Amazon technical issues preventing delivery of ILMK to subscribers

Amazon technical issues preventing delivery of ILMK to subscribers

Well, it seems a bit odd to use a blog post to tell people that they won’t see it, I think it is worth the effort.🙂

Two of my subscribers, D. knight and Karen, told me that they had not gotten a new ILMK post since December 1st.

Subscribers actually pay ninety-nine cents a month to receive this blog on their Kindle devices (Amazon does not make it available by that kind of subscription on Fires).

I can never thank them enough for that! It is one of the things that justifies me spending the time and energy that I do on this.

I know that some people continue to pay the subscription fee, even though they may be reading it on a tablet, just to support ILMK…and I really appreciate that. I started to say to “support me”, but ILMK really is more than just me.

A significant part of the value of ILMK comes from my readers…their comments, often giving generously both of their thoughts and their time, provide a valuable community resource.

I understand it when people don’t subscribe…even ninety-nine cents a month can be a lot for some people, especially if they aren’t really getting the product. Everyone is welcome here.

However, those who do subscribe through

I Love My Kindle (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

give my family a predictable contribution to our lives, and help enable some of the good things we can do.

I want those subscribers to have a good experience.

So, when I was alerted about the problem, I first checked it on our

Kindle Paperwhite 2 (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Yes, I pay to subscribe to it, just like you do. That way, I can check to see the functioning: and I had the same situation. The last new post had been December 1st. I don’t check it every day (after all, I read it when I write it)😉 , but this was a situation where I was glad I did.

I contacted Amazon, and got a response back pretty quickly:

“Dear Publisher,

I apologize for the inconvenience caused in this regard.

We are facing technical issues at our end. Our technical team is currently investigating the issue.

We will provide you an update within 2 – 3 working days.”

At least I can assure my readers that it is nothing they have done and it isn’t their devices.

Hopefully, this is resolved quickly.

Thanks again for your support!

Update: the problem is fixed! From an Amazon e-mail this morning:

“Dear Publisher,

Our technical team has fixed the issue and your blog “I Love My Kindle” has
resumed publishing on December 05, 2014 14:39 UTC.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused in this regard.”

Join over a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

5 Responses to “Amazon technical issues preventing delivery of ILMK to subscribers”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I thought it was just my Kindle getting the hiccups again when this blog and the NY times blog stopped downloading.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Are your other issues resolved at this point?

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I didn’t realize it was a widespread problem again. I started to give you an FYI, but I’ve had this problem before, and in the past, the only solution was to unsubscribe for a few days and then resubscribe. So when two restarts failed to solve the problem, I dropped the blogs late last night. I’ll pick them back up again in a few days.

  2. D. Knight Says:

    My blog started redelivery on its own. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

