Deal of the Day: refurbed Paperwhite for $79

Deal of the Day: refurbed Paperwhite for $79

This is a great deal, and I suspect they may run out.

As one of today’s deals, you can get a

Certified Refurbished Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High Resolution Display with Next-Gen Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

for $79…the same price as the current entry level Kindle (what I call the “Mindle Touch”, which doesn’t have a light).

The Paperwhite is the most comfortable reading experience I’ve ever had (including paper), and I recommend this one.

As far as refurbished goes (meaning most likely that someone returned it, it was totally checked out by Amazon and made like new), I always think that’s fine from Amazon. They give you the same warranty, and my intuition is that you are actually less likely to get a “lemon” because they’ve been checked more  carefully.

I do buy devices new from Amazon, though, but that’s often because I’m in a hurry to get them when they are first released.😉 Part of that is that I want to write about them for you.

If you were looking for something to be

A Kindle for the guest room

or to get something as a gift for a kid or as a spare, this would be an excellent choice.

It’s honestly hard to tell the first and second generation Paperwhites apart by the product pages…the look very similar. At first glance, I’m not even sure on this one.

One thing that’s worth noting: it does say it will have some of the upcoming features, including Family Library (which lets you share some books between accounts for the first time).

If you are interested, I wouldn’t wait too long on this. It already says it will ship in three to five weeks, and I wouldn’t be surprised if they sell out this morning.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

10 Responses to “Deal of the Day: refurbed Paperwhite for $79”

  1. hsextant Says:

    I believe it is the 2nd gen Paperwhite. I bought my kid a first gen in 2012 and I compared the weights, by looking at my old order sales page. His was 7.5 ounces no 3G, and the refurb is 7.3 ounces with no 3G same as the new Paperwhites. The displays have different descriptions also from my son’s 2012 unit and the refurb and new on sale now.

    I am really tempted for a loaner unit. But Christmas is coming.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, hsextant!

      Checking the weights was smart! Yes, it’s probably a KPW2, then…thanks!

      • hsextant Says:

        It is back to $99.00. Still 3 to 5 weeks delivery. That was fast.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, hsextant!

        Sorry if I didn’t make it clear that was a one-day deal. Amazon does those every day, although some deals are designed to last longer.

  2. alanchurch Says:

    You write”The Paperwhite is the most comfortable reading experience I’ve ever had (including paper), and I recommend this one.”
    How does the PW compare withe the Voyage?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, alanchurch!

      I haven’t used the Voyage (although I have requested a review copy).

      The Voyage has about half again the pixels per inch of the Paperwhite (300 vs 212). It claims better contrast, and has a different glass styling.

      My guess is that the PagePress sensors create less friction (a smoother experience) between you and the book (rather than having to more consciously “turn the page”).

      • alanchurch Says:

        I’m shocked! I thought you bought each new kindle as it came out. You have let us down.🙂. Would you predict that the voyage is the most comfortable …?

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, alanchurch!

        I have bought most of them…never had a Kindle DX, though. On the Mindle Touch, I didn’t buy it, but did get a review copy (which I had to return) to Amazon. I’m quite happy with our Paperwhite 2, though, so I don’t really see the need for the Voyage at this point. I have been thinking that we may need another Kindle: I’m reading at night on what is supposed to be our guest Kindle (since our Mindle broke), and we do have guests coming for the holidays…

        My guess is that the ppi wouldn’t make it more comfortable for me, although it might make it crisper. In my response before, I mentioned that the PagePress might make it a smoother experience, and that would be more comfortable.

  3. Tom Semple Says:

    And now refurb is back to $109.99. That does not seem like a very good deal, especially if (as I suspect) these are 2GB PW2’s instead of the current 4GB PW2’s (the description says ‘over 1000 ebooks’ where for new PW it says ‘thousands of ebooks’). In any case, I’d much rather spend $10 more and get a new one than wait 4-5 weeks for a refurb that might not be up to snuff.

    While it is not a direct comparison, I recently had to return a ‘refurb’ Fire HDX7 because of excessive blue ‘bleed’ around the edges of light-colored screen images, which I found distracting. This was a ‘feature’ of early production HDX7’s that was apparently corrected later on. It was disappointing to discover that they continued to sell units that would not meet the higher standard that was established later. My disappointment was erased only by my delight with my Fire HD6, which I’m sure I would have preferred to a ‘good’ HDX7, despite the latter’s better specs overall.

    At any rate, this experience does not inspire my confidence that refurbs undergo any special scrutiny, apart from re-flashing with the latest firmware, verifying that they turn on, wiping the fingerprints off and re-packaging. e-ink screen defects (particularly with the more complex layers involved with front-lighting) are not always that obvious without careful scrutiny in a variety of conditions (ideally using sensitively calibrated equipment rather than trusting to human judgement). I’ve had to exchange 3 of the 4 Kindles I’ve pre-ordered because the screen had some issue. So my inclination now is to purchase later in the production cycle, when some of the kinks have been ironed out. That pretty much rules out refurb Kindles for me.

    • hsextant Says:

      That is a good point about the memory upgrade. The $79 dollar job only stated over a 1000 books. I agree at $99 or $109 a refurb doesn’t make sense, but a 79 loaner was starting to tingle my wallet but not quite! What would really put me in the market would be a $39 “mindle” refurb for a loaner. I have an m-edge light and a spare cover that would work fine, for a loaner unit.

      I agree always wait for a while for the bugs to be worked out. A lot of money is made by appealing to one’s sense of the fate of the planet depending on one getting the latest and greatest tomorrow. I will never be in line at the Apple store for the iPhone 37.

Leave a Reply

