J.D. Powers: Fires more satisfying than iPads (take $20 off)

J.D. Powers: Fires more satisfying than iPads (take $20 off)

This one was interesting!

Amazon has given us a discount on something before when they ranked highest in Customer Service (which they did for nine years in a row in the Foresee survey for the holidays, through the most recent 2013 season).

This time, it’s a J.D. Powers survey on how satisfied customers are with their tablets.

Fire users said they were more satisfied than iPad users…and they were more satisfied than users of the other tablets in the survey as well.

Now, it’s worth noting that

the survey (summarized)

does include price as a factor, but it is only 11% of the score.

iPads and Samsungs were within 11% of Amazon in the total scores, but Amazon’s 827 out of 1,000 was the highest.

To celebrate, Amazon is giving $20 off for today on the

Fire HD 7, 7″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

That makes it $119 rather than $139.

Check the price before you click the Buy button, though…this probably only applies in the USA, and I have readers around the world.

You can also get the smaller 6″ screen version for $99 (look for more sales as we come up to the holidays).

Fire HD 6, 6″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8 GB – Includes Special Offers, Black (at AmazonSmile*)

We just bought one of the six inchers to be our new guest Kindle. I like the idea of having a Paperwhite as a guest Kindle, but, well, our Mindle (the entry level Kindle) broke a while back, and I’ve been using the Paperwhite which was intended as a guest Kindle. We have a couple people coming to stay with us for the holidays, and I decided to go with the tablet instead of the EBR (E-Book Reader).

I did that in part because of cost, in part because of availability (if I could have gotten a Voyage by the time I needed it, I would have done that, with the Paperwhite going back to being the guest Kindle),  and in part because I like having a variety of devices.🙂

It arrived yesterday, but I haven’t set it up yet. I’ll get to that by the weekend, certainly.

Today’s sale is one where I wouldn’t expect them to sell out of it, and I do expect more opportunities to get bargains before the holidays. Still, it’s a savings of $20…two months of Kindle Unlimited.😉

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a Reply

