The 10 most reviewed Young Adult Kindle titles on Amazon.com

The 10 most reviewed Young Adult titles on Amazon.com

The first of the two movies adapting the last of the Hunger Games novels by Suzanne Collins looks like it will have the biggest opening of the year so far:

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 at IMDb

I thought I’d take a look at what are the most reviewed Young Adult titles in the Kindle store at Amazon.com.

I like using the “most reviewed” sort…it tends to give me books which have had a significant impact (although I think it is skewed towards more recent books…people don’t tend to write a review of a book they read decades ago, even if they loved it). “Bestselling” is much more volatile.

I’ll say first, you might be surprised at what is categorized as Young Adult. I believe Amazon doesn’t do that, that the publisher does (I know that’s true with independently published books using Amazons Kindle Direct Publishing). Publishers often do it for marketing reasons (I’ve seen the same book categorized as fiction and non-fiction), and with Young Adult being such a hot category right now, they may define something as that largely to help the sales.

Okay, let’s take a look:

#1: The Two Towers
by J.R.R. Tolkien
book 2 of the Lord of the Rings trilogy
4.6 out of 5 stars
6,431 customer reviews at the time of writing
Available through Kindle Unlimited (KU)

#2: The Two Return of the King
by J.R.R. Tolkien
book 3 of the Lord of the Rings trilogy
4.6 out of 5 stars
6,431 customer reviews at the time of writing
Available through Kindle Unlimited (KU)

Hm…the exact same number of reviews and rankings suggests that they are perhaps consolidating the reviews of LotR (Lord of the Rings).

#3 The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by Stephen Chbosky
4.5 stars
6,263 reviews
Not KU

#4 The Life of Pi
by Yann Martel
4.3 stars
5,887 reviews
KU

#5 The Host
by Stephenie Meyer
book 1 in The Host series
4.4 stars
5,570 reviews
not KU

#6 Animal Farm
by George Orwell
4.5 stars
5,282 reviews
KU

#7 The Divergent Series complete collection
by Veronica Roth
4.3 stars
5,142 reviews
not KU

#8 The Maze Runner
by James Dashner
book 1 in the Maze Runner series
4.3 stars
4,739 reviews
not KU

#9 If I Stay
by Gayle Forman
book 1 in the If I Stay series
4.2 stars
4,459 reviews
not KU

#10 Ready Player Run
by Ernest Cline
4.6 stars
4,084 reviews

Interesting!

I’ve read The Lord of Rings, the Life of Pi, and Animal Form…I’m impressed with a forty  percent  match up.

Also, many of them have had movies released fairly recently. I’m sure that has an impact on sales.

Again, I like the results I’m getting by adding this

&sort=review-count-rank

to the end of the URL (Uniform or Universal Resource Locator…website address) at the top of the screen. The books are generally ones I recognize.🙂

If you want to see more Young Adult books here is the search I did:

Most reviewed Young Adult books in USA Kindle store (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

There are 92,447 books in that category at the time of writing…I’m sure you can find something.😉 Oh, and 34,234 of them are available through Kindle Unlimited.

What do you think? Are there any books here you would not consider to be Young Adult? Should publishers get to pick categories for marketing reasons, or should there be some objective judgement? What’s your favorite Young Adult title I didn’t mention? What was your age range when you were reading Young Adult books (I still read them now)? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to “The 10 most reviewed Young Adult Kindle titles on Amazon.com”

  1. J Lynn Chase Says:

    I do not consider
    “The Host”, but rather sci-fi. I read this and “The Maze Runner” a long time ago. Is there a way you can tell if the category changed? I’m thinking Host was not originally listed in YA.
    Even though I, like you, read what looks like a good read. Classification of a Novel means very little to me.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, J!

      I think that’s a case of the two genres not being mutually exclusive: something can be both science fiction and Young Adult. The idea of “Young Adult” as a genre unto itself has always seemed strange to me…it’s an audience, not a topic, right? Yes, there are likely to be some similarities (levels of sex, violence, and profanity, for example…and lack of focus on mortgages)😉 but young adults read a lot of different things.

      I took a look at Archive.org’s Wayback Machine, but you can’t search the archived pages like you can live Amazon…my guess is that The Host was originally both science fiction and Young Adult, in terms of classification. I may look a bit more later.

      Edited to add: okay, I found these classifications for The Host on April 1, 2013:

      Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Contemporary Fiction
      Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Romance > Paranormal > Ghosts
      Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Romance > Science Fiction
      Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > Alien Invasion
      Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Teen & Young Adult

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Back when I was a young adult, and dinosaurs roamed the earth, my local library categorized books for teens with the letter J meaning juvenile. I think I like YA better as a category name.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I remember them!

      Yes, “juvenile” has a pejorative sense for a lot of people…and not just because of “juvenile delinquent” (not a term I think we hear any more). I think “Young Adult” is to some extent marketing: when else is a thirteen year old called an “adult” in mainstream American society? Sure, there are some groups that declare thirteen as being an adult, but we don’t do it legally (generally…exceptions are made) until you are 18.

  3. Excerpt from Twisted #teasertuesday | pdworkman.com Says:

    […] The 10 most reviewed Young Adult Kindle titles on Amazon.com […]

Leave a Reply

