Gold Box Deal of the Day: $140 (!) off 3rd gen 8.9″ KFHDX

Gold Box Deal of the Day: $140 (!) off 3rd gen 8.9″ KFHDX

If you want a bigger screen (and don’t need the absolute latest version), this is a good deal!

It is the Gold Box Deal of the Day, which means there is a definite countdown on when it ends (about 11:59 PM Pacific Time on Monday).

Kindle Fire HDX 8.9″, HDX Display, Wi-Fi, 32 GB – Includes Special Offers (Previous Generation – 3rd) (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

This one is not old enough to have the HDMI out (which I used to use…moot point, really, with my Fire TV, which works better than the HDMI did**). It is new enough, though, to have Mayday, which is, in my mind, one of the greatest Customer Service improvements in many years.

It does have both a front and rear-facing camera.

Even though the sale officially goes until the end of the day, they could sell out before that.

Also, do check the price before you click that Buy button: this won’t be the same in all countries. I’m reporting an Amazon.com deal. It’s $259 in the least expensive qualified configuration…$120 less than the current generation equivalent.

Don’t wait if you want it…

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

** Some apps would detect the HDMI cable and refuse to play the video. Mirroring the screen through the Fire TV (which means that whatever is on the tablet’s screen shows on the TV screen) eliminates that issue

Thanks to reader Sandi B, whose comment helped improve the accuracy of this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

5 Responses to “Gold Box Deal of the Day: $140 (!) off 3rd gen 8.9″ KFHDX”

  1. Sandi B Says:

    Calvin,

    You are nearly always right, but I hope you are wrong about this!

    “One of the things you won’t have is the ability to download Amazon Prime movies…that was considered by many to be one of the most significant improvements.”

    I specifically wanted this feature, and it’s listed on the product page. I’ve already ordered it, but will send it back if it doesn’t do offline movies😦

    from their product page:

    “NEW—Prime members can now download over half of our collection of Prime Instant Video movies and TV shows to Kindle Fire HD and Kindle Fire HDX tablets. Watch downloaded videos anywhere—on a plane, on vacation, in the car, or wherever you don’t have a wireless connection. Prime Instant Video is the only U.S. online video subscription streaming service that offers offline viewing, and it’s included at no additional cost.”

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Sandi!

      “…nearly always right” is probably accurate…not 100%.🙂 You are right, and I’ve updated the post and credited you.

      I do have a reason, if not an excuse.😉 I have a cold or something right now, and weirdly for me, when I get a cold I tend not to sleep (I know a lot of people sleep a lot when they are sick). I was writing that after a second night of about three hours sleep, and feeling a bit out of it…just made a mistake.

      I really appreciate you taking the time and making the effort to correct this for other people’s benefit!

      One little thing: Calvin is my last name, Bufo is my first name. Don’t worry about it, it happens a lot.🙂

      • Sandi B Says:

        You are very welcome! Sorry you’re under the weather, and sorry for getting your name wrong!🙂

    • Teresa Says:

      I have the model that is on sale, and I download prime shows all the time,as well as my Dish dvr programming. The WiFi at my job is awful so i appreciate this feature a lot!
      Thanks, Teresa S.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Teresa!

        Great! I have donwloaded Prime shows to have on at my office as well. It wouldn’t be an appropriate use of the wi-fi available there to watch a streaming video…even at lunch.

Leave a Reply

