Why have you replaced a Kindle?

Why have you replaced a Kindle?

I don’t tend to replace my Kindles/Fires…I just add to the group.

In part, that’s because I want to have older ones around for reference, for when people ask me questions.

That plan got a bit derailed when our house was burglarized, and I lost eight of them.

However, a reader, SKC, and I were discussing battery life. Not battery charge life (how long between charges), but that the battery will eventually become unable to be charged. Since a Kindle/Fire** does not have a user replaceable battery (as many modern electronics don’t), it becomes necessary to replace the device (if you still want to have that many devices).

My thought was that I haven’t heard that often about someone replacing a device because the battery died.

It’s more often been because it was lost/stolen, the screen failed, or they wanted something newer.

That’s just my guess, though…I thought it would make sense to do a poll.

Certainly, my readers aren’t typical of the general population, but it would still be informative.

First, let’s define replacing the device as getting another device (or, I suppose, an app) to take the place of one you will no longer have. You aren’t adding to your total number of devices: you are keeping the count the same.

Second, before I do the poll, let me point out that you still have your content (with a couple of exceptions, which I’ll explain).

It’s easiest to think of it as the e-books belonging to the account, not to the device.

When you register a new device to the same account, it has access to the books previously purchased on that account.

What are the exceptions?

There has been some debate about this, but my understanding is that if a book has been removed from the Kindle store by Amazon for legal reasons (such as it being a case of infringement), Amazon can not let people download it from the archives.

They don’t go after copies you’ve already downloaded to your device: having an infringing copy is not illegal (that’s been established by the Supreme Court…it’s not the same as stolen goods), it’s the distribution that’s the problem.

If a book is simply voluntarily removed from the Kindle store and you already bought it, Amazon will still have that one for you to download to new devices. I have one like that.

That’s one case where you wouldn’t have the book to download to a newly registered device if the old device failed.

Second, there is a question of compatibility. The vast majority of e-books from the Kindle store are compatible with all of the Kindle EBRs (E-Book Readers). However, some may have audio or video which would not be compatible, and then there are “print replica” books which wouldn’t work on the first generation Kindle (the one from 2007), for example.

Another category, not books, is “active content”. Those are games you play on a non-Fire Kindle, and you can imagine that one that works with a touchscreen might not be compatible with an older Kindle without a touchscreen…that sort of thing. Also, currently, active content is not available for the

Kindle Voyage (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

which, as I understand it, is a conscious choice for Amazon.

Okay, so let’s get to the poll. You can pick more than one choice on this:

If they answer you want isn’t there, please let me and my readers  know by commenting on this post.

While we’re here, let me also ask: why have you kept your Kindle/Fire when a new device was released?

Again, feel free to add additional reasons or to just tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join over a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

**Update: regular reader and commenter jjhitt correctly pointed out that the 2007 Kindle had a battery designed to be replaced by the user, and people have replaced the batteries on other models…I should have said, “…modern Kindles/Fires…” or perhaps “…current…”

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

26 Responses to “Why have you replaced a Kindle?”

  1. andgee Says:

    I always pass my older kindles and fires on to other family members but when I purchased my newest fire; I turned my older model into a cookbook. I removed everything and then download just cooking, entertaining and food related books, I also created cooking bookmarks on the web for this device. I haven’t yet but will scan recipes to upload as documents. My “cooking kindle” has worked well so far.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, andgee!

      I think that’s a good use for it! I have kept books in different rooms for different purposes, and yes, I’ve done that with devices as well. It also means that if you want to “share the kitchen” with a visitor, you don’t need to share anything else…

  2. jjhitt Says:

    The Original Kindle and the K2 do have replaceable batteries. The trick is knowing how to open the cases. It only requires a prying tool (small screwdriver, nail file, guitar pick) and knowing where to apply it. There are YouTube videos on opening both of them.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, jjhitt!

      Good point. I updated the post and credited you.

      The 2007 Kindle had a battery intended to be replaceable by the user…sort of like a flashlight. There were some problems when people replaced them (tearing out the wires by accident, as I recall).

  3. Crystal Says:

    My K2 stopped holding a charge – I had to charge it every 48 hours. I bought an aftermarket battery and gave the battery and the old device away (not wanting to tackle the replacement / wanting the newer model.)

    However, I live in a very warm, humid climate where the summertime temperatures usually exceed 95 degrees. I never left the Kindle in a hot car, but even in my bag getting into the car at the end of the work day meant the Kindle was briefly exposed to ~130 degrees and regularly exposed to temperatures over 95.

    My house was also burgled, but the thief took my 12 year old laptop and left the Kindles behind. Yay!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Crystal!

      Yes, they are somewhat temperature sensitive…and that could have an impact.

      A twelve-year old laptop is impressive! They might have taken it just to marvel at the hand crank that powered it.😉 I’m glad they left the Kindles…

  4. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Technically, I’ve never replaced a Kindle, so that was how I voted. I add to my collection the way you do. I currently have a K1, three K3, a DX, a Kindle for Mac and a Voyage, which I’m probably going to be sending back because it cramps my hand to hold it for any length of time. I didn’t see “I add to my collection” as a voting option.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I suppose I could have added that…I think that “never having replaced one” was the right way to go.

    • hsextant Says:

      Lady Galaxy,

      I am curious, why does the Voyage cramp your hand? Is that exclusive to the Voyage but not the K-3s?

      Size wise I prefer my K-2 to my PaperWhite, it is easier to hang onto. I am also not a fan of highlighting with the touch screen. I am very club fingered. Believe it or not I preferred the joystick…but the screen on the PaperWhite definitely is far superior.

      I, like you, have never replaced a Kindle per se, just added to my collection. To be honest if the K-2 hadn’t started searching slow and needing a recharge everyday, I wouldn’t have bought the PaperWhite until I had to. I do like the PaperWhite but I can’t say that it would be worth replacing a fully functional K-2. I have long got over having to have the latest gizmo.

      I hate to say it, but if I could only have one Kindle now, I think it would be my Fire HDX. The screen is easy to read and I like having the immersion reading capability with audible, although I still do most of my reading just on the PaperWhite.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        It cramps my hand because there’s only an inch of grip space on the bottom and the weight doesn’t balance well. It causes pain in the thumb joint of my left hand. A year or so ago I had a bad case of “trigger finger” in that thumb, and I don’t want a repeat of that because it took a long time to resolve. I’m going to try an easel style case to see if that gives better balance. I tried using my K3 easel style case on the Voyage, and even though it isn’t a perfect fit, it was a more comfortable hold. If the right size case doesn’t make it easier to hold, then the Voyage goes back. If you’re interested in my journey to figure out how to use it, you might want to check the Pages>About section where Bufo kindly helped guide me through the learning curve from K3 to Voyage navigation.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        My Significant Other has trigger finger! It’s a weird thing. A medical professional at work showed me how to wrap the finger so at least it didn’t get stuck (and explained the mechanics), but obviously, that doesn’t make it go away.

        If a case makes it better for you, great! If not, you might want to try the Paperwhite…I find that pretty comfortable to hold.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I meant to add that I also prefer the “joystick” 5 way controller on my DX over the square one on the K3.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        The joystick seemed more fun to me, but I think it was more vulnerable to failure.

  5. Tom Semple Says:

    I have yet to get rid of any Kindle or Fire that I have gotten (apart from replacing defective ones, of which I have had a few). I have loaned out a few of them to family and friends (who can thereby read anything in my library), and have re-registered a couple of them to my wife (who does not use them much), but they all still work, and they don’t take up much space.

    In fact, the ‘newest’ Kindle in my collection is a K1, which I bought over a year ago on eBay for about $25. It came with a collection of some dozens of the previous owner’s books on it, and amazingly, most are books I’m interested in reading.

    I’m planning to get a Voyage at some point (it would help if they have a deal on the 3G model to entice me), but am in no hurry as long as my PW1 remains in good health.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Well, if those books came from the Kindle store, the person who sold the device was in violation of the Terms of Service (you aren’t by buying it, though, as far a I know). If they came from other places, the rules could be different (if they were public domain books from Project Gutenberg, for example).

      Maybe by the time you are ready to replace the PW1, there will be something beyond the Voyage.🙂

  6. Carolyn perreau Says:

    I keep the kindle keyboard for reading I like that the light runs off the battery but will buy paperwork w hen it dies. I also have a spare f o r games only for my 3 yr old nephew

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Carolyn!

      I’m sure your three-year old nephew appreciates it! That way, too, you don’t have to worry so much about what he does with it.

  7. Matthew Says:

    We have replaced two Kindle Fires, due to battery issues. I could select the choice of the battery not charging, but it really wasn’t about the battery in either, but in the charging port. In both Fires the port went bad. The first one was within a few months so we got it replaced, the second one was a couple of years later, had it fixed by an after market repair store so it lasted a few more months. But finally it gave out again so we purchased the third Fire. My Kindle 2 is still going strong after 4 years.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Matthew!

      That was a widely reported issue, so I should perhaps have included it as a separate choice. I think I would go with hardware damage on that one, unless you got them that way.

      The K2 had a problem (early on) with the “print fading” in the sun, but it was otherwise pretty solid, as I recall.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        The early K 3’s had a problem with the lettering printed on the keyboard fading away. I forgot that I had to return my original K3 for a replacement one.

  8. sharonk Says:

    partly i added to my fleet of 4 out of curiosity about new features. partly i have kept older kindles to share, and partly because i sometimes read several books at a time. there are times when it’s nice to dedicate a kindle to one book for one reason or another. one feature about the old keyboard kindle has been the battery life. it’s easier to take it camping or traveling as it doesn’t run down with use as quickly as the touch or the fires do.

  9. CatReader Says:

    In the second poll, I would have picked the following two choices, in addition to my selection) if they were included:
    A feature I liked (like text-to-speech or a physical keyboard) wasn’t included (I bought the new one, too)
    Sentimental reasons (I bought the new one, too)

    For varying reasons, many of us had a collection of Kindles before Kindles had collections!

  10. Carolyn perreau Says:

    forgot to mention wanted to replace kindle which had only one view c camera w with kindle with double camera. much easier to take and post pics on Facebook

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Carolyn!

      That would go under that “new hardware” choice. That’s one of the few ways I think the newer Fires are significantly better than my Fire HDX.

  11. Man in the Middle Says:

    We just added a Fire 6 to our Paperwhite 1 and Voyage because our Kindle Keyboard screen broke, and the others lack text to speech. It was intended to be my wife’s Christmas, but she decided it’s too heavy and clunky, so she prefers still reading on her version 1 Paperwhite.

    I then gave the Fire a try, but eventually gave up too and returned it. The text to speech was fine, but I was never able to get all our Android apps to show up on the list of icons, even though I could run them in convoluted ways. I think the issue was a result of changing the Fire’s registration from my wife to me, and then back again when we lost access to her Prime membership on the Fire while it was registered to me.

    After a while, I realized everything I was trying to do works perfectly on our iPad Mini, leaving only text-to-speech as a worthwhile feature of the Fire. And the text-to-speech IS better than it ever was on the Kindle Keyboard. But not enough better to manage an additional $100 device just for that.

    Note: all this started as a way to separate my Kindle library of mostly sci fi from my wife’s Kindle library of mostly Christian romance. Once we registered the Paperwhite in her new Amazon account name and had her get all future books on that account I finally stopped being offered all her books on all our other Kindle apps and devices, which matters when she’s getting new free books daily.

    In related news, we recently got Amazon Prime in her name, thinking she’d be the one using it for videos. Turns out she doesn’t, so next year we’ll be wanting to renew it on my account rather than hers, as I’ve found all the free music useful, and some of the videos as well.

    Here’s hoping some future Kindle brings back text-to-speech too, although we no longer expect to take so many long road trips to need it.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Man!

      I suppose the Family Library helps now, if you ever do want to read the same books…there must be some that are Christian romance sci fi.🙂

Leave a Reply

