Today: 50% off 3rd Gen HDXs with 4G

Today: 50% off 3rd Gen HDXs with 4G

This is a Gold Box Deal (GBD) so it should only be good today (although there may be other deals later on).

This is a good one!

Gold Box Deal of the Day: 50% Off Kindle Fire HDX 4G LTE Tablets (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

You can get a Kindle HDX 7″ (that’s what I use every day) for $139…the current gen is $199!

This one comes with 4G (another way to connect to the internet besides using wi-fi) which would require a dataplan that you would pay for monthly, but let me be clear:

You do not need to get the dataplan!

I don’t currently have a Fire HDX with 4G: I did, but just didn’t find it worthwhile and didn’t renew after the  plan after the first year.

Where I live (in the San Francisco Bay Area), there’s plenty of wi-fi…if you live in a rural area, that might not be the case, and you might be happy to pay for a monthly plan.

I consider this one of the best deals Amazon has offered on Fire tablets to the general public (as opposed to something like a Limited Time Special Offer…although this could run out and is only for today).

Note that this has the current version of the operating system: you do have Mayday (the onscreen tech help), you can download some Prime videos.

Bottom line: if you’ve been thinking about a Fire tablet, especially as a gift (the 4G is a nice option in a gift…they can just use wi-fi, if they want, but they can choose. They may move somewhere in the future with 4G), this is an excellent opportunity.

 Join over a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Today: 50% off 3rd Gen HDXs with 4G”

  1. Tom Semple Says:

    The $139 model has only 16GB storage. While that’s generally adequate, paying another $20 for the 64GB model is probably an even better deal, especially if you plan on downloading video for a long flight or trip.

    My only question would be when they were manufactured, and whether that was before the ‘blue fringe display anomaly’ that was prevalent in early models was corrected (in early 2014 I believe). I briefly had a (refurbished) HDX7 with that display issue and found it too distracting when reading. For games and video it doesn’t have any impact. But perhaps they have not manufactured the (less popular) 4G models for awhile (noting there is no 32GB option as I believe was available at one point), so something I would watch for if I wanted to use it for reading.

    There’s also no rear-facing camera, which makes it unsuitable for any sort of photo taking. I have found it quite useful to have one, even one as minimal as the current Fire HD6/7 has. It’s good for capturing print documents and (very) casual photography when you aren’t carrying something better.

    Otherwise a very good deal.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      I’m glad you had time to contribute a more thorough comparison!

      I have taken pictures with the front-facing camera on a Fire tablet, but as you note, that’s really a stopgap kind of situation.

      I don’t keep much on my tablets, so I don’t find that the additional memory is all that important for me…but I know that not everyone follows that model, and more memory is certainly simpler!

Leave a Reply

