PKD’s The Man in the High Castle to be an Amazon TV series

PKD’s The Man in the High Castle to be an Amazon TV series

I wonder how many authors have had a higher percentage of their books adapted for movies or TV than Philip K. Dick (PKD)?😉

Well, of course, if somebody only wrote one book and it was adapted, that’s 100%, so I guess it will be quite a few.

Still, the list of PKD adaptations is long (although, again, thinking about it, the author’s bibliography would be much longer). I guess it’s also the impactfulness of the movies: Blade Runner; Total Recall; Minority Report; and the Adjustment Bureau come to mind.

Now, it’s been announced that one of the pilot’s for Amazon’s 2015 “season” will be an adaptation of Dick’s Hugo-winning novel

The Man in the High Castle (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

There are some big names involved, including Ridley Scott (the PKD adaptation Blade Runner) as a producer, Frank Spotnitz (The X-Files) writing the pilot, and featuring Rufus Sewell (Dark City) among others.

The book is an “alternate history” story. I’ve never quite been comfortable with labeling those en masse as science fiction, although many people do.

AH essentially looks at what would have happened if history was different in some way. In this case, what if the Axis powers had won World War II?

This is a well-reviewed book, and has been critically-lauded. It’s complex, though: adapting it for television effectively would mean being in it for the long haul.

Here’s something nice: it is part of

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

so you can read it at no additional cost if you are a subscriber to that service…you can beat it to the screen, if you want.😉 It also has an audiobook version and is Whispersync for Voice ready.

It’s nice to see something this ambitious and this well-pedigreed coming as an original production to Amazon: no question, the industry thinks that model is working.

What do you think? What other books would you like to see adapted? Are some books better as TV series than movies? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “PKD’s The Man in the High Castle to be an Amazon TV series”

  1. Judy Schechter Says:

    Hi Bufo, OMG, I’m really freaking out because my KFHDX 7 just updated to Fire OS 4.1.1 and as far as I’m concerned Amazon has destroyed my tablet! I hate every single thing they changed! The icons are ridiculously tiny and what’s with the sound the keyboard makes now? And the letters on the keyboard are miniscule. And I almost had a heart attack when all of my book and app collections disappeared (they eventually showed up). Ironically, just yesterday I received the Samsung Galaxy Tab 4, 10.1 inch tablet that I won through a giveaway contest, and I seriously don’t think I will be using my KFHDX anymore. The experience has been destroyed by this software update. Has your device updated yet? Are you as unhappy
    as I am? Shame on Amazon! Making all of the icons and keyboard letters the size of an ant was completely unnecessary.. Wow, try taking a screen shot, they replaced the very satisfying click with a really obnoxious sound!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Judy!

      I’m sorry to hear that!

      I would recommend you contact Kindle Support. My Significant Other’s KFHDX 7 updated on its own over wi-fi, and I downloaded the update and did it manually…and in both of our cases, the icons are bigger and considerably easier to read (that’s part of the way that it looks “crisper” I mentioned when I wrote about the update).

      I’ve taken a screenshot, but I don’t think I can put it in this comment.

      Speaking of the screenshot, yes, the sound is different…it’s now more of a digital sound than a physical shutter analog. For me, that’s fine.

      I didn’t have any problems with Collections…that worked smoothly.

      The keyboard letters look fine: better than they did before.

      I don’t usually have the sound on for keypresses (you control that in Settings – Language & Keyboard – Keyboard Settings). I turned it on to hear the sound: it just sounds kind of mutey and “thudding” to me. I would have expected more of a physical analog clicking.

      Bottom line: my guess Amazon will be ashamed that your Kindle Fire did not update properly, and you did not get the improved visual look which was the design. I’m guessing it’s the design, because both of ours have it, and if what you are describing was widespread, I think I would have heard about it in the Kindle forums and such.

      I would suggest you use Mayday (Home – pull down from the top), so they can see what it is on your Fire. Alternatively, you can contact them through

      http://www.amazon.com/kindlesupport

      I understand how the difficulty with seeing yours must be very frustrating. I suspect that is, not unreasonably, coloring your reaction to some of the other changes. I would get that fixed first, and then see how you feel about the other elements after a while.

      Oh, and here is my post on the update:

      https://ilmk.wordpress.com/2014/11/07/profiles-are-here-for-the-kfhdx/

      Again, sorry to hear it didn’t go well for you.

Leave a Reply

