Cyber Monday: 2000 books, Fire TV sale

Cyber Monday: 2000 books, Fire TV sale

It’s Cyber Monday, and although all of the “sale days” have gotten a bit fuzzy and extended (not unlike certain novels I could name)😉, it’s still a big day. It may be the biggest online shopping day of the year.

Amazon is stepping up to the screen with 2,034 (!) Kindle Daily Deals on e-books:

Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

This is a great opportunity to buy gifts for others at a big savings, or for yourself. Remember that you can delay the delivery of an e-book gift for the appropriate date.

Here are just a few of the more than 2,000 that caught my eye:

  • Upstairs at the White House: My Life with the First Ladies by J. B. West and Mary Lynn Kotz
  • The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy
  • We Were Soldiers Once . . . and Young: Ia Drang-The Battle
  • That Changed the War in Vietnam by Harold G. Moore and Joseph L. Galloway
  • Boy’s Life by Robert R. McCammon
  • Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown
  • Exodus by Leon Uris
  • West with the Night by Beryl Markham
  • The Fifties by David Halberstram
  • All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot
  • Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater
  • Lost Horizon by James Hilton
  • This Perfect Day by Ira Levin (really ripe for a movie adaptation)
  • Chaos: Making a New Science by James Gleick

I could go on and on and on…🙂

You know what else I noticed about these?

Many of them are part of Kindle Unlimited…I think every one of the ones I listed above.

Think about how many of these you might get as a gift for somebody…then consider getting a

Gift Subscriptions to Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

which gives reading access (although not ownership) to all of these and over 700,000 titles.

Amazon’s Black Friday sale on devices (Kindle EBRs…E-Book Readers and Fire tablets especially) clearly worked. According to this

press release

“… Fire tablet sales on Amazon.com were up over 3x year over year this Black Friday; Kindle e-reader sales on Black Friday grew nearly 4x year over year.”

Four times? That’s astonishing!

Yes, they had the Mindle Touch (what I call the least expensive model) for under $50, but even so: impressive!

This afternoon, they’ll have the

Amazon Fire TV (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

on sale for $69…30% off.

I use ours every day. We have a TV in the bedroom we don’t even have hooked up to cable: the Fire TV takes care of our needs there. I can watch news (I particularly use Watchup, although I also just got the free BBC News app), TV shows, movies, play games, use apps…it’s a lot. I can also mirror my Kindle Fire HDX to it, which gives it even more power.

Even less expensive (and a bit less powerful) is the

Fire TV Stick (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

which I just got and am still exploring. That one’s normal price is $39, and I’d consider it as a gift. Anybody (with a TV with an HDMI input…not that some college students don’t TVs at all, now, but if they have a monitor or TV with HDMI, this would be a great gift) can use one.🙂

Amazon appears to be nailing it with media devices this holiday season! Now, if they’d only let me buy an Echo…😉

Join over a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

4 Responses to “Cyber Monday: 2000 books, Fire TV sale”

  1. Kathryn Diak Says:

    Well, I got my Echo last Wednesday and we’ve had a great time listening to music and asking Alexa questions! My husband would like to call her Hal🙂

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      If I ever get over the creep factor enough to get an Echo, I plan to call her Lal. Considering one of my major disappointments is that I didn’t get my own “Flexible Frank”, you’d think I’d be over the moon with Echo. When did I turn into an old fogie? Though Roomba comes really close to the original “Hired Girl,” I never got one of those, either. [Bibliography: Star Trek: Next Gen’s episode “The Offspring,” and Robert Heinlein’s “The Door Into Summer.”]

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Kathryn!

      It intrigues me how many people would like to call the Echo “HAL” (Heuristically programmed ALgorythmic computer), given how that turned out…😉

Leave a Reply

