The best authors born in 2014

The best authors born in 2014

Every day lately, during my morning

Flipboard (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

read, I’m seeing end of the year lists.

Certainly, I find those interesting.

I’m not good at all naturally in knowing when things happened chronologically…I’ve jokingly referred to it as TAD (Temporal Awareness Disorder). Just on the nature of the memory itself, I don’t know if it happened a year ago or ten years ago.

Because of that, I think, I do have a fascination with timelines.

I have one on this blog (which I need to update for this year):

ILMK E-books Timeline

and a broader geeky one here:

The Measured Circle Pop Culture Timeline

I’m starting to think now about this year’s (ILMK’s sixth!)

The Year in E-Books

However, as a very positive person (I tell people I have a genetic abnormality…I’m an optimist), I find the lists of those who have died this year sad.

I want to celebrate people while they are alive, and it makes me feel negligent when I see an obituary of someone who really impresses me…and I was largely unfamiliar with them or with their positive actions.

So, I wanted to do something different.

Great authors were born in 2014.

We know that: great authors are born every year.

It got me considering: what would the world be reading, oh, a couple of decades (or more) from now that would have a huge cultural impact?

I don’t know specifically who these authors are at this point…I can’t give you names.

I can, though, tell you what I think they might write.

The Fiction Author

The amazing thing about this author’s main character is how it appeals across a broad spectrum. There isn’t a sense of “that doesn’t look like me”: all kinds of people identify with what this character feels and does.

While involved in imaginative adventures, and at great personal risk, The Hero (for me, a gender neutral term) doesn’t “fight villains”. People are helped, alternate ideas and world views are encountered…but no one is “stopped” or killed.

People are helped.

Negative consequences are avoided.

Not only does the character openly work with others, not going it alone, but gaining strength from other’s contributions, so does the author. Collaborative works with unknown authors are encouraged, whether it be called “fan fiction” or something more definedly licensed and authorized.

The character grows because of ideas from other people, not just from the original author.

Above all, the books tell people it is okay to be who you are, to imagine what you could be…and to strive use that to make the world a better place.

Readers laugh, dream, and are inspired by what these books say.

The Non-Fiction Author

It’s one book that chronicles a dismissed group of people, and humanizes them.

It shows that this group, which had been a punchline for many people, and victims of the hate of others, had value.

At the time the book is published, the group is gone…stamped out of existence by both action and neglect.

The book shows what they were…and that they were everyone else (while staying unique to themselves).

Some people, in sympathy after reading the book, begin to resurrect the group (by becoming it themselves).

This time, the group is even better than it was, with an idealized version arising.

Further, people can reference that group as an example…the way people say “dead as the dodo” now to make an entity mindful of the impact of what they are doing on a species. It doesn’t end exclusion, of course, but it helps some people do a course correction when they aren’t thinking about the path down which they have started.

Those are a couple of books I’d like to see from authors born in 2014.

What do you think? What sort of books do you imagine in the future? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join over a thousand readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

Leave a Reply

