’s very difficult to keep straight what device each app is installed on. I wish Amazon would instead just create one web app (not a web page, but an app that resides on Amazon’s cloud), that can be “associated/paired” with various devices. With only the one app, Amazon would find keeping feature parity easier. They could then also (on the devices page) list the web app and underneath list all the H/W device names with which the app is associated/paired.

    It used to be that when you pre-ordered a kindle device, that device immediately appeared in your devices list far in advance of delivery. They don’t appear to be doing that: I pre-ordered a Fire HDX 2nd gen — it does not appear on my devices list, but it is on the my orders page under pre-orders.

    I’m still waiting for them to add cloud collections management capabilities to my Content & Devices page (:grin).

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Yes, I mentioned the apps…that’s a great part of this!

      Inconsistency of features is one issue, although I assume some of that has to do with operating systems and licensing.

      I do still find it bizarre that multiple versions of the same app on the same device seem to be created when they do an update. Although, double-checking just now, I only have two for my Kindle for PC (on the same computer), and I don’t have a lot of multiples. It could be that it doesn’t happen on the Fire Phone when it did on my Galaxy S4, though.

  2. clintbradford Says:

    Find out who they are using for Web hosting, and contact that legal department (WHOIS search will do it). Advise them that their client is violating your copyright and infringing … I have had several cases of this myself, and calls using the “cease and desist” due to copyright violations are usually handled quickly. -Clint Bradford

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Clint!

      Excellent suggestion!

      I did use

      https://who.is/whois/https://kindleupdates.com

      and found GoDaddy as the host. They had a reporting system for copyright infringement, which I have now done.

      Hopefully, it gets resolved quickly. I don’t like conflict, and didn’t like putting that message in the post…but I couldn’t see another good way to get to them, and I’m not the only one apparently affected by this site. It also prompted your comment, which may end up resolving the situation.🙂

      Thanks again!

      • clintbradford Says:

        I would also CALL GoDaddy. I have been a customer of theirs for 10 years. You CAN get them on the phone … SO – if no reply to the form you filled out in a couple days, I’d call ’em.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Clint!

        I’ll try that if the material is still up on that blog in a few days…thanks again!

  3. Zebras Says:

    Bufo:

    The default device option worked on my computer. I have Firefox.

    I would love the ability to have some of my devices/apps synched with each other, and some not. As the primary person on my account, I have several I switch between, and I just end up reading different books at the same time to avoid having to find my page each time I switch device.

    On the flip side, since all the devices/apps are not synched, the system should consider the first time downloading to a different device as a new read, and start at the beginning.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      Yes, I also find that, even though we don’t sync, the first time I download a book it’s set to wherever my Significant Other has read it…odd, based on the intent of not syncing.

  4. Elizabeth Says:

    Well said” “Even those this is a little thing, it’s a big improvement!”
    Great tip. Thanks.
    P.S. I prefer the Cloud Reader as the default app and then choose what I want to read on my device later.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Elizabeth!

      Thanks for the kind words!

      Yep, I think the Cloud Reader makes sense as a default device…

  5. Tania Marshall Says:

    Thanks! I changed the default device to my renamed device without the ! preceding my name. My browser is Chrome.

  6. Tania Marshall Says:

    Oh… and I noticed I have two different Kindle Android apps for my phone. Then I realized I had installed two versions. The regular one and the Kindle for Samsung app. The only reason I did that is because Samsung offers one free book a month through the app. Similar to Kindle First, it’s one of four titles in different genres. It’s called Samsung Book Deals. But they are not necessarily new titles and this month, none enticed me. I get it via the app on my phone, but it shows up in my regular Kindle library to be read on all my devices.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tania!

      I think your my first reader to actually talk about using the Kindle for Samsung app…I appreciate that field report!

  7. BillC Says:

    When I buy a book from Amazon, I select that it should send it to my Kindle keyboard. However they always go to all the Kindles on my account, including my significant others keyboard and both of our Fires. Same if she orders a book, I get it to. Is there a way to stop that?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, BillC!

      The way it should work is this:

      When you order the book and have it sent to your Kindle Keyboard, it will download to that device.

      It will also be stored in your Kindle Cloud, so that you can download it to other devices on that account…should you so choose.

      It appears on your devices (the cover will show up on the Carousels on the Fires), but it hasn’t actually been downloaded to that device until you tap on it to start the download.

      It just shows up there so that you could easily download it to that device if desired.

      You could set up “parental controls” sorts of things to control that, but for many people, that’s an added complication that isn’t necessary, since the books aren’t actually taking up memory on the devices.

      If you’d like to hear more about those set-up options, let me know.

      • BillC Says:

        Thanks. BTW, have been a subscriber for over a year, delivered to my K Keyboard. Have really enjoyed it. Can I get it delivered to my HDX? Also, got my Echo about 2 weeks ago, looking forward to your input. Already, its the way we make our shopping lists! No more forgetting the list on the fridge. Thanks again.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, BillC!

        Thanks for being a subscriber! That really helps enable this, and I appreciate it.🙂

        Amazon isn’t set up to send the Kindle blogs directly to Fire tablets, although I really wish that was possible (many of my readers have asked about it over the years).

        However, you can read ILMK on your HDX.

        I really like

        Flipboard

        which is free, and a full-featured news magazine experience.

        If you just want to read ILMK and other blogs, I’ve installed

        gReader | Feedly | The Old Reader | RSS | News

        for my Significant Other and have it on my Kindle Fire HDX as well. It’s very straightforward, and is a good way to simply read blogs on your tablet. Oh, and it’s also free.🙂

Leave a Reply

