Kindle Unlimited page is down: new features?

Kindle Unlimited page is down: new features?

I saw this on the Kindle Forum and checked it myself. The

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is down right now. I am able to get to it through the Bookstore on my Kindle Fire HDX 7″.

My intuition here is they may be doing some major update to it with new features. That’s purely a guess…it could just be a routine glitch, of course, or, I suppose, some sort of cyber attack.

The most likely thing is this resolves quickly and we never know why, but I’ll keep an eye on it.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to “Kindle Unlimited page is down: new features?”

  1. jjhitt Says:

    Part of the deal with Hachette, maybe?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, jjhitt!

      My guess is that it was (past tense because it’s back up now) unrelated to that (Simon & Schuster books haven’t, I believe, appeared in KU after Amazon made a deal with them), but it may have been related to the updates announced this morning. Still need to dig into those, but it’s possible that Family Library impacts Kindle Unlimited…you might not be able to share KU books across the accounts, but I’m not sure yet.

  2. smlbetsy Says:

    Perhaps adding some Hachett books?????

    • smlbetsy Says:

      CBS reporting that an agreement has been reached.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, smlbetsy!

      I don’t think they’d need to take the site down for that: they add books to it frequently without that being an issue. I think the Family Library, which is part of updates announced today, may have impacted it.

Leave a Reply

