Fire TV Stick: new orders expected to deliver in 2015

Fire TV Stick: new orders expected to deliver in 2015

I warned people not to wait!

Amazon’s newest piece of hardware, the

Fire TV Stick (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

how has an expected delivery date of January 1, 2015 for new orders from Amazon.com. Gee, if  you haven’t gotten your New Year’s Day gift, you can still just make it.  If you need it for an event before that, it doesn’t look like you’ll make it (although there might be a strong secondary market for it, depending on how things go.

This is just a quick note…I’m having some dental work done early tomorrow, and they suggest I take one of the “anti-anxiety” meds the night before, which I have done. It doesn’t seem to be impacting me yet, but I may not notice….and this entry may get really weird (which the whole blog can be, but this should be noticeable.

I will say that I don’t see the Voice Remote in the top 100…no surprise there.

Have to head off to bed…I should be good to write something tomorrow night.

Update: everything went fine.🙂 SQUEAMISH ALERT (in case hearing about this might make you go “ewww”).😉 I had a root canal. This is the second one I’ve had recently, and they were sort of connected. While I’m not a big person for taking medications (I don’t drink alcohol, for example…I only drink water), I’m not opposed. In both cases, my endodontist had me take Halcion…and for me, it works great! I actually don’t remember the procedure happening at all. I remember being at the office, but there is a memory gap. The negative is that my Significant Other has to drive me to (I take it an hour before I go) and after. No pain involved. It’s a lot less stressful for me than a teeth cleaning! I did sleep some afterwards (and I’m not a daytime napper), but I’m ready now to get back into the swing of things on the computer! I’m even pretty sure that this paragraph isn’t complete medication-induced gibberish.😉

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Fire TV Stick: new orders expected to deliver in 2015”

  1. mightyh Says:

    Aarrgh! The dentist!

    Good luck Bufo!

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Did you see this NY Times article about the Fire TV Stick and other Amazon technology?

    http://www.nytimes.com/2014/10/30/technology/personaltech/looking-for-a-design-behind-amazons-devices.html?ref=personaltech&_r=0

    I don’t know why the writer is so negative. I can’t say I’ve ever seen a naked mole rat, didn’t think the Kindle One was ugly!

    I’m sending positive thoughts for your dental appointment. Hopefully by the time you check comments, it will all be successfully over!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I have seen naked mole rats…and I like them.🙂 The National Zoo (in Washington, D.C.) is a great zoo, and has an exhibit of them…they are sort of in a giant Habitrail.

      http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/SmallMammals/fact-nakedmolerat.cfm

      Didn’t realize the zoo had a webcam for them:

      http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/SmallMammals/default.cfm?Cam=NMR

      My Significant Other, who is not a fan of rodents, doesn’t like the look of them, and I would guess most people are more in that category.🙂 I tend to think rodents are cute…

      Interesting article, but it’s one of those where I get the sense the writer just hasn’t engaged at the right level with Amazon products. There is a tendency, unsurprisingly, for tech writers to approach them as hardware first. The attraction generally has been from content first: “I like to read books, here’s another way to do it” as opposed to “I like gadgets…oh, look, this one does books”.

      Your thoughts may have helped…all’s good on the dental front right now.

  3. Zebras Says:

    Hope all goes well with the dentist. I’m one of those people who has been so morbidly afraid of the dentist, that I’ve probably lost teeth because of it, and no one thought of anti-anxiety medicine for me! I am now more afraid of the consequences of teeth neglect then of the dentist, so its not so bad anymore.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Zebras!

      I was like you, and I still have some irrational anxiety when I go to the regular dentist. It’s at a point like that that any aspirations I have to be a Vulcan come up woefully short.😉 I can will myself through a teeth cleaning and be pretty civil through it, but I will leave with a bit of fear sweat.😉 I had a gap where I didn’t go to the dentist for much too long a time.

      The techniques, though, have gotten so much better that my anxiety is greatly reduced. This root canal thing? Didn’t have an elevated heartbeat the whole time…and I pointed out to my dentist that I though I would need one. Yes, that’s right, I asked for a root canal.😉 They gave me Triazolam (Halcion), which is also for isomnia. My understanding is that you wouldn’t want to take it regularly, but I feel okay doing it for a specific purpose like this. Here’s a government rundown:

      http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/meds/a684004.html

Leave a Reply

